We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Different.”
Review of Atlanta Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Bangkok
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Atlanta Hotel
Ranked #263 of 866 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Different.”
Reviewed 10 May 2014

Interesting location, bags of charm, average service.
Love the location: the Mariott is at the end of the road; in the next street you'll find... the red district; opposite (the red district) are lots of Arab shops and restaurants, and there's a night market nearby! Close enough to the Sky Train, safe to walk about.
The hotel has lots of interesting features: the ground floor with the lobby, the restaurant, etc. Super quiet (on the 2nd floor anyway) so great night's sleep.
Service is alright, everything went ok, just not friendly really.
Not impressed with the super opinionated owner who rants (in writing) about everything EVERYWHERE, including in the restaurant menu, and with copyright (the staff will approach fast if you take your camera out...)!!!!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank V V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

415 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    163
    136
    61
    35
    20
See reviews for
73
130
117
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Paris
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2014

Reading the recent misinformed criticisms of The Atlanta, my favourite hotel, has prompted me to write this review. I work in spas and hotels all over the world and I have stayed in hotels of all categories everywhere. The Atlanta is my favourite place. There is no hotel in the world that has such a distinctive style and character, and such a strong sense of its own identity and of what it stands for. The Atlanta is not for the masses, and certainly not for the sex-tourists and junkies, nor is it a place for those who are only looking for standardized cheap accommodation. Everything about The Atlanta is characterful, deeply thought-out, and therefore idiosyncratic. That is what makes it so special, what makes it an interesting place to stay. Nothing The Atlanta does is inane, vapid or jejune. No professional hotel or business person could ever create a place like The Atlanta.

There is a mystique and an extraordinarily strong creative energy at The Atlanta. If you are receptive and sensitive as I am, you will fell it as soon as you walk in the door. That is why hundreds of writers and artists flock to stay at The Atlanta. So many books have been started or completed at The Atlanta. Some have been written entirely at The Atlanta. There is even a Guests’ Writing Room on one side of the lobby. The books by some of these writers are displayed in cabinets in the lobby.

The staff have all been at The Atlanta for decades. They know me and they know all the regular guests like their own friends. There are no plastic smiles and fake politeness. The staff are genuine people and they will go out of their way to help you if you need it. There was an Italian guest who had left a huge amount of money in a brown bag in the lobby thinking he had put it away in safekeeping. When he returned 3 weeks later, it was handed to him by the staff. He has not stopped talking about it. The Atlanta, he tells me and everyone he meets, is the safest hotel in the world.

The Atlanta racist? At The Atlanta, where most of the guests are regulars who return year after year, decade after decade, I have met other regulars, mostly from the west, but I have also met regulars who come from Japan (an engineer), Singapore (a journalist), Ghana (an NGO worker) and India (a large family). The elderly Indian lady is always carefully helped by the staff into a waiting taxi. I have also met a western man and his Thai wife (definitely not a bargirl) who have been coming to The Atlanta for years.

The Atlanta is highbrow. The music is certainly highbrow and one has to be cultured to appreciate it and to know what is going on. The famous menu is intellectually appealing with its annotations that provide interesting and arcane information about the food that is served. Alongside a huge selection of Thai vegetarian dishes, The Atlanta, having been founded in 1952, continues to serve some western dishes prepared in exactly the style of cooking of the 1950s. It goes very well with the historic feel of the hotel. Moreover, the food is incredibly cheap and good! It is worth staying at The Atlanta just for the food. Stay at a cheaper place and spend more on food, or stay at The Atlanta and spend less – and have really superior food.

Whenever I make a reservation, I always receive a prompt, courteous and intelligent response written in perfect English. The Atlanta remembers its guests so I always get a warm statement of recognition in the reply. Whenever I have further inquiries to make, I always receive a well-informed and helpful answer. I assure you that many 5-star hotels cannot match The Atlanta!

Mosquitoes at The Atlanta? There are mosquitoes everywhere in the tropics so if you cannot stand mosquitoes do not go to the tropics. I do not think there are more at The Atlanta than elsewhere.

Take a shower in the early evening to cleanse yourself of the odour of perspiration which attracts mosquitoes, wear light coloured clothing which does not attract mosquitoes, and use mosquito repellent. Voila!

It is the no-drugs, no sex-tourists and no-visitors policies that upsets the typical tourists to Thailand who happen to find their way to The Atlanta but who actually should stay elsewhere. Anyone who knows Bangkok knows that it is a scam city, full of confidence tricksters who befriend tourists with a view to getting a commission on their purchases, to cheating them or to stealing from them. It is precisely because The Atlanta does not welcome drug users and sex tourists, and does not allow guests to bring visitors onto the premises (the restaurant serves residents only), that The Atlanta is so private and so safe for all its guests. That is one of the reasons why I stay there. Those who want another kind of hotel should stay elsewhere. Their criticisms of The Atlanta are only statements about themselves and their preferences.

The photographs of the rooms and bathrooms on the hotel’s website are real and true. You can decide in advance whether they are good enough for you, for the price. If they are not, then go elsewhere and pay more.

The Atlanta is also an animal sanctuary with dozens of rescued terrapins and cats – and no, there is no smell of cat urine except perhaps if I go very near the cat enclosure on one side of the garden.

The heart is in the right place, the principles are intelligent, the place is cultured, clean and safe, the prices are low, and you know in advance what The Atlanta is about if you read the website. Are there enough people out there who understand all this? I tell my friends who visit Bangkok that they must see the Grand Palace and experience The Atlanta, which I feel is itself a place of pilgrimage, not only because of its mystique, energy and idiosyncrasies but also because it has the oldest unaltered lobby in all of East Asia. I love The Atlanta and recommend it very warmly to the right kind of people.

Room Tip: Whenever I make a reservation, I always receive a prompt, courteous and intelligent response written...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank seasunstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2014

I stayed here my last time. It wasn't a great hotel. Unfortunately, the place I was staying didn't have any rooms for the upcoming nights. I knew the Atlanta was in the area I decided to go here...big mistake. This hotel is unabashedly racist..They don't accept Indians or American/Canadian born Asians. There is a special place in hell for people dawning such racist sentiments. My Thai friend is a doctor and researcher from a very well respected research firm was denied entry...she even showed this disgraceful man her business card/credentials...

In closing, what you get for the price is not worth it. The lobby and eatery look great...the rooms are horrible with only a super thin bed sheet to sleep with in the night. They look like bunkers from fall out shelters. The staff from the restaurant were very friendly I would say stop by to see the lobby and restaurant, but I wouldn't recommend supporting an institution with such disgraceful policies.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
21 Thank Darren J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ventnor, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2014

First of all, we didn't stay here. 4 of us went for a meal in their restaurant and we wish we hadn't ! In 4 months travelling in S.E. Asia this has got to be the worst for food,service and atmosphere. The older waitress who runs the dining room was rude, got the order wrong and then threw the food at us. We had over-cooked spaghetti with a watery tomato sauce and over-cooked massaman curry with raw green beans . The plain rice was cold . After reading in the Menu how great the food is, we were very disappointed . When I paid the bill ,the older waitress was reluctant to give me the change ,saying , Is this for me ?. I've heard from other people that she does this all the time! Never again! We love Thailand, but I'm afraid The Atlanta has got it all wrong !

Room Tip: Choose another hotel !
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
15 Thank chrisandwendy_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 April 2014

Yeah, its a groovy hotel.

Those mosquitoes get you any time you're on the 1st floor. Its hard to use the restaurant when you're being eaten, and the lobby is too dangerous to hang around in without being bitten all over. Could be fixed with a few plug in repellents.

I like staying in this place, even if it needs a little change.

Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Cassandra K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sydney
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2014

I have been staying at the Atlanta since 1997. Whenever I come to Bangkok, I would never consider staying anywhere else. If people want to complain about the rooms, the turtles, or a few mosquitoes, that is their right, and I hope that they stay somewhere else the next time that they come to Thailand.
You can meet amazing people here from all over the world who have been coming to the Atlanta for a lot longer than I have, and they come back for a reason, there is nowhere else like this in Bangkok, perhaps all of Thailand.
The staff are lovely, they have no need to fake politeness, and if you stay here and earn their love and respect, rather than demand it simply because you are paying, you will find that they will go out of their way to help you for even the smallest thing.
The restaurant is an experience in itself, the travel desk can arrange anything for you, and I personally think that the rooms are wonderful; certainly for the price you are paying, you won't find anything of this standard nearby. The pool is an oasis of calm, and a wonderful place to meet people over a drink in the evening.
I sometimes wish that Dr. Henn was still with us, so that he could hear people complaining about slow internet or a few mosquitoes, he would give us a quote far better then anything I could come up with.
If you are more comfortable at a fancy hotel, you should stay at one, I personally think that the Atlanta is a small piece of heaven in a world that is becoming more homogenised and dull with every passing year.
I only left the Atlanta 2 weeks ago and I miss it already.
Please stay here if you are a person who can see quality in life, and doesn't mind a mosquito ruining their evening, the Atlanta is a haven for certain people, and I look forward to meeting some of them the next time I stay there.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank brian s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mysuru (Mysore), India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2014

Keep it short as basically echoing others' concerns about the management's attitude (quite disgraceful) to its guests. I mean do these people realise who is paying their gas bills ? I think not really.

Anyways, the lobby IS cool and that IS why i thought i'd stay there to do some writing and research work. However, it is completely infested with nasty mosquitoes that make sitting down for 2 minutes unbearable.

Obviously the management make zero effort to control them as their attitude towards the guests comfort is well documented.

Also, this isn't a seasonal thing as the lady in reception told me they came in from the swamp they have set up in the rear. All year round pest which renders the cool looking lobby completely unusable.

Tip: Expedia or some such reveals real hotels in the area were you are treated with respect for about the same money. And with no mosquitoes !

Go elsewhere.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank marcopolo701
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Silom
Pas Cher Hotel de Bangkok
Pas Cher Hotel de Bangkok
#313 of 866 in Bangkok
176 reviews
Sukhumvit
Lohas Residences Sukhumvit
Lohas Residences Sukhumvit
#171 of 866 in Bangkok
655 reviews
Sukhumvit
Hotel Solo Sukhumvit 2
Hotel Solo Sukhumvit 2
#101 of 866 in Bangkok
1,233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Banglamphu
Lamphu Tree House
Lamphu Tree House
#148 of 866 in Bangkok
1,823 reviews
Silom
Swan Hotel Bangkok
Swan Hotel Bangkok
#446 of 866 in Bangkok
215 reviews
Banglamphu
Phranakorn-Nornlen Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atlanta Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atlanta Hotel

Property: Atlanta Hotel
Address: 78 Soi 2 Sukhumvit Road, Bangkok, 10110, Bangkok 10110, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Sukhumvit
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#153 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The historic Atlanta Hotel in Bangkok is, literally, untouched by modern pop culture. Walking into The Atlanta is like walking into another world, a long lost world. Most of what a guest sees and hears is old and classic - and authentic. ***The Atlanta Hotel in Bangkok, founded in 1952, features many superlatives, notably, the most photographed and oldest unaltered hotel lobby in Thailand, the first hotel swimming (diving) pool in Thailand, the largest selection of Thai vegetarian dishes in the world, a unique jungle-like garden right in the middle of Bangkok. The western menu features dishes made in the 1950s style - dishes that were on the original menu of The Atlanta, and prepared in the same way. ***The historic Atlanta Hotel in Bangkok has strict policies: sex-tourists, drug users, trouble-makers, and undomesticated people are not welcome. Any of these found on the premises are dealt with summarily. Because of these strict policies, The Atlanta Hotel has many detractors or even enemies. The Atlanta Hotel upholds its principles and policies without compromise. As of 1st September 2013, smoking will no longer be permitted anywhere on the premises. ***The Atlanta Hotel is also home to destitute cats and terrapins. Injured and abandoned cats seem to find their way to The Atlanta. Many are rescued from elsewhere. There are at the time of writing 36 cats. Some live in an enclosure on one side of the garden; others live in the staff section of the hotel. The terrapins are all rescued and saved from loss of habitat. There are at the time of writing 27 terrapins. They live well in and around the pond of the jungle-like garden of The Atlanta. Two staff are employed full-time to look after the animals, and visiting vets often volunteer their services, which The Atlanta welcomes. There is a celebrated drawing by a regular guest of The Atlanta of the lobby featuring cats lying on the round sofa. The caption reads (in Italian), "Cats, the real guests of The Atlanta." Guests of The Atlanta are typically animal lovers. *** The Atlanta, being at the bottom of a lane, has no passing trade. All our guests are either regulars or friends of regulars. The Atlanta has many returning guests who have been coming to The Atlanta since the 1960s, 1970s, 1980s and, of course, much later. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Atlanta Hotel Bangkok
Atlanta Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing