We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hordes of Mosquitoes live in the Lobby and management don't care”
Review of Atlanta Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Bangkok
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Atlanta Hotel
Ranked #283 of 891 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 March 2014

Keep it short as basically echoing others' concerns about the management's attitude (quite disgraceful) to its guests. I mean do these people realise who is paying their gas bills ? I think not really.

Anyways, the lobby IS cool and that IS why i thought i'd stay there to do some writing and research work. However, it is completely infested with nasty mosquitoes that make sitting down for 2 minutes unbearable.

Obviously the management make zero effort to control them as their attitude towards the guests comfort is well documented.

Also, this isn't a seasonal thing as the lady in reception told me they came in from the swamp they have set up in the rear. All year round pest which renders the cool looking lobby completely unusable.

Tip: Expedia or some such reveals real hotels in the area were you are treated with respect for about the same money. And with no mosquitoes !

Go elsewhere.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank marcopolo701
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (429)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

163 - 169 of 429 reviews

Reviewed 5 March 2014

Two problems with this otherwise splendid hotel.

1
The internet is slow, glacially slow, sometimes it just stops. How difficult is it to put in basic wifi?

2
Pools & pots in the garden breed swarms of mosquitoes. From 10am the lobby and restaurant are war zones as Falang-attacking flying hoards or airborne squadrons show no mercy. Be warned.

Otherwise a nice place to stay.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
Thank Aarnold L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2014

This hotel isn't for everyone. It is clean, it has comfortable beds, has a pool, decent location and a good restaurant. And it's not expensive. But especially the rooms and the pool are worn. In some cases very worn. If that is a pro or con depends on you. I loved it - though I do think they should get replacement tiles for the pool. It is in a way like some Buddhist temples which isn't renovated in order to remind us of everything's impermanence. I also love hotels with a history generally, but most historical hotels are colonial era 5 star hotels. This is something different. If you want a modern and fresh looking hotel - go elsewhere. Otherwise - do some time travel and stay at the Atlanta. It has character galore!

Room Tip: Lower floor = less stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gestalter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2014

We first discovered the hotel backpacking through Thailand on 2010, tired of budget fan cooled rooms we wanted to stay on our last weekend in the city in a proper hotel with Swimming pool and Air conditioned Rooms. We were not disappointed at all with our experience then, and we decided to come back to enjoy the Chinese New Year and our experience was also good.

Rooms are clean, with good quality linen, mattresses and pillows. Some of them have refurbished bathrooms like ours (C15). Do not expect luxury in the room, this is a budget hotel, with good quality of sleep.

Restaurant looks awesome, and the food is tasty with quite affordable prices also.

Some things to consider prior to booking this hotel:

- Well located close to a Sky-train Station.
- They have pets, various cats and one dog. Not specially annoying.
- There is no elevator, rooms are distributed in 4 floors.

We came back already once, and probably will be repeating again if we go again to Bangkok.

Room Tip: Check pictures of the rooms in the hotel website. Explanation is real. We stayed in floors C and D a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Inigogpardo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2014

I stayed in a 2-bedroom room on the first floor with my partner and his mum. We were greeted with a complimentary fresh pineapple juice and ate in the diner every morning. Access to the first floor is via a staircase, which was hard on my partner's mum's knees. However the beauty of the staircase made the climb worthwhile.

I recommend this hotel to anyone looking for an affordable boutique experience, in a safe, relatively quiet environment. I would have given it 5 stars if not for the grime in the bathroom.

The good:
1. The lobby is well-maintained and beautifully decorated with authentic pre-modern (possibly art nouveau) furniture and historical photographs / stories relating to the fascinating history of the Atlanta
2. Sex Tourists and 'older men with young boys' (as noted by the hotel attendant) are not welcome
3. The rooms are large and air conditioned
4. The hotel makes use of passive cooling through brick screen walls, and clever room layout (when the blinds and doors to the shared living space are kept closed, the rooms stay naturally cool).
5. The pool is adorable and open very late.
6. The adorable gardens adjacent to the adorable pool are home to various adorable small animals, including turtles
7. The diner has an extensive range of vegetarian options, and I was happy with every meal.
8. The rooms are very affordable and a few minutes' walk to the sky train

The bad:
1. Our bathroom was very dirty, with something crusty on the toilet seat, and the shower head produced a dribble of water
2. Whilst there was a large bathtub in the bathroom, our tub was terribly stained and was blemished with soap scum
3. The pool area could use a fresh coat of paint, as the canopy paint is peeling and appears to have extensive water damage to the soffit
4. There is a notice on the wall that guests are not permitted to complain as the price paid for the room is low and therefor not subject to criticism
5. The towels were not refreshed; however we did not attempt to ask for new ones so perhaps we could have dealt with this issue.
6. The rooms would benefit from an upgrade to the furniture, fittings and decor as the first impression of the other-worldly lobby does not extend to the rooms.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bitsofboo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2014 via mobile



I booked At Atlanta Inspired by a great review published in the Guardian last year and it has been the very smoothest experience, no doubt about it .
The hotel itself is Very unique, brings you back in times beautiful styled with real collectors antiques, and history
it is a haven inside and in the garden outside and it is 100 percent noise free
Great WiFi that is a major plus I had all my dinners at the restaurant within the hotel and the food is simple and delicious The staff is seriously helpful, friendly and great, happy to help with my questions at reservation and at check in times and anytime really I highly recommend this hotel because there is really nothing else like this in the city, in the global modern market either
A hotel in which thanks to its policy fashion and style you will feel safe, secure, and spoiled during your stay

fantastic location
in a quiet and sunny cul de sac i300 meters from Sukhumvit adjacent to the Marriott in soy 2
price
at the Atlanta price is beyond reasonable considering its only couple of minutes walk from MTR ( Underground Train ) Sukhumvit Station and 3 minutes walk from the BTS ( Sky Train ) Asoke Station .
Back to basic my room has a queen size bed very very confortable so so are the pillows and its immaculate crispy cotton white sheets and high quality bath towels AC and balcony all this comes for 20 euros a night
How dare can anyone complain ?

From reservation point via email the team was responding on real time in timeless manner so polite and efficient they accomodated my last minute booking speedily
that was the best as being on the other side of the globe with no hotel room booked in bangkok less than one week prior traveling they sorted me out and made me feel warm and welcome so much I was as impatient to be the hotel as to be in thailand and believe me they were far more helpful than in most of the 5 stars hotel in which i stayed in thd past for their reservation process introduce all options and prices their confirmation of the booking is based on trust Vs credit card id and without having to proceed my credit card I received personal write ups no automatic reply
FYI the hotel doesn't accept cards but note that
There are as many ATM to withdraw cash as there are street vendors in the area and Bangkok in general get cash at the airport upon arrival so you won't have a motive to complain about lack of modernity :)
As for the staff they are all Ladies who treat and serve guests like Ladies and gentlemen
all departments like House Keeping , Front Reception as well as in Restaurant these Ladies know their stuff and revive the real meaning of true hospitality
I had read countless reviews and it seems that The Atlanta is under constant attack by those who clearly do not understand what The Atlanta is about, who are insensitive to the mystique of The Atlanta, who do not see the style and unique character for its idiosyncrasies, who are clearly inverted snobs unappreciative of the informed menu, and who disapprove of The Atlanta’s stand against sex-and-drugs tourism. The Atlanta is very much against the current of the times. If Only a minority of people understand and appreciate The Atlanta I am so glad to be the minority but the hotel is fully booked so I feel really lucky I could get a room and it seems that a lot of travelers are repeat guests
if some guest feedback want to make you believe you cannot use the swimming pool because of some missing tiles or want to make you sound that there is a lack of friendliness well I guess these guests were under some substances I feel sorry for them and we should be thankful and appreciate the effort of management to warn upfront by making their standard of operation and hotel policy transparent to all
thats the reason I am spending a few minutes writing and try to make you understand the Atlanta motto the atlanta credo is well done and then you could like me come and stay and feedback
I have no idea how many tiles of the swimming pool are missing and how many brain cells are missing from the writers who feedback so strongly against me i felt great on the pool and I was too busy making friend with the cats living in the back yard and so well trained ss there is not s cat inside by the way so missing items of that kind would not bother me if i had not
Read about it I would have not noticed
I love the long chairs though and the green around and again thee are more signs to read and enjoy
i feel blessed to be In the heart of Bangkok in a lovely hotel that has a garden and a pool and cats and the finest vegetarian Thai food available and some classical music filling the air it's not a woodsy Allen movie it's for real and available ! I truly ! felt so privileged being one of the happy few traveler who understand what The Atlanta is about
so shortly after setting foot on the premises I wrote a note to management thanking them to have me begging them to not change anything !

The management of The Atlanta Hotel in Bangkok brings it to the point. 'Tourism is not about going on a rampage through other people’s country: those who cannot travel abroad without behaving badly should stay home.' Read for yourself what to expect when staying there.

The Atlanta is run on conservative principles and fosters traditional values.
I felt at home here

The Atlanta does not hesitate to refuse rooms to persons unsuited to the prevailing ethos of The Atlanta.

The Atlanta does not welcome SEX TOURISTS, and does not try to be polite about it.

Borderline cases are not given the benefit of the doubt, but are treated as sex tourists.

Those who are borderline cases should stay elsewhere.
,,,,
This is number 8 out of an indefinite set which I enjoyed sharing



Stayed: January 2557, travelled solo
3  Thank seasunstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2014

This is for independent travellers and those on a limited budget. A must-visit if you are interested in the 20th century history of Southeast Asia, for example the Cold War and Indochinese War aspects. This is one of the few historic buildings remaining in Bangkok. There is a lot of history on the walls. Location is good, near a mass transit station and the Marriott. Quiet soi, no go go bars or that sort of thing. Has not been renovated in decades, so definitely not for the squeamish.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gibraltar M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Banglamphu
Rikka Inn
Rikka Inn
#360 of 891 in Bangkok
1,342 reviews
Sukhumvit
Nana Hotel
Nana Hotel
#379 of 891 in Bangkok
766 reviews
Sukhumvit
Sukhumvit 12 Bangkok Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sathorn
Malaysia Hotel
Malaysia Hotel
#396 of 891 in Bangkok
306 reviews
Sukhumvit
Ariyasomvilla
Ariyasomvilla
#2 of 891 in Bangkok
1,568 reviews
Banglamphu
Casa Nithra
Casa Nithra
#65 of 891 in Bangkok
1,139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atlanta Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atlanta Hotel

Address: 78 Soi 2 Sukhumvit Road, Bangkok, 10110, Bangkok 10110, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Sukhumvit
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#153 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range: £17 - £65 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The historic Atlanta Hotel in Bangkok is, literally, untouched by modern pop culture. Walking into The Atlanta is like walking into another world, a long lost world. Most of what a guest sees and hears is old and classic - and authentic. ***The Atlanta Hotel in Bangkok, founded in 1952, features many superlatives, notably, the most photographed and oldest unaltered hotel lobby in Thailand, the first hotel swimming (diving) pool in Thailand, the largest selection of Thai vegetarian dishes in the world, a unique jungle-like garden right in the middle of Bangkok. The western menu features dishes made in the 1950s style - dishes that were on the original menu of The Atlanta, and prepared in the same way. ***The historic Atlanta Hotel in Bangkok has strict policies: sex-tourists, drug users, trouble-makers, and undomesticated people are not welcome. Any of these found on the premises are dealt with summarily. Because of these strict policies, The Atlanta Hotel has many detractors or even enemies. The Atlanta Hotel upholds its principles and policies without compromise. As of 1st September 2013, smoking will no longer be permitted anywhere on the premises. ***The Atlanta Hotel is also home to destitute cats and terrapins. Injured and abandoned cats seem to find their way to The Atlanta. Many are rescued from elsewhere. There are at the time of writing 36 cats. Some live in an enclosure on one side of the garden; others live in the staff section of the hotel. The terrapins are all rescued and saved from loss of habitat. There are at the time of writing 27 terrapins. They live well in and around the pond of the jungle-like garden of The Atlanta. Two staff are employed full-time to look after the animals, and visiting vets often volunteer their services, which The Atlanta welcomes. There is a celebrated drawing by a regular guest of The Atlanta of the lobby featuring cats lying on the round sofa. The caption reads (in Italian), "Cats, the real guests of The Atlanta." Guests of The Atlanta are typically animal lovers. *** The Atlanta, being at the bottom of a lane, has no passing trade. All our guests are either regulars or friends of regulars. The Atlanta has many returning guests who have been coming to The Atlanta since the 1960s, 1970s, 1980s and, of course, much later. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Atlanta Hotel Bangkok
Atlanta Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing