We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I would not recommend this hotel to anyone”
Review of Silom City Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Silom City Hotel
Ranked #109 of 889 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 July 2013

BAD:
Terrible location. Taxi cabs had no idea where this hotel was, it's a hell of a long way from the nearest train station, and it's located in the middle of the busy market area.
Old room. The room we stayed in had a weird smell, the airconditioning couldn't be adjusted, and the TV outlet was busted.

GOOD:
They were nice enough to find and return my wife's wedding ring when she lost it.
They printed my tickets for me.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jason A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (771)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

361 - 367 of 771 reviews

Reviewed 21 July 2013

I was perfectly happy with my stay here. The rooms are adequately furnished, as long as you're not expecting 5 star facilities. Definitely value for money therefore, although I would have appreciated the hairs being cleaned from the bath prior to my arrival. Internet connection (free) was a bit intermittent.
The equipment in the fitness suite groaned somewhat under the strain of my 30 minute workout but lasted (just).
Breakfast was well-cooked and tasty, if somewhat limited by 5 star standards. Again, I wasn't expecting otherwise.
Staff were super friendly and helpful.
Situated quirkily in the middle of the soi just past a wet market. I didn't mind that at all.
I would stay here again if I wanted somewhere cheap and cheerful.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PhilipR1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2013

This hotel is perfect if you looking for a real thai experience!
we go there every year! the staff is really helpful and very nice! you really feel like home away from home =)
i also love the morning market just accross the street, its so nice to get to experience the local life! i recommend this hotel if you are looking for a friendly and well located hotel!
the food at the hotel is also very good, try the seafood fry rice noodle they are amazing!!! we going back there in November and i can't wait to eat them again! again! and again!!!
we miss that place so much! can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank karinaNdavong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2013

Travelled on 7 July to this wonderful hotel located at Silom with my girlfriend. Expected a very normal deluxe room plus Average service but we were so damn wrong. Welcome drinks were served immediately upon check in, fresh Guava Juice (great thirst quencher esp in such a hot country). Staff was so friendly and it felt like home even though we are in a foreign country, giving us loads of tourist info and recommendations on food to entertainment. Room was spacious and clean. Housekeeping staffs didn't even took the tips we left for them daily. Breakfast was great with sufficient variety mostly for the westerners and dining there simply different from other hotel experience. Bellman was also very efficient and friendly. Only bad point will probably be the lack of proper and functional gym equipments in the fitness room. Overall, I had to say this whole trip has been one of my most pleasant experience because of this hotel. Thank you Silom City Hotel!!

Room Tip: Deluxe room! definitely worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ern1314
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2013 via mobile

My guy & me stayed here for 4 days & we loved it!!
We booked delux room through agoda with smooth check in. The room was big with very comfy bed & everything else in place, except for the air con which had water dripping off, when the staff was informed about it they immediately upgraded the room to delux balcony & we thoroughly enjoyed our stay in that room. Their buffet breakfast is really nice with different menu each day. Food ordered from their resturant is good & their room service is quick. Though I would request them to extend their restuarant timings, as the last order is taken at 9:30 pm & no food served after that & finally during check out on a notice of 5 minutes a cab was arranged for us to go to DMK airport.

Pros : Extremly courteous & helpful staff, prompt Sevices, English spoken very fluently by the staff & good food for reasonable rates.

Cons : No pool & the location is little interior but easily reachable.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Debashri B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2013

This is my 3rd time staying here and quite literally I feel like it is my Home in Bangkok. I was here ~2 years ago and I came back again this year for a longer stay: for the friendliness of the staff, clean and efficiently serviced rooms, a hearty morning breakfast with eggs the way you like it, a restaurant serving simple yet delicious meals, a fast and free internet service, a cozy/warm atmosphere with none of that glittery cold BIG HOTEL grandeur, a very affordable price and LASTLY - a lively local surrounding; just a few steps down you will hear Hindu Worship Ragas blaring out of a cigarette shop which would want to make you get on your knees right there and pray to Shiva - very, very spiritual.

Room Tip: I liked the 4th floor the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jhorell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2013

I had a very pleasant and comfortable stay at Silom City Hotel. The staffs are very friendly. The buffet breakfast was great. Cleanliness is maintained. The rooms are clean and are really big. Recommended for travelers who are on a budget. Conveniently located near the Surasak and Chong Nansi BTS stations. There’s a wet market nearby, a weekend flee market, and access to a variety of street food! I will definitely stay here again on my next trip to Bangkok.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank guenski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Sukhumvit
Smart Suites
Smart Suites
#87 of 889 in Bangkok
941 reviews
Klassique Sukhumvit Bangkok
#139 of 889 in Bangkok
762 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bangkok Loft Inn
#58 of 889 in Bangkok
1,526 reviews
Silom
Red Planet Bangkok Surawong
Red Planet Bangkok Surawong
#144 of 889 in Bangkok
581 reviews
Banglamphu
Tara Place
Tara Place
#56 of 889 in Bangkok
1,455 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silom City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silom City Hotel

Address: 72 Soi Prachum , Silom Road | Suriyawongse, Bangrak, Bangkok 10500, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Silom
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#22 Best Value Hotel in Bangkok
#120 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#145 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range: £24 - £48 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Silom City Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Silom City Inn, a business hotel, is conveniently located in the business and centre of Bangkok, near shopping centres, world famous nightlife and entertainment establishments, Bangkok railway terminal, Lumpini park, the Chao Phraya river and the expressway to airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Silom City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silom City Bangkok
Hotel Silom City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing