We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bad value, bad cleanliness but at least we got a full refund” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of New World City Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
New World City Hotel
Ranked #476 of 849 Hotels in Bangkok
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Bad value, bad cleanliness but at least we got a full refund”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2012

We booked a triple deluxe room. We never actually stayed a full night. We only stayed for a nap but having woken up after a long flight and being tired, all of us found odd little bugs crawling on our clothes, our phones and on the sheets.

WE CRINGED. Not only were there bugs, it was very very dusty, old, smelled musky, hadn't been updated and the bathroom was really average.

For the price that we paid we managed to get a much nicer and cleaner room at the Khaosan Park Resort around the corner on Khaosan Road.

When we compained about the cleanliness and standard of the rooms, the staff were quick to show us around other available rooms. We checked them out but they were the same. On one of the beds, I saw two small bugs and when I pointed them out, the hotel manager simply killed them by smearing his finger over them and staining the sheets. Then he said that they had been dealt with- are you kidding me? He killed two bugs on the sheets of one of the beds and expected us to be happy with the standard of the room. I was shocked.

Thankfully we managed to get a full refund and moved as quickly as we could.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kli62306
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

300 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    22
    130
    82
    38
    28
See reviews for
25
86
40
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Harrogate
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2012

A good, clean and friendly hotel - can't complain! Near Kohsan road so good for people who want to go out but also a short taxi ride away from the attractions in Bangkok with plenty of places to eat nearby!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Qld
Level Contributor
57 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2012

I stayed here as part of an Intrepid tour so I cant comment on the cost. I suspect their main clients are all the tour groups that use this hotel rather than the independent travelers.

The hotel itself is very old, the rooms are small and the beds are very soft. The breakfast buffet was pretty terrible. Eat elsewhere if you have the time.
The staff are friendly and helpful and the hotel is located within 5 minutes walk to the local tourist strip.
The roof has a nice little view over the area and there are convenience stores and restaurants next door which is very handy.

Would I recommend this hotel? No. There are cleaner and newer places to chose from.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Benicio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2012

I had booked into this hotel for the weekend of the 10th of August but due to unforeseen events had to cancel my stay so this review has to do with how generous and kind the staff were. I had an item being delivered to this hotel on the evening of the 11th but I had returned to Ireland. I was dealing with them over the phone and by email. Their receptionist was very helpful and from there I was dealing with Mirium, the Reservation manager. They were extremely helpful and pleasant while dealing with me. If I am ever to return to Bangkok I will be sure to stay there I am certain as much time, effort and care is put into the running of the hotel as it is dealing with the public. Thanks to all in New World City for their time and help.

Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Shaw M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, Canterbury, New Zealand
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2012

This all depends on what your used too. We normally aim at the 300- 700thb range, this hotel is 1100. Although you have all you need, it is old, and has by the look of it, never been updated. We have had much better rooms for half the price, and more attentive service. I sent two emails asking for location advise, and another informing our train was three hours late. Neither was known about.

If we did not arrive so late, we would have said no thanks! The walls need a scrub, and are not worth the price in relation their competitors.

Room Tip: If you travel Thailand, you will find much better for less.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stu M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bangkok hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Luton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2012

Great room, comfy beds, great location near koh sam road. No alcohol served in the hotel but plenty of bars close by.Polite and lovely staff, breakfast buffet is limited. ACs worked well and the view from the higher floors were lovely. Good taxi service to the airport. Loved it would go back.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Simplyalouise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2012

Stayed here for three nights last year and was very happy with the hotel. In a fantastic location a short walk from Khao San Road and overlooking a small river and rooftops of the surrounding buildings. In a very rustic area with lots of character which was fantastic. The hotel breakfast was great and included in the price. The staff were helpful and ordered us taxi's when required. The rooms were very big and spacious with a little balcony. The bathroom was questionable but perfectly fine for a couple of days. Overall excellent value and would recommend.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ElizabethdeBroise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Banglamphu
Diamond House
Diamond House
#297 of 849 in Bangkok
3.5 of 5 bubbles 295 reviews
Banglamphu
Nouvo City Hotel
Nouvo City Hotel
#183 of 849 in Bangkok
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,119 reviews
Banglamphu
Villa Cha-Cha Phraathit
Villa Cha-Cha Phraathit
#402 of 849 in Bangkok
3.5 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Banglamphu
Bhiman Inn
Bhiman Inn
#346 of 849 in Bangkok
3.5 of 5 bubbles 323 reviews
Banglamphu
Chillax Resort
Chillax Resort
#140 of 849 in Bangkok
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,429 reviews
Banglamphu
Adamaz House
Adamaz House
#200 of 849 in Bangkok
4.0 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New World City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New World City Hotel

Property: New World City Hotel
Address: 2 Samsen Soi 2, Samsen Rd | Banglumphu, Pranakorn, Bangkok 10200, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Banglamphu
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #476 of 849 Hotels in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 171
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New World City Hotel is conveniently located in the heart of Bangkok close to Khaosan Road on Rattanakosin Island old city and historical part of Bangkok. It's also easily accessible to the Royal Grand Palace, The Emerald Buddha Temple (Wat Phra Keaw),Wat Pho (Temple of the Reclining Buddha), the Golden Mountain and National Museum. Just a 10 minute walk to Banglumphu Market and Khaosan Road, the place for the best in nightlife, shopping, and dining in the area.For 20 years, the New World City Hotel has been proudly serving and accommodating guests from around the world and has built a reputation for being one of the friendliest hotels in the city.The hotel provide its guest with modern, bright, well-appointed guest rooms with inter-connecting rooms also available. All guest rooms have windows and balconies, private bathrooms, hot & cold showers, IDD telephones, satellite televisions, in-room safes, minibars and refrigerators, along with 24-hour Halal room service food.Sara Restaurant services Thai, European, and Indian Cuisine with a wide A La Carte menu and 24-hour room service. Guests are welcomed by friendly and courteous staff that are always ready to greet you with a smile and Sawadee, Thai custom for a warm welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Southall Travel and HostelWorld so you can book your New World City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New World City Bangkok
Hotel New World City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing