We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value and quiet”
Review of Atlanta Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Bangkok
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Atlanta Hotel
Ranked #273 of 891 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 November 2013

We spend 3 nights in Atlanta Hotel. It is good value for money, small rooms but clean enough. We had ones with aircon and balcony. I give "very good" for the vintage atmosphere and pool onsite, where we could swim after the whole day in Bangkok. The staff was OK, hotel is peaceful and quiet. Nice breakfast before longer trips that was paid additionally. Good location - it takes about 20-30 minutes to get to the airport and the city center with taxi.

Room Tip: Generally it is quite hotel and street so just just the rooms looking on the Aircon and price level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pank77Warsaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (426)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

172 - 178 of 426 reviews

Reviewed 18 November 2013

We stayed in a budget room, due to backpacking the room was ok, it was very old style but the balcony was cool and the room just had what you needed (hot shower and comfyish bed) we enjoyed our stay here the food is cheap but not that great. They have some turtles out back and a nice little garden, didn't go in the pool so can't comment on that. Lack of elevator was tiring as we were on the top floor. On a busy road so nightlife is a short walk away and sky train is close.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Josh L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2013

If you want luxury don't come here. If you want clean, basic and functional rooms at an amazing price then this could be the place. This is a no frills place to stay but it does provide all the amenities, just in a slightly different way to the norm.
If you don't have a sense of humour, then don't come as you will be faced with many notices telling you not to complain because you are getting a real cheap place to stay. And rightly so.
I enjoyed my stay here and for what it was consider it to be great value.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank poohtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2013

Atlanta hotel was a recommendation. Location was fantastic and fairly quiet in a busy part of Bangkok. Quite a bit out-dated. Whilst rooms were good value, there were many 4* or 5* hotels available in same location due to economic downturn globally. Restaurant food good quality and good value.

Room Tip: Check the toilet works... Our flush broke twice
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matilda E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2013

The Atlanta Hotel is well known for several things: Bangkok's first hotel with a swimming pool. An enclosed garden area in an inner city hotel. A strong focus on preserving its original décor. Signs – perhaps more than necessary, about not welcoming sex tourists or complaints about the hotel. A reputedly encyclopedic menu in the restaurant – and a restaurant which tends to discourage non hotel guests from dining there. “Junior suite rooms” for ~1000 baht in a generally expensive area.

After living on lower Sukhumvit Road for most of the past decade, but now preferring a more peaceful ambiance, I decided to try a stay at the Atlanta. Here are some thoughts:
1. Some have noted that the pool is dirty, and wondered if it is ever cleaned. Attached are photos of a cleaner at work. The adjacent garden is a prolific source of leaves – which mean that shortly after cleaning, the pool will have a few. But there is another issue here – that of maintenance beyond cleaning. After 61 years, should the tiles lining the pool not deserve some attention? Like replacing missing or damaged ones with clones of the originals?
2. Much of the garden area could benefit from an occasional focus on maintenance. Lounge chairs have accumulated grime on them. In the area of my Bangkok workplace sidewalk pavements are swept every morning (strange as that may seem) – and one can see the PM10 (etc., atmospheric particulates which have fallen to the ground in this city of imperfectly clean air) being swept up. It's an impressive sight to see what “dust” accumulates in just 24 hours in this city. If the Atlanta Hotel could avoid daily cleaning of lounge chairs in 1952, that policy might benefit from a revision to suit the Bangkok of 60+ years later. The children's pool should be drained and thoroughly gone over, or perhaps closed and filled if adequate maintenance is too costly for a small budget hotel.
3. Ditto for some other aspects of the hotel. Bathroom tiles could be given some attention, also, after half a century. Some colours could be looked at – to see what might have worked in 1952 and also now, to replace some colours which may have worked in 1952 but don't work now. (W.r.t. Paint, at least – I'm not complaining about the colours of the vinyl furniture surfaces at all – they're just fine.)
4. As others have pointed out – some of the zealousness of signs on walls, desktops, the menu, etc. could be toned down without having folks miss the message. At least my guest room had no such notices.

Lest this be misinterpreted as a rant, let me list some pleasant impressions:
1. The location is deep into Soi 2. Currently the soi is pleasantly quiet, though it seems to be morphing into an area likely to have more apartments, condos, hotels, and traffic. I did not take any taxi in the soi, as most seemed to be hanging outside buildings (looking like taxis that didn't want to use their metres). Similarly, I did not take a motorbike taxi into the soi, so I don't know the price. For me, the walk (and a stopover in the Ploenchit Center for coffee, ice cream, or something from Villa Market) added to the vibe of the walk into, and out of, the soi. It's worth noting that the hotel backs up to the expressway. One can hear expressway traffic (if one listens for it). But that was not a problem in my room, or in any part of the main hotel building.
2. Some reviewers have complained about attitudes of staff. I found the staff to be fine in all respects. Promptness, straightforwardness and courtesy at the desk, in the restaurant, and in housekeeping (in my room and in public areas). For those that complain – under what conditions do they feel that staff were not courteous or responsive? Having lived in Thailand, is it my behaviour to people that gets a fine response? (I don't claim to be a miracle worker or genius....) What behaviour might elicit less than fine response?
3. Forewarned to choose Thai vs. other food in the restaurant I generally chose Thai dishes. However, at breakfast, I went for the muesli (with yogurt and fresh fruit), plus a salad (at 55 baht, HUGE) to get at least a bit of raw foods at breakfast time. Both were great tasting and good-to-great value. Other dishes that I had in the restaurant (e.g. rice porridge at breakfast, and various dishes at lunch and dinner) were just fine. Neither “beyond sublime” nor boring. Good value (but not the best prices compared with some of my other faves in town). BTW, I didn't find the menu particularly encyclopedic compared with menus in some other eateries in Bangkok. Yes, dishes are fairly clearly explained. But that happens elsewhere – on menus with a much greater variety of dishes on them. Nevertheless, I would not worry about not finding something that I would like to eat at the “AH” restaurant – and that's perhaps the key.
4. I was pleasantly surprised that my room had two IKEA “Poang” chairs. I'm fairly sure those chairs have not been in that room since 1952. So much for absolutely rigid refusal to change. I happen to love those supremely comfortable chairs – and was delighted that they were in my room.
5. Mattress, pillows, and bed linens showed no compromise on quality. This claim is made on the hotel's Website, and I can vouch for that statement 100%. If one looks for a decent lock on the door (and doesn't mind having a secure safe to which one may affix one's own lock, and which can hold a small carry-on bag let alone a wallet and laptop), and a comfortable bed – this hotel excels in those categories.

Would I stay here again? The question boils down more to the hotel's location on lower Sukhumvit Road than to the hotel itself. When I lived there I (a) greatly disliked the “Sukhumvit Night Market” and the blockage of the sidewalk pavements that it entailed. Yet (b) I also knew of the local short-cuts which were available on my “home soi” which enabled me to go to Foodland without going out to the main Sukhumvit Road. Now, the “Sukhumvit Night Market” has even more greatly impinged itself on residents – making staying in that area even more of a hassle. If I now want to visit, say, Check Inn 99, or the Huntsman Pub, I would rather arrive from elsewhere in Bangkok by SkyTrain, and go directly to my desired venue – rather than actually living in the area.

That said, the Atlanta is deep into a relatively quiet soi – though one that is morphing with new construction and may soon be much less quiet.

In summary: The Atlanta is a mixed bag. But perhaps most important - very pleasant budget room with great bedding.

If the hotel could just do a bit of deferred maintenance, I'd add a star. If it was a little less “in your face” about their editorial positions, I'd add another star. If you're comfortable with those conditions, you may quite like this place!

Room Tip: Read the hotel's reviews (and selection tips) on its own Website. It gives useful tips on trade...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank EarthlingOnline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2013 via mobile

I've stayed a few times here since the late 90's and it has changed little, despite the cheaper single rooms in desperate need of some attention (beds attached to walls are also attached to the room next door walls, so good luck remaining still while asleep). Yes, the lobby is charming, a faded glamour of a bygone era. But they are a little too judgemental with the moral signage and suspicious glares (don't stereotype all single men as sex tourists, please). And now you can't eat here if not staying? The novelty wears off quickly and these days there is much better choice of digs in the big mango...

9  Thank jheffward
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 15 September 2013

This hotel was recommended to us, by a friend, for its quirkyness and ideal location, we were not disappointed. Ideally situated on Soi 2, it is within easy reach, via transport links, for anywhere that you could want to be. A free early check in was given and we were able to store our bags for a late check out, late room check outs are available. The food was great and reasonably priced.
Overall an excellent standard budget hotel in the heart of the capital city.

Room Tip: Try for a lower floor room as there is no lift
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NorthernLass64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Banglamphu
Rikka Inn
Rikka Inn
#355 of 891 in Bangkok
1,333 reviews
Sathorn
Malaysia Hotel
Malaysia Hotel
#397 of 891 in Bangkok
299 reviews
Sukhumvit
Sukhumvit 12 Bangkok Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sukhumvit
Aspen Suites Sukhumvit 2 by Compass Hospitality
Silom
Narai Hotel
Narai Hotel
#216 of 891 in Bangkok
1,457 reviews
Chinatown / Yaowarat
River View Guest House
River View Guest House
#373 of 891 in Bangkok
393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atlanta Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atlanta Hotel

Address: 78 Soi 2 Sukhumvit Road, Bangkok, 10110, Bangkok 10110, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Sukhumvit
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#153 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range: £18 - £67 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The historic Atlanta Hotel in Bangkok is, literally, untouched by modern pop culture. Walking into The Atlanta is like walking into another world, a long lost world. Most of what a guest sees and hears is old and classic - and authentic. ***The Atlanta Hotel in Bangkok, founded in 1952, features many superlatives, notably, the most photographed and oldest unaltered hotel lobby in Thailand, the first hotel swimming (diving) pool in Thailand, the largest selection of Thai vegetarian dishes in the world, a unique jungle-like garden right in the middle of Bangkok. The western menu features dishes made in the 1950s style - dishes that were on the original menu of The Atlanta, and prepared in the same way. ***The historic Atlanta Hotel in Bangkok has strict policies: sex-tourists, drug users, trouble-makers, and undomesticated people are not welcome. Any of these found on the premises are dealt with summarily. Because of these strict policies, The Atlanta Hotel has many detractors or even enemies. The Atlanta Hotel upholds its principles and policies without compromise. As of 1st September 2013, smoking will no longer be permitted anywhere on the premises. ***The Atlanta Hotel is also home to destitute cats and terrapins. Injured and abandoned cats seem to find their way to The Atlanta. Many are rescued from elsewhere. There are at the time of writing 36 cats. Some live in an enclosure on one side of the garden; others live in the staff section of the hotel. The terrapins are all rescued and saved from loss of habitat. There are at the time of writing 27 terrapins. They live well in and around the pond of the jungle-like garden of The Atlanta. Two staff are employed full-time to look after the animals, and visiting vets often volunteer their services, which The Atlanta welcomes. There is a celebrated drawing by a regular guest of The Atlanta of the lobby featuring cats lying on the round sofa. The caption reads (in Italian), "Cats, the real guests of The Atlanta." Guests of The Atlanta are typically animal lovers. *** The Atlanta, being at the bottom of a lane, has no passing trade. All our guests are either regulars or friends of regulars. The Atlanta has many returning guests who have been coming to The Atlanta since the 1960s, 1970s, 1980s and, of course, much later. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Atlanta Hotel Bangkok
Atlanta Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing