We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Basic in a Decent Location"”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
New World City Hotel
Ranked #464 of 891 Hotels in Bangkok
Reviewed 1 April 2013

I stayed in New World City for 5 nights In January. It was tucked away off the main street and about a 10 minute walk from the tourist areas.

This is a very basic hotel and generally why it it quite cheap. The rooms are decent sized with a small bar friends, tv, air con, a small smokers balcony and en suite. However our en suite was rather run down with pipe's exposed, and the furniture and decor generally out dated.

It's not a greatly lit hotel, wifi is extra and the buffet breakfast wasn't that great however there is a chef who will cook you eggs just how you like them at a stall on the side.

When I booked this hotel I didn't look it up on TripAdvisor just the hotel's website which is deceiving as they have photo's from the joined hotel next to it which is a modern higher class resort not from their actual hotel side with a more outdated look.

If I had come to TripAdvisor I probably wouldn't have booked this hotel, and be happy to have paid a little extra for something a bit better.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Olivia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (303)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

67 - 73 of 303 reviews

Reviewed 27 March 2013

The hotel is a rundown version of Nouvo which is their modern boutique hotel.

The room is big but the furniture's are very old and definitely has served its purpose for years. As for the breakfast, the variety is fine but the taste is not for those seeking for some fancy one.

We stayed here for 3 nights during our 1st and 2nd night we woke up at times because of the noise coming from the toilet. But on the 3rd night was the worse, the noise was very loud and at times very long. Since it's our last night we didn't bother to call the reception to change room. Our guess is it's their plumbing system, we stayed at room 520. I'm not sure if all rooms have the same problem.

As for the location is about 10-15 minutes walking distance to Khaosan Road so ideal for those who wanted to have a good time but wanted to have a restful sleep at night.



The staff are friendly and helpful though.

Room Tip: Don't stay in Room 520 which has a very noisy toilet plumbing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kulasa08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2013

We stayed in 3 different hotels on our trip to Bangkok and this was one of them. It's definetely nothing special but for tired travellers it definetely does the trick. The service is very nice and helpful, rooms are a bit old but big, clean and not noisy. The real advantage of this place is it's location, steps away from chinese street market and Khao San Road. There is also a bus stop from which you can catch buses to main attractions like Chatuchak Market, temples and a connecting bus to Airport Link.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katinka_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2013

It's a good place to stay, not more not less.
free wifi, average breakfast buffet
the travel desk was really friendly, helped us to organize our holiday.
for more luxury (like pool & gym) see nouvo hotel (built together, but different services).
Location: quiet, a lot of nice places for shopping and restaurants around.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank waels1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2013

Staff were unfriendly and inefficient, the rooms were very basic, and it is next to a canal which stinks. The breakfast looked very much like it was whatever was leftover from the previous nights dinner, what little we managed to try certainly tasted that way. I haven't stayed in any other hotels in Bangkok but I would be amazed if there weren't better alternatives at the same price as this one. Avoid.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HKSean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2013

Upon arrival, service was rude and unhelpful. The rooms view was of a wall covered in ac units. The remote didnt work for the small screen tv. Room service was late, the coffee instant, the juice out of a can and no breakfast included. The bathroom was dirty and the shower uncomfortable.

Stayed: February 2013
Thank Amie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2013

There's a complicated backstory with this hotel, which used to be called the New World Lodge and was renamed New World City Hotel and then later a second modern hotel was built behind it, called the Nuovo World City Hotel. So, there are now two hotels, the older 50's hotel, and the modern nuovo.

Most internet sites book the older hotel, with 50's rooms that are decent, but show wear. The air-con is noisy, which can be difficult for light sleepers if you need it running at night. The toilet and shower are ok, but show their age. Mattress a bit lumpy. However if you get a decent room, it can be a decent refuge from the noise of Bangkok as the hotel is situated right on the canal, away from Samsen street. There are a number of reasonably priced little restaurants and street food out back on soi 2 and further.

Most important though to get a room facing the Khlong as the backside of the hotel just faces the Nuovo, so just a noisy wall full of air-con units buzzing all the time. As well, get a room high enough (floor 5 and above) and on the east end of the building (away from Samsen) as there's a huge bank of noisy hotel air-con and air vents on the west side. Get the right room and the hotel is quite pleasant.

Room Tip: Avoid the rooms at the back, facing the Nuovo hotel, and also avoid lower rooms on the front, west s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cairoluxoristambul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Banglamphu
Nouvo City Hotel
Nouvo City Hotel
#170 of 891 in Bangkok
1,314 reviews
Banglamphu
Trang Hotel Bangkok
Trang Hotel Bangkok
#496 of 891 in Bangkok
240 reviews
Banglamphu
Roof View Place
Roof View Place
#357 of 891 in Bangkok
423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Banglamphu
The Raweekanlaya Bangkok
The Raweekanlaya Bangkok
#205 of 891 in Bangkok
50 reviews
Banglamphu
Diamond House
Diamond House
#332 of 891 in Bangkok
310 reviews
Banglamphu
Buddy Lodge Hotel
Buddy Lodge Hotel
#184 of 891 in Bangkok
1,341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New World City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New World City Hotel

Address: 2 Samsen Soi 2, Samsen Rd | Banglumphu, Pranakorn, Bangkok 10200, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Banglamphu
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #464 of 891 Hotels in Bangkok
Price Range: £57 - £114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 171
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New World City Hotel is conveniently located in the heart of Bangkok close to Khaosan Road on Rattanakosin Island old city and historical part of Bangkok. It's also easily accessible to the Royal Grand Palace, The Emerald Buddha Temple (Wat Phra Keaw),Wat Pho (Temple of the Reclining Buddha), the Golden Mountain and National Museum. Just a 10 minute walk to Banglumphu Market and Khaosan Road, the place for the best in nightlife, shopping, and dining in the area.For 20 years, the New World City Hotel has been proudly serving and accommodating guests from around the world and has built a reputation for being one of the friendliest hotels in the city.The hotel provide its guest with modern, bright, well-appointed guest rooms with inter-connecting rooms also available. All guest rooms have windows and balconies, private bathrooms, hot & cold showers, IDD telephones, satellite televisions, in-room safes, minibars and refrigerators, along with 24-hour Halal room service food.Sara Restaurant services Thai, European, and Indian Cuisine with a wide A La Carte menu and 24-hour room service. Guests are welcomed by friendly and courteous staff that are always ready to greet you with a smile and Sawadee, Thai custom for a warm welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), HostelWorld, Southall Travel, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your New World City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New World City Bangkok
Hotel New World City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing