We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I have used the Maruay for 12 years.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Maruay Garden Hotel
Ranked #726 of 867 Hotels in Bangkok
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“I have used the Maruay for 12 years.”
Reviewed 7 November 2008

Come to this hotel if you want to escape the Europeans Americans and Australians who fill the hotel downtown making it difficult to believe you have ever left home.

Come if you want a room price that is realistic.

Don't come if you want to be near the tourist sites and the shopping. Taxis downtown cost around Baht120 although trying to get a driver to use the meter for the return is difficult ...expect to pay double price for the return unless you speak good Thai.

Don't come if you want to be near the international airport. The hotel is close to Don Muang which now only serves a limited number of domestic flights. The international airport which opened two years ago is an expensive (1500-2000 baht) taxi ride away.

Don't come if you dislike Chinese tour groups, aalthough you can escape them by asking for a room on one of the "executive" floors and taking breakfast early.

I have been using the Maruay for around 12 years. Usually for stays around a week long as I work at the nearby Kasetsart University. The university attracts many foreign visitors to the hotel.

The rooms are comfortable and well maintained, breakfast is a buffet thats about average in quality. The front desk staff are extremely helpful if you have any problems.

For me, working in the local area, the Maruay is excellent but I must emphasise that its not a hotel for sightseeing tourists.

  • Stayed November 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Mike K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1
    16
    23
    10
    4
See reviews for
2
4
4
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2008

My wife booked this one for a function we had there.
The function was good and the room was good but this hotel has two disadvantages:

1) Location: the hotel is in the nowhere near the central hub. There is sort of a little village that surrounds the hotel but that's it.
2) The hotel is old.

The problem is just because a hotel is old, it doesn't need to look old and unforuntately it does. It's still a lot better then a lot of the hotels in Melbourne but when all it needs is a bit of a paint and a change of carpet, it's a bit disappointing that they don't.

Having said that, it's a nice stay if you want something cheap, and there is a shopping/bowling complex nearby (one of the best bowling in Bangkok).

Ka

  • Liked — The room and the function centre (what it's really good for)
  • Disliked — The location and there is a cockroach problem
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank KaKwok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brampton, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
908 reviews
204 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 535 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2008

We were booked by a friend of my husband in the hotel since it was near their meeting place with clients.

However Maruay Hotel is not accessible by MRT or Sky train. The nearest shopping mall is about 15 minutes by taxi which will cost you around BHT50. The nearest MRT(Chatuchak Park) is about 20 min and BHT65 away.

It is located inside a place dotted with small establishments.\
The elevator and lobby carpet near the entrance was dusty and dirty. The rooms however were clean.

Breakfast fare is the same daily and has no variety.

There was only a small coffee /bake shop at the lobby(no other shops). There was also no decent restaurant within 3km from the vicinity of the hotel.The sole lobby entertainment in the coffee shop was not entertaining enough.

It is about 30 minutes away from the new Bangkok airport.

  • Liked — Cheap
  • Disliked — too far from shopping and MRT or subway
  • Stayed February 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank betty l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bangkok hotels

Oman
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2005

This hotel is quite close to the airport: It took about 15 minutes though this was at about 11pm. I didn't notice paint peeling, and I forgot to look to see if i was the only westerner, though I don't know why this is part of a hotel rating!

Taxis were VERY easy to get- all you have to do is walk 200 meters up the alley to the main road and the 2 times I needed a taxi it took less than 10 seconds to find one.
It is also about 5 -10 minutes away from Central Department Store which has loads of good shops food stalls etc.
Definately a good place to stop!

  • Stayed March 2005, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank ness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basel, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
259 reviews
128 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 256 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2004

The hotel is a modern house in the middle of a rather traditional neighborhood. I would rate it a modest 4-star hotel. The rooms were nice, everything OK. As long as you are not too fussy about little details, like wallpaper that does not stick to the wall anymore... The pool area was not very inviting, but we enjoyed the gym and sauna after the long flight. Peculiar thing: besides us, I could not spot any other western faces at the hotel. They seem to have mainly asian guests.

However, we had one big problem. When we checked out on Monday Morning at 8, it seemed almost impossible to catch a taxi to the airport. As the hotel is located in the suburbs, there are no available taxis around in this area. We had to wait over half an hour. And then traffic was very bad to the airport, it took us another good half hour to get there. Somehow, miraculously, we made it on our flight (domestic), arriving just 37 minutes before departure time at the terminal.

Overall, I can recommend this hotel. But plan enough time to get back to the airport! Even under normal traffic conditions the driving time is 20 - 25 minutes.

Helpful?
7 Thank luke.traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Rama Gardens Hotel Bangkok
#348 of 867 in Bangkok
227 reviews
The Bangkok Major Suite
#666 of 867 in Bangkok
1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ebina House
#641 of 867 in Bangkok
23 reviews
Chatuchak
Centara Grand at Central Plaza Ladprao Bangkok
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maruay Garden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maruay Garden Hotel

Property: Maruay Garden Hotel
Address: 1 Phaholoyothin Road, Ladyao, Chatuchak, Bangkok 10900, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #726 of 867 Hotels in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Maruay Garden Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 315
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Maruay Garden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing