We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would recommend ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
Ranked #19 of 858 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
enricio
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Would recommend ”
Reviewed 17 August 2014 via mobile

We are a family of four with two girls aged 5 and 9.

This was our second visit to the shangri la and if we ever visit Bangkok again we will be staying here.

Everything is quality from the lobby/reception to the rooms.

The staff are extremely friendly and can't do enough to help.

Well done the shangri la Bangkok!

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank enricio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

8,108 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    6,076
    1,472
    361
    125
    74
See reviews for
1,610
3,752
469
1,023
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,885)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
73 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2014

This was the 6th time we have stayed at the Shangri La hotel in Bangkok and it seems to get better each time. The staff are superb and treated us like their extended family members. Many hotels have 5 stars; this one deserves all 5 of them, easily! It is simply one of the best in the world. We will be back.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Helpful?
Thank Nigel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malmo, Sweden
Level Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2014

The hotel is luxury in every detail and perfectly located on the river side and 10 minutes to the market crowded area of Siam paragon mall; and easy access to the sky-train station with internal corridor directly from the hotel to the station, the breakfast variety is fit for all test and quality is superb.
the only shortage is Muslim menu although they have perfectly and smartly distinguished between non Muslim food by adding the pig picture next to each food with pork contain

Also the toilet is without side shower for Muslim consideration

My only recommendation is not to allow the front counter take pre-authorization amount from your credit card to avoid double charging of your room cost upon departure

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AAR2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2014

We stayed 6 nights in Bangkok and spent 2 nights at Shangri-La Hotel to get away from Bangkok hustle and bustle and to just relax and enjoy hotel facility. Situated along Chao Phraya River and not in close proximity of busy street the hotel is an excellent choice. We stayed at Shangri-La Wing Executive Suite which have access to Horizon Club where we spent most of our afternoon enjoying Bangkok city and Chao Phraya river views. The room is beautiful and has all facilities that we needed. Loved the tea set! The in room dining serves wonderful array of local cuisines and a selection from hotel's restaurant which include Angelini's, one of the best Italian restaurant in Bangkok hence we did not bother to eat out. Thank you to the ladies at Horizon Club they cater our needs wonderfully and attentively, our young son especially love Phee Golf.

My only comment is the sofa at the suite living room, it needs to be reconditioned. It feels full with dust and smells of dusts. The seat fabric needs to be replaced it looks dirty and worn out.
Other than that everything is perfect. Oh! Walk in closet is far separated from bedroom and bathroom. Minor inconvenience.

All in all we really enjoyed our stay at the hotel and would definitely come back.

Room Tip: Rooms with access to Horizon Club and Chao Phraya river view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AmandaTcherina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SLBK_Shangrilabkk, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok, responded to this review, 2 September 2014
Dear AmandaTcherina,

Thank you for choosing Shangr-La Hotel, Bangkok.

We are thrill to read that you had a wonderful stay with us. Your comments on the furniture are taken in a constructive manner and effort is being made by those responsible to ensure that upkeep are being met. Please contact me directly should you have any other valuable feedback for our improvement at ed.brea@shangri-la.com.

Sincerely,

J. Edward Brea
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen
Level Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2014 via mobile

Third time we have stayed in this hotel and never been disappointed.You are well looked after in this hotel nothing is a problem.Stayed in the Krungthep wing well worth the upgrade.Free breakfast, daily afternoon tea, Drinks/cocktails and canapés for 2 hours in evening. Rooms are in great condition with a balcony overlooking the river. It takes about 2 mins to walk to the sky train which is great for cutting out the hassle of traffic congestion in Bangkok(5-10mins to night market or Siam square)

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank BDuncanAberdeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2014 via mobile

We flew into Bangkok on 8/1 for three nights prior to going to Phuket. We had 4 couples traveling. We booked the rooms on a special and upgraded to the club horizon. Glad we did! Breakfast was perfect each morning and the happy hour was well worth it too! Our room was like a large apartment! The service was top notch and staff so friendly and accommodating. We also booked spas while there. The spa is incredible, large treatment rooms and I enjoyed a facial and massage, so relaxing I fell asleep. This is a fantastic place to stay while in Bangkok!

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Laura R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2014

Stayed 3 nights at the shangri la. I'm a maniac when it comes to cleanliness and this hotel is that for sure. The personnel overall is fantastic. Room is made up everyday to perfection and the chi spa is value for money for sure. I booked a 30 minute rescue massage (neck shoulders and feet) at 1200 baht for half hour and after I was good to go. Heavenly. I had got many massages in the Bangkok streets several time but the level of expertise and qualification is to compare diamonds with gold. Also I ordered room service every night and food was amazing. I am Thai myself and my mother has Thai restaurant in Belgium and I always thought she made the best pad Thai until I ordered it here...

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Virachon N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Silom
Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok
The Peninsula Bangkok
#7 of 858 in Bangkok
4,296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sathorn
Banyan Tree Bangkok
Banyan Tree Bangkok
#25 of 858 in Bangkok
6,142 reviews
Sukhumvit
Sheraton Grande Sukhumvit, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok

Property: Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
Address: 89 Soi Wat Suan Plu, New Road | Bangrak, Bangkok 10500, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Silom
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#10 Business Hotel in Bangkok
#12 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#13 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
#18 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok 5*
Number of rooms: 802
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Shangri-La Hotel, Bangkok, is a 5-star luxury hotel in Silom district, Bangkok. The design and appointments express the welcoming warmth and richness of Thai culture throughout the hotel, from traditional teak dining pavilions to the most up-to-date room features.The hotel has a total of 802 rooms including 72 suites in two wings, Shangri-La and Krungthep, and is adjacent to the Saphan Taksin station of the Skytrain, Bangkok's elevated metro system.The hotel also offers fully-serviced apartments for guests wishing a longer stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, TravelUp, Nozio Netplan srl, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Travelbag, Ctrip TA, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HRS, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri-La Hotel, Bangkok Hotel Bangkok
Shangri La Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing