We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing hotel with stunning view”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
Ranked #21 of 891 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 July 2014

Amazing hotel staff was great all of them reception,lobby welcomer etc.i believe i was upgraded the room was outstanding spacious and great view
Great facility and great people in pool and gym

very recomendded and one the best hotel in bangkok

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Aldo S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (8,640)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,525 - 3,531 of 8,640 reviews

Reviewed 10 July 2014

This was our first trip to Thailand and we were recommended by a friend to stay at the Shangri-La. What an excellent recommendation. The staff could not do more to enhance our stay there. The hotel is well located next to the BTS station and pier for public/tourist boats. Local restaurants are within walking distance.
As a seasoned traveler and staying in 5* hotels, the room itself was beautiful and well appointed. We had a large suite with a foldaway bed for a teenager in a separate lounge area. The bathroom was very spacious with an excellent selection of amenities.
We stayed on the Horizon Club level and the Club Lounge was such a treat. We had breakfast there every day, as well as afternoon tea and cocktail hour with canapes (which is all included in the Horizon Club rate).
The General Manager, Ed Brea, runs an excellent operation, over 800 rooms and suites and still made time to come over for a chat.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com
1  Thank Poppy_in_CapeTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

We had change of flight plans so our reservation was a last minute booking. They didn't have twin beds available for my daughter and I so they upgraded the room. I was a beautiful balcony room overlooking the river. There was a generous plate of selected local fruits on arrival and the bed was heavenly. The buffet meal over looking the river was very good and reasonable well priced. Although it was only a single night stay I would highly recommend for a longer stay.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank MJD6232
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Just amazing how friendly you are treated in the Shangri-la. I also enjoy the location close to the sky train and the boats on the chao praya. Rooms with a river view are just great and the breakfast something not to miss. Just Amazing

Room Tip: Take a river view to feel the pulse on the Chao Praya
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com
Thank Chris D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Friendly, hospitable staff.
Clean room and bathroom with the right amenities.
Prompt response from Guest Services.
Beautiful pool - favourite place to be.
Fabulous pool and river view from gym. Loved the yoga class!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com
1  Thank Rabab K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014 via mobile

We are very happy to stay at Shangri-la Hotel Bangkok. Ambiance is really good. From reception,to our hotel room and common area is exeptional. Breakfast was very good. Lots of choices. Even my picky daughters were able to enjoy. They also love the swimming pool. Shangri-la has its own dock. You can get out along the river and walk to the hotel. The whole time we stay there was awesome but still there are some service that needs improvement. I lost my linen pants, we contacted and they responded very quickly saying they found it in our hotel room. We asked them to send it back to Japan, we paid the amount to send it and they did all the necessary arrangement. Unfortunately they use a paper envelope and my pants came out of the package, lost on its way. Japanese post office delivered an empty pouch. Everything was perfect except for the paper envelope. Eventhough this happened it will not change my impression about this hotel.It's a must try.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fulltimeglobetrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

We stayed some few days at the hotel on our honemoon trip. My wife received flores when she got out of the transport. Check in carried out in the room that was prepared with wine, fresh fruites, chocolates and flowers. Everyone at the hotel was so nice, polite and helpful. The hotel is well decorated, food tastefull, nice location.
The few days we stayed there were just amazing and we will for sure come back here on our next stay in Thailand!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com
1  Thank Eldar K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
The Peninsula Bangkok
#11 of 891 in Bangkok
4,568 reviews
Sathorn
Eastin Grand Hotel Sathorn
Silom
Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sukhumvit
Sheraton Grande Sukhumvit, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Sathorn
Banyan Tree Bangkok
Banyan Tree Bangkok
#37 of 891 in Bangkok
6,654 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok

Address: 89 Soi Wat Suan Plu, New Road | Bangrak, Bangkok 10500, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Silom
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Bangkok
#10 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#12 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#15 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
#20 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range: £138 - £259 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok 5*
Number of rooms: 802
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Shangri-La Hotel, Bangkok, is a 5-star luxury hotel in Silom district, Bangkok. The design and appointments express the welcoming warmth and richness of Thai culture throughout the hotel, from traditional teak dining pavilions to the most up-to-date room features.The hotel has a total of 802 rooms including 72 suites in two wings, Shangri-La and Krungthep, and is adjacent to the Saphan Taksin station of the Skytrain, Bangkok's elevated metro system.The hotel also offers fully-serviced apartments for guests wishing a longer stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Odigeo, Booking.com, Southall Travel, Travelbag, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri-La Hotel, Bangkok Hotel Bangkok
Shangri La Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing