We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very very nice”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
Ranked #19 of 858 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“very very nice”
Reviewed 12 August 2010

i normally prefer design or boutiquw hotels but was convinced by a great offer from my travel agent. so this time we stayed at the shangri la and never regretted it. after the renovation it has a modern contemporary look. i got a nice corner room with a stunning room and all the luxury you need.

the pool is also great and offers nice service. towel preparation, cold water and the like. enjoy the view on the river!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mkindler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

8,108 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    6,076
    1,472
    361
    125
    74
See reviews for
1,610
3,752
469
1,023
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,885)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2010

Fantastic hotel, great amenities and luxurious comfort. Rooms are great size with everything you could need provided.
Nothing was too much trouble, the staff were always smiling and willing to help; whether that be with booking a restaurant or advising on places to see/go to providing umbrellas and taxis free of charge.

Breakfast was amazing with a wide variety to suit every taste.

I stayed as part of my honeymoon and was not disappointed. I look forward to staying here again.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SKPLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kenya
Level Contributor
89 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2010

If you plan on never leaving the hotel then go for a room in the Krungthep Wing, the complimentary food and drinks included in your stay are endless. If not, and when you're in Bangkok how can you not venture out, then a standard room in the main wing will suffice. Hotel was magnificent but a bit too gaudy for us, lovely comfortable rooms but nothing trendy. The views from the rooms in the Krungthep Wing are amazing (the higher up you stay the better) Staff are delightful, just perfect, nothing is ever too much trouble - ever! Great location as it's right next to the sky train.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bini S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hk
Level Contributor
35 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2010

My family stayed for only two nights. Its all the luxury you would expect from Shangri La plus an incredible balcony with amazing views of the river. It was great to watch all the river traffic below from the comfort of your room.

You can also have your breakfasts by the riverside and watch the great scenery as you eat. The breakfast buffet has everything you could possible want.

The pool in the Wing where we stayed was not anything special, just an average rectangular pool. The pool in the Main Wing was more spectacular.

You should take advantage of the riverside location to hire a long-tail boat for a tour of the klongs. Its exciting and relaxing and you see why Bangkok is the Venice of the East.

This hotel is a great place to relax and escape from a frantic Bangkok.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rabbitloverHk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kl
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2010

The hotel main wing has been refurbished. Our Room is clean and spacious with a beautiful river view.Room service menu is eloborate and withgenerous portion .At the higher floors construction is still ongoing tho did not affect us, as we were out most of time.
Diassapointed on direction and insturctions to the Niramit Show which resulted in us missing the show altogether and having to walk more than a Kilometer (without proper walking shoes)to get there.(we have a small child with us.)

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SamanthaReyes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
119 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2010

Had a room with a balcony towards the river. Excellent rooms, high quality, good service. Will use it again, if I come back.

Stayed March 2010, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank WalterKuhn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2010

Due to circumstances beyond my control it was necessary to stay in this hotel twice over a 15 day period. the first visit was absolutely fantastic, the staff was attentive to every need and the only downside was that the hotel is still undergoing an extensive refurbishment and we were unable to reserve balcony rooms. ( only brought to our attention on arrival) being a golden circle (frequent guest) member this is the level of service one expects ffrom the hotel group as a whole. the rooms are large and clean with lovely views over the river. the pool area is really special although a bit small i am sure over peak periods.
on having to return to the hotel a few days later what a difference, i was virtually treated like an afterthought and on requesting room service i was twice informed that the hotel had run out of pizza. the restaurants closed nearly 2 hours earlier than advertised and the hotels river boat day cruise didnt exist for this period at all.
i could not believe the night and day attitude of the staff from check in to lobby lounge to breakfast.
Bangkok is a frequent stop for me and i enjoy the riverside are far more than the central district. i think maybe next time i might just look at one of my other haunts ie The Hilton or The Oriental for a change

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Silom
Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok
The Peninsula Bangkok
#7 of 858 in Bangkok
4,296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sathorn
Banyan Tree Bangkok
Banyan Tree Bangkok
#25 of 858 in Bangkok
6,145 reviews
Sukhumvit
Sheraton Grande Sukhumvit, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok

Property: Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
Address: 89 Soi Wat Suan Plu, New Road | Bangrak, Bangkok 10500, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Silom
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Bangkok
#10 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#12 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#13 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
#18 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok 5*
Number of rooms: 802
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Shangri-La Hotel, Bangkok, is a 5-star luxury hotel in Silom district, Bangkok. The design and appointments express the welcoming warmth and richness of Thai culture throughout the hotel, from traditional teak dining pavilions to the most up-to-date room features.The hotel has a total of 802 rooms including 72 suites in two wings, Shangri-La and Krungthep, and is adjacent to the Saphan Taksin station of the Skytrain, Bangkok's elevated metro system.The hotel also offers fully-serviced apartments for guests wishing a longer stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, TravelUp, Priceline, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Nozio Netplan srl, Travelbag, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelsClick, HRS, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri-La Hotel, Bangkok Hotel Bangkok
Shangri La Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing