We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel with fantastic staff!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
Ranked #22 of 885 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 July 2014 via mobile

My husband and I spent the first 3 nights of our honeymoon here between 16-18th July 2014...and what a fantastic start to our honeymoon it was.

Upon check-in we were offered a room upgrade to the Horizon Club floors for an additional price of 2,000BHT per night (approximately £40 GBP) and trust me it's worth every penny!

Having upgraded to the Horizon Club we were able to eat breakfast in the exclusive lounge with views over the Phraya River. The breakfast is good with ample choice of foods. Tea, coffee and soft drinks were available all day in the lounge free of charge. Between 2-4pm they served lunch snacks which were also included and between 5-7pm cocktails were available, again free of charge.

We stayed in room 2405 on the 24th floor and it was reasonably spacious, beautifully decorated with great views and had all the amenities you could possibly need. They really do think if everything.

Overall the entire presentation of the hotel is on point. It's immaculately clean, beautifully and elegantly furnished with staff that are not only very smartly dressed but incredibly well educated, polite and courteous.

It's also a perfect location to go and explore the city of Bangkok from. We literally went everywhere! You can jump in a taxi outside the foyer or hop on a river boat to take you up stream...it really is ideal.

We would, without hesitation, most definitely stay here again and suggest everyone give this place a try at least once. Thank you.

Stayed: July 2014
1  Thank Kelly120714
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (8,471)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,381 - 3,387 of 8,471 reviews

Reviewed 24 July 2014

like i said in room dinning was not profetional.the room was good,i like the view.amenitis like fruit is excellent,but cant take daily fruit like shangri_la jakarta.the staff excellent,kind..especialy nuntanuti thanyaphatsakul.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com
Thank Hirwan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2014

My stay at this hotel was simply wonderful!!!! The room was luxurious and, of course, very clean; the service was awesome. I can't think of one bad thing to say about this hotel. The breakfast buffet had tons of options and everything was good. I hope I get to stay there again one day.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peridot6000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2014

I've passed just few nights at Shangri-La, Bangkok but those were the most luxurious days in my entire life. All perfect: the pool area, staff, the amount of choice for the breakfast and comfy beds.I felt truly spoiled. And that minibar! :D

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sugarrrfree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014

I have stayed at the Shangri-La Bangkok in the Krumpet wing quite a few times now and I just adore the place.
The rooms are beautiful with lovely flowery balconies overlooking the river (and yes the busy bridge next to it but, this is a major city centre hotel!).
Service, from check in to the waiting staff, buttler etc is just so lovely. at times, there may be some language barrier thing but... they just seem to want to ensure you are happy all the time. Even when i did not like the food I still loved the experience.
The lobby is a great space with that typical shangri-la perfume. There are a lot of restaurants, the gym is very big. The Krumpet wing has its own, smaller but quieter outdoor pool.
The serve breakfast and afternoon tea in the lobby lounge which is lovely, but you can also have it outside if you can bear eating in that heat. The evening cocktails are always to lookingg forward to. If i had one criticism is that, they unfortunately do not enforce the dress code. I find this a shame as you then get surrounded by some people in shorts , sandals and vest for afternoon tea or cocktails, which are supposed to be a nicer experience than to be faced with others flab, shoulder hair, sweaty smell or varicose veins on display. There is a dress code and it should be adhered to to keep the place spacial and not turn it into a Marriott!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank VJLLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014

If you want to stay 5star hotel only once choose this hotel, location, gym, buffetNext2 both bfast and dinner all this best I ever experienced,if u want u will become like family with the very obliging staff
star day in very nice gym then massageshower (free) then a swim after that a fantastic breakfastbuffet at Next 2(if you like exotic fruits u found your nirvana)
If you stay clubfloor it´s a very nice clubtime evening with very good selection food and snacks
You get very much for money paid but most likely you can´t find this exeptional combination anywhere else
Enjoy

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com
Thank olivensthlm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Good luxury hotel - staff first class. Rooms also good but bearing in mind the competition might be improved. Position on the river could hardly be better. The Concierge services were very good indeed.

Room Tip: All the rooms we've used over the years were good but if you can afford it book a suit at the to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com
Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Silom
Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok
The Peninsula Bangkok
#11 of 885 in Bangkok
4,478 reviews
Sathorn
Eastin Grand Hotel Sathorn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sukhumvit
Sheraton Grande Sukhumvit, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Sathorn
Banyan Tree Bangkok
Banyan Tree Bangkok
#32 of 885 in Bangkok
6,517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok

Address: 89 Soi Wat Suan Plu, New Road | Bangrak, Bangkok 10500, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Silom
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Bangkok
#10 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#12 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#16 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
#21 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range: £126 - £252 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok 5*
Number of rooms: 802
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Shangri-La Hotel, Bangkok, is a 5-star luxury hotel in Silom district, Bangkok. The design and appointments express the welcoming warmth and richness of Thai culture throughout the hotel, from traditional teak dining pavilions to the most up-to-date room features.The hotel has a total of 802 rooms including 72 suites in two wings, Shangri-La and Krungthep, and is adjacent to the Saphan Taksin station of the Skytrain, Bangkok's elevated metro system.The hotel also offers fully-serviced apartments for guests wishing a longer stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Holiday Gems, Booking.com, Southall Travel, Travelbag, Agoda, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri-La Hotel, Bangkok Hotel Bangkok
Shangri La Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing