We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My favorite Pied-a-Terre in Bangkok!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
La Residence Bangkok
Ranked #392 of 858 Hotels in Bangkok
Ubud
Level Contributor
132 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“My favorite Pied-a-Terre in Bangkok!”
Reviewed 4 September 2013

I almost hesitate writing this review as I usually keep this information for select friends headed for Bangkok.

I discovered La Residence Bangkok many years ago and have stayed there every trip to Bangkok since.

It is a delightful boutique hotel with amazingly reasonable prices in the heart of Bangkok. To find a suite with kitchen and view for $90-$120 dollar is quite a find. Every room is uniquely decorated as is befitting a boutique hotel but the real distinguishing character is the excellent service and staff.

I love La Residence because of its small highly personalized service and its close proximity to the BTS - Bangkok Sky Train - the night market and Jim Thompson's flagship store and factory outlet.

While it is only a few blocks from the infamous Patpong night life it is also a short distance from the Oriental and Shangri-La hotels and Bangkok water taxis.

I have recommended La Residence many times to fellow business travelers as well as friends and families who are looking for a reasonable, clean and unique accommodation in Bangkok with easy access to Bangkok and surrounding areas.

Another plus of La Residence is that it is in the same block as Somboon Seafood Bangkok arguably one of the best seafood restaurants in Asia!

There are many stunning hotels like the Oriental and Shangri-La in Bangkok if you so choose and are willing to pay the price but for frequent travelers looking for the best combination of service, price, location, and amenities few compare with La Residence.

Room Tip: Be sure to look at the available rooms as there a photos of all available rooms. I most highly reco...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TaksuBali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    48
    33
    12
    2
    1
See reviews for
5
17
38
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2013

Stayed here with a friend for 2 nights. Booked in advance through Booking.com. My views of the hotel:

Friendly and helpful staff (lady at the reception helped us to the taxi boat and bus services); Small hotel; More of a 2 star than a 3 star; Good location - heart of the Bangkok city; Value for money.

For the price we paid, it is worth it.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Abi R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2012

I liked the small touches of this place f.ex. the sleeping bear you hang in front of your door if you dont want to be disturbed or the extensive DVD Library. Also I enjoyed the elevator, since I am not keen on stairs. The previous review is true it could use a facelift brush of paint but I just love the atmosphere.... And dont forget the price is really reasanable.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
49 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2012

This small hotel is a good value in a good location in Bangkok. Our flight from the US arrived late at night and their driver was waiting for us to take us on the short drive to the hotel. Check-in was easy; the room was small and simple but comfortable and clean. My bag didn't arrive on my flight and the staff was very helpful in following up with the airline...thankfully, it came before we left Bangkok 36 hours later!

(I'm belated in writing this reply - we were there in March, 2011).

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trvlgirl2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grass Valley, California
Level Contributor
30 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2012

I booked a room at La Residence based largely on the photos and reviews. But on arrival found the place looking very tired, the restaurant closed and worst of all, cigarette smoke from other rooms blown into my room through the ac system. It was bad.

The staff was friendly but the neighborhood is very short on places to eat so after 2 nights I left. I cannot recommend this place.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jyphoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
133 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2012

First hotel i ever stayed in BKK in 2001

feels like home, such nice staff, have on odd occasions just turned up usually late at night in transit, it has a certain charm, that even the very high end hotels cant compete with, go for the bigger suites, and there is a great seafood place next door.

Lovely ladies who run the place.

Room Tip: suites are spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jerry123456789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2012

Usually I stay at the Tarntawan Place but was fully booked so I got this recommendation from them. It is a bit further away from the Patpong market but still in walking distance. The rooms are spacious (execpt thje single rooms) and i like the small touches with the teddy bear on the door instead of the do not disturb signs. They have an extensive DVD libary for their guest in the Business center and good WIFI connection. Rooms are clean and bit basic but the staff is great.
Good value for money...

Room Tip: Dont use single rooms even if you are alone they are like coffins...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thomas M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Silom
Bavana Hotel
Bavana Hotel
#577 of 858 in Bangkok
3.5 of 5 bubbles 12 reviews
Silom
D Varee Diva Bally Silom, Bangkok
Silom
Wall Street Inn
Wall Street Inn
#512 of 858 in Bangkok
3.5 of 5 bubbles 281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Silom
The Tarntawan Hotel Surawong Bangkok
Silom
Bed by City Surawong-Patpong
Bed by City Surawong-Patpong
#321 of 858 in Bangkok
4.0 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
Silom
Le Siam Hotel
Le Siam Hotel
#258 of 858 in Bangkok
4.0 of 5 bubbles 397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Residence Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Residence Bangkok

Property: La Residence Bangkok
Address: 173/8-9 Suriwong Rd., Bangkok 10500, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Silom , Bang Rak
Amenities:
Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #392 of 858 Hotels in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — La Residence Bangkok 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Résidence is an intimate, yet hip boutique hotel in the heart of Bangkok. Located on Suriwongse Road next to Silom Road, it enjoys easy access to all the major shopping areas and is only minutes away from the Chao Phya River which is the best shortcut to all the famous temples via river taxis. Patpong Road, the notorious entertainment area which converts into a shopping bazaar from 1700 until 0200 is only a few blocks away. Major shopping centers as well as souvenir shops at the Silom Village are also within walking distance.Well known for its beautifully decorated rooms and delicious, authentic Thai food, La Résidence is a rare find in a city full of cliched decor and banal rooms.Each of our twenty six luxurious rooms and suites are equipped with all the amenities and charmingly furnished with lots of little personal touches and each with it's own unique theme.Best of all, rates are very reasonable coupled with impeccable service. Most of the guests are regulars who could afford 5-star hotels, but wouldn't dream of staying anywhere else. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Cancelon so you can book your La Residence Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Residence Bangkok Hotel Bangkok
La Residence Hotel Bangkok
Bangkok La Residence Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing