We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Looks better than it is”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Bangkok Centre Hotel
Ranked #519 of 894 Hotels in Bangkok
Reviewed 14 August 2012

Startd here with a tour the hotel is okay but not very accommodating very rude when we asked to have a takeaway breakfast due to an early flight. Agree with the other reviews use the hotel next door for Internet as it is so much cheaper but is it an easy hotel with the subway right outside and not too far from the airport. Staff are okay if you make an effort in Thai but some are still rude and unhelpful.
Beware of taxi drivers all around this area.
When we were there the swimming pool had an unbalance of chemicals so we could not use it.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BanburyTourist1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (702)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

316 - 322 of 702 reviews

Reviewed 7 August 2012

We stopped hear for 3 days before our tour of Thailand and found the hotel clean and comfortable and a very good free breakfast rooms a bit small but o.k. The conections are excellant to get around Bangkok the Metro is just outside the hotel which in turn is only 2 stops from the Sky train.

Room Tip: odd number rooms are next to lift
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bc1945
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2012

This hotel isn't nice enough to be as dirty and amenity-lacking as it is. We used the hotel next door for Internet and it seemed nicer and was cheaper.

Cons:
No free wi fi and 240 baht for 2 hours, astronomical price for 15 mins on desk top too

Front desk does not speak English

All rooms smell like smoke, even non smoking ones

They provide shampoo and body wash in this giant dispenser and ours was empty

The toilet barely flushed, had to wiggle ~5x per flush

Hotel taxi charges 800 baht to airport while meter you catch on own outside is only 400

Pool rundown and plastic lounge chairs moldy

Our keys were deactivated 2x for no apparent reason

TV super tiny and channel selection horrific, worst of any hotel we stayed in through Cambodia, Vietnam and hong kong

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kellywlyons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2012

I stayed here for two nights through G Adventures as part of a tour.
For a budget hotel, I was pleasantly surprised. The staff were friendly and helpful, the room was nice and clean, and the breakfast was really good.
There is free Wifi, for if you need to catch up with people back home. The password is available from the staff on reception.

There are some lovely small restaurant and cafes on it's doorstep, and convenience store located a short walk away for most essentials.
The underground train is located right outside also, which is really handy.

Word of advice, if you're looking for a ride somewhere, use the meter taxis and not the Tuk Tuks, as the taxis are far cheaper. Just make sure they are using the meter.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gduff79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2012

This place is a decent option to start off a trip in Indochina or Thailand itself. I stayed for three nights at the start of a G Adventures tour and found it to be a reasonable place, though nothing remotely special.
The location, though city centre, is a good bit away from the old town.. Ko San, Wat Pho, Grand Palace etc but it is on the underground with a station literally at the end of the driveway, Hualamphong. This links to the sky train at Silom so you can explore reasonably easily.
Chinatown is about a 10-15 minute walk. A Tuk Tuk to the magnificent Paragon Centre and Siam Square will cost you about 100 Baht (2.5 euro)
The breakfast is pretty good but don't eat lunch at the hotel, it is way over the top expensive and not very good either.
I was not impressed by the hefty laundry prices or that you habe to pay for wifi, how mean is that?
I suppose the most important boxes have to be ticked, it is clean, it is safe, but the place is a bit past its prime. All the furnishings though clean, are dated and dingy. It has decent a\c though.
The pool itself is nice but the area around it is most certainly not... and there are precious few deckchairs and loungers. Neither was it served by food and drink when we were there.
The staff were very nice but unbelievably in a city of Bangkoks size, they had no maps. Ridiculous really.
Look, its fine really though I'm sure there are better options. Certainly don't be afraid to stay here, just don't expect too much.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bozeman-Dublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2012

I stayed in this hotel for 4 days and didn't like it. The frontdesk staff didn't speak english. This hotel had no excursions we could do and we were very deceived and robbed by the taxi service that was at the hotel. I don't recommend this place.

Room Tip: Never book a triple room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PortugalTez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2012

I stayed here as part of a group tour and quite enjoyed my relatively fancy stay here, compared to the hostels I'd been staying at on my Asia Backpacking trip. However, I'm not sure how much it actually costs to stay here since the price was included in my overall tour price.

The Concierge was usually helpful and they will break your big bills into smaller denominations. The lobby, entrance and rooms of the hotel are really nice! The bathroom in my room was only so-so. Kind of grungy and out of date. The pool was also a tad run-down looking, and I cut my knee on the bottom.

The location of the hotel is quite convenient, being right near Bangkok's great subway/light-rail system and next to the train station. There are always lots of taxis and tuk-tuks around waiting for your business too.

The buffet breakfast was really good! Way better than an average hotel's breakfast in North America. Lots of yummy fresh fruit and a selection of Western and Eastern breakfast dishes.

What I really did not enjoy was the complete lack of free wifi in the hotel. You could pay to use a computer but the prices were astronomical. Next door there's a hostel with coin-operated computers with much cheaper internet.

Overall a pretty good hotel, but I'm sure there are better ones in Bangkok.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stilleok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Chinatown / Yaowarat
Prime Hotel Central Station Bangkok
Chinatown / Yaowarat
Hotel Royal Bangkok at Chinatown
Chinatown / Yaowarat
Krung Kasem Sri Krung Hotel
Krung Kasem Sri Krung Hotel
#313 of 894 in Bangkok
237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Twin Towers Hotel
#458 of 894 in Bangkok
701 reviews
Silom
Narai Hotel
Narai Hotel
#227 of 894 in Bangkok
1,494 reviews
Chinatown / Yaowarat
Chinatown Hotel
Chinatown Hotel
#443 of 894 in Bangkok
215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bangkok Centre Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bangkok Centre Hotel

Address: 328 Rama IV Road, Bangkok 10500, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Silom , Bang Rak
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #519 of 894 Hotels in Bangkok
Price Range: £32 - £51 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Bangkok Centre Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 243
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
By less than 1 minute walk to Subway (MRT Hualumpong Station) and National Railway Station is just across, you would never find any easier way to reach city of Bangkok and other parts of Thailand than staying at Bangkok Centre Hotel.Just several steps out there, from our hotel, located one of the most famous temples in Thailand. It is known to the world as the “Temple of Biggest Golden Buddha on earth” or we called “Wat Trai Mitr” Additionally, Bangkok Centre Hotel is just extraordinarily closed to China Town (10-15 mins walk) where you can experience many of the best Thai-Chinese foods in Bangkok. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Bangkok Centre Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing