We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No longer 5 star”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Emporium Suites by Chatrium
Ranked #258 of 885 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 February 2012

Have stayed at the Emporium several times, it rates itself as the only 5 star serviced apartments in Bangkok. I think that in the past this was probably true but sadly no longer. Like another reviewer I was looking forward to the newly renovated rooms but was disapponted by the work done. Next to no work had been done on the bathrooms which really show their age, the ceiling light fittings in lounge and bedroom were a hodgepodge of different types, smoke detector brown with age, laminate flooring still the original.
All of this is a great shame and refects badly on the new owners, Chatrium, for their short sighted lack of investment.
Emporium has the best location IMO in Bangkok and has excellent staff who deserve better from the management. I feel they will lose many regular customers to the newer serviced apartments with much higher quality rooms and facilities.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank john m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saminee, Front Office Manager at Emporium Suites by Chatrium, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2012

Dear Mr. John,

We thank you for sparing the time to reviw us, and very much appricate your comments.

Your concerns are well received and I would like to assure you that every effort will be made to redress any shortcomings so as to deliver the standard of service that you and all our guests rightfully expect.

Thank you once again for being our customer.

Yours sincerely,
Saminee Tharaksa
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,517)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,007 - 1,013 of 1,517 reviews

Reviewed 22 February 2012

This was our second stay at the Emporium.
Yes, the location is great. Direct access to the Shopping complex and the BTS.
But the main reason to stay here is the staff. Most of them are very helpful, kind and always with a genuine smile. The reception staff was especially attending. thank you.
The rooms are large and comfortable, the views breathtaking.
The Bathroom definitely needs upgrading. Shower, fixtures and lights need real improvements.
Renovation noise is minimal and it didn't bother us.
We felt very comfortable and will definitely stay here again on our next trip to BKK
MOPELA
Zurich

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank MOPELA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saminee, Front Office Manager at Emporium Suites by Chatrium, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2012

Dear Mopela,

Thank you for your kind comments.

It is very delighted to see you mentioned that you will definetly stay with us again.

For your future visit, please check out our new furnitures on the pool area, you will love it, I promise.

Our reception team pass their best regards to you and your family too.

See you soonest.

Yours sincerely,
Saminee Tharaksa
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2012

For those of you who know Bangkok, location is imperative due to the traffic (you can spend your life in a traffic jam). Location is where Emporium comes into its own. This part of Bangkok is the perfect position; easy walking to distance to bars, restaurants, legitimate massage places/spas, great nightlife. Having lived in Bangkok for two years, this area was where we spent 50% of our time. It has everything - it is the 'real' Bangkok - without the sleazy side...(although if you want to find it, it is still close by).

Furthermore, you can walk through the Emporium Mall directly connected to the sky train (BTS) which is so clean and air conditioned and our preferred mode of transport when in town it takes you pretty much everywhere you need to go and you can taxi the last bit of journey if needed. Emporium department store has a paid kids play area and also has a grocery store which is very well stocked and you can use the trolley to take the purchases directly to your suite or get them delivered. Emporium also has a food hall with great dining choices, other eateries within the mall. The Emporium towers has a Starbucks and Au Bon Pain and LittleGym classes for kids of all ages. If you are traveling with children, the Benjasiri Park that is along side Emporium has two play areas that are very well done and safe for children. One dedicated is for kids 4 years and under and the other 4+ years. The Emporium Suites also have a GP on call that makes house visits if needed from the nearby Samitivej Hospital. Emporium also has a movie theatre. It literally has everything.

We had reserved a one bedroom suite but were very grateful to be upgraded to a deluxe one bedroom suite. It had 1.5 bathrooms, a huge living/dining area, separate kitchen, separate laundry room and entry hall with cupboard that fits golf clubs. The pool is clean and great for kids but the "playground" is just a dedicated area with no toys. The gym was great but have to admit that we didn't use it.

Service was daily and through; which isn't an easy task with our one year old. Service anywhere in Thailand is always impeccable and with a smile.

The pillows aren't great which affected the sleep quality for us.

Room Tip: We had a view of the park which is lovely but it had a concert on the weekend we were there which wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank cupcakeBangkok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saminee, Front Office Manager at Emporium Suites by Chatrium, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2012

Dear CupCake Bangkok,

Thank you for your review about us.

I am very grateful for the time you took to wrote about us, your review is very informative. Your content is sure to inspire and encourage others to come to stay with us.



Yours sincerely,
Saminee Tharaksa
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2012

This is our fourth year staying for three months at the Emporium Suites. We were so excited about the "renovations", because the hotel needs to be updated. Unfortunately they are were cosmetic except for the new toilet and mirror and a few tiles,but not all of them, in the bathroom. The staff who work here are wonderful and the location fabulous.

We have had problems and they come from a lack of investment from the ownership. The fixtures in the bath were not replaced. As a result black gunk was coming out of the shower head and the faucets have either screeched or not worked. We had them both repaired. They did nothing with the kitchens, the refrigerator stopped working and they repaired it. The counters and stoves are old. They did replace the old worn pans. New flat screen televisions were installed. Ours is located on a wall, it is crooked and faces the window so we have to close our curtains to see the screen. One of the televisions stopped working the first month. The picture quality varies and the sound in inaudible at times. They have the old analog and haven't updated their cable service. The wireless was a pain until one of the staff at the front desk finally resolved my problems. The I.T. tried, but couldn't find the solution. Signal is slow and frustrating if you are used to modern high speed internet.

The gym is worn and tired. Equipment is rusty, chipped, dirty, etc. The gym people spend some of their time trying to sell memberships to outsiders in the attached mall. I've had to go to the spa to find towels, get cups for the water and the trash can frequently overflows. There has been no one to assist you or supervise the gym on several occasions. Equipment is not being wiped down after use by the staff and the whole place needs a complete and thorough cleaning.

The wooden chaise lounges by the pool are old and rickety. The varnish has worn off and nails pop out on occasion. The cheap metal lounges are uncomfortable with thin pads to cushion your body.

The restaurant has not been redone. The carpet is filthy as are some of the walls. Hot food is not kept hot and there is no cold area for salads, dressings, etc. As a result I have had food poisoning twice and two other friends have gotten ill.

While I was using my hairdryer it started sparking in my hands and I immediately threw it. I don't know if it was because the dryer was old or because they had located the new electrical outlet very close to the sink and the water-electrical combination caused it to blow. They moved the outlet and gave me a hairdryer at my request which had three prongs, one of which is a ground.

Several of our friends have had ant problems. We saw ants in the restaurant, but not in our apartment. We had roaches on two occasions and they sprayed for them.

We have spent large amounts of money at this hotel and feel the value for what we pay has been going down each year. I really don't want to have to deal with maintenance and problems when I am on vacation. We are saddened that we will not be returning. As I said, the staff are wonderful, but we have looked around and there are some beautiful new serviced apartments that we will move too next time we are in Bangkok.

Room Tip: The place is being renovated so there is pounding noise. Rooms on the park side are blasted with mu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank AMBChicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saminee, Front Office Manager at Emporium Suites by Chatrium, responded to this reviewResponded 2 March 2012

Dear ABM Chicaco,

Thank you for your time and effort in posting your comments on your experience during your recent stay with us. We always appreciate having our guests bring to our attention, as you have done, what has not met with their expectations. The points you raised are well received and are being given full attention.

While it is our policy to provide the best service we can, obviously there are areas that need improvement. For these we offer our sincere apologies, and would like you to know that the measures are being taken to redress our shortcomings and so serve you better.

It is with delight that we read, however, your appreciation of our wonderful staff. Thank you acknowledging their friendly hospitalily.

Although you have noted that you'll not stay with us again, we do hope that our apology goes some way in assuring you of our commitment to to responsive customer service, and that we may have the opportunity of serving you better in the future.

Yours sincerely,
Saminee Tharaksa
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2012

Actually I has been stayed on this hotel for several times, but on this time I have opportunity to share on this forum.
This hotel is located on Sukhumvit area which central of the city and have usual traffic jam on the morning and afternoon.

From the airport, if you use Limousine Taxi you have to pay around 1.1000 Baht to get to this hotel and spent about 1.5 hours. But if you want to use by taxi meter perhaps you only pay half from it. Also from the hotel if you want to go to airport, some of taxi driver don't want to use the meter. They usually offer around 500 Baht include toll fee.

It's Phrom Phong BTS station is very near from this hotel, therefore you can go to somewhere do you want around Bangkok City easily.

This hotel prepare various meal for teh breakfast, but if youa are moslem people please be carefully. There are may meal made use of pork or ham (fried rice, sausage, etc). But don't worry, you can choose another meal such as bread or fresh fruits.

The room is equipped by big LCD TV and many channel programs you can select.
But this hotel have limited lobby, it means only limited seat available and unpleasant.
Overall this hotel give you good service and facility, you can enjoy it

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barliansyah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saminee, Front Office Manager at Emporium Suites by Chatrium, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2012

Dear Mr. Barliansyah,

Thank you for not only taking the time to wrote about us but also for the very informative details of our place too.

Your thoughfulness is greatly appricated.

Saminee T.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2012

As usual I picked this hotel again and as usual got the great service I am used to there. The rooms are great, large and with all you need. Breakfast was as usual great. I visited during the Chinese New Year and the hotel was full but you never felt it. One thing I was amazed with was the fact that although the hotel is full whenever I approached the front desk they always greeted me by my name, how do they remember? Just great.

Room Tip: There is a problem with mobile phone reception on the top floors (I was on 38th). This is not the ho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
14  Thank Larry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saminee, Front Office Manager at Emporium Suites by Chatrium, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2012

Dear Mr. Susman,

Can't thank you enough for your kind words and commented about us. We are truly appreciated.

Our Front Desk staff is love to see you to stop by and they are more than welcome and honour to serve you. Anytime for you!

Just to let you know that our Engineer is working on closely with mobile providers companies to come in and check the signal on each floors. This should result the better signals.

We are looking forward to welcome you back pretty soon.

Yours sincerely,
Saminee T.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2012

Wonderfully decorated rooms.Excellent service and facilities. We have not been in Thailand before and we are delighted to have choosen this hotel. Front Desk and Restaurant employees are friendly and always willing to help. It was also a pleasure to have met Mr Beyer the GM of the hotel during breakfast hours.
Thank you for making our vacation unforgettable.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank vince-hoelzle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saminee, Front Office Manager at Emporium Suites by Chatrium, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2012

Dear Sir/Madame,

Thank you for spending time to wrote about us. I am pleased to hear that you had a great stay.

Here at Emporium Suites by Chatrium, we are strive to make our guest a wonderful stay.

Yours sincerely,
Saminee Tharaksa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Sukhumvit
Hilton Sukhumvit Bangkok
Hilton Sukhumvit Bangkok
#75 of 885 in Bangkok
1,710 reviews
Sukhumvit
Compass Skyview Hotel by Compass Hospitality
Sukhumvit
Grande Centre Point Terminal 21
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sukhumvit
DoubleTree by Hilton Sukhumvit Bangkok
Sukhumvit
Arize Hotel Sukhumvit
Arize Hotel Sukhumvit
#304 of 885 in Bangkok
255 reviews
Sukhumvit
24 Inn Hotel
24 Inn Hotel
#409 of 885 in Bangkok
84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Emporium Suites by Chatrium? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Emporium Suites by Chatrium

Address: 622 Sukhumvit Soi 24 | Khlongton, Khlongtoei, Bangkok 10110, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Sukhumvit
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#187 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range: £96 - £136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Emporium Suites by Chatrium 4.5*
Number of rooms: 378
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Emporium Suites by Chatrium presents elegant luxury living and unparalleled convenience downtown in one of Bangkok’s most prestigious areas. Situated above Emporium Shopping Complex, it offers everything from designer shopping to easy access to the business district. Each guestroom provides exceptionally spacious comfort, with floor-to-ceiling windows, separated cooking stations and the high quality furnishings. Dining at The Emporia combines delicious international cuisine with stunning city views, whilst cocktails can be sipped by poolside at the Pool Bar. Stay fit in our modern Fitness Center, with both male and femalesteam and sauna rooms before getting down to business in one of our five meeting rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, LoveHolidays, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Emporium Suites by Chatrium reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Emporium Suites By Chatrium Hotel Bangkok
Emporium Hotel Bangkok
Bangkok Emporium Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing