We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not quite the 'luxury' hotel it advertises itself to be...”
Review of Royal Benja Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Royal Benja Hotel
Ranked #385 of 880 Hotels in Bangkok
Reviewed 1 February 2014

I stayed at the Royal Benja recently in room 2408 for a few nights as a friend was staying there also.

Pros:
- huge room
- very clean
- 5min walk from Nana BTS station
- comfy bed
- great shower
- close to restaurants, a Foodland supermarket, 7-Eleven etc.

Cons:
- booked a double bed, got a twin room
- internet mostly slow and unreliable @ 100 baht/hr or 300 baht/day
- breakfast nothing special
- 'mini-bar' was an empty fridge
- no real amenities in the room, got a pad/pencil, a few bathroom things and that was it... no robes, no iron, no info in the room about local area etc
- kettle provided but no cups (two glasses...), coffee sachets or teabags... (even the dodgiest guesthouses/hostels i've stayed at give you a lousy teabag or two!!!)
- room service very poor options for vegetarians/vegans, nothing special in general
- near a red-light area so not especially pleasant at night
- extremely unfriendly and rude woman behind the desk when i checked out. Just barked '25 baht' at me for a room to room phone call. No 'thanks for coming, hope you enjoyed your stay' etc. Didn't even make eye contact and behaved as though I was annoying her or interrupting her day. Very poor customer service, door guys were ok.

I suspect perhaps the hotel is cutting corners because of fewer tourists currently visiting the city etc. This has the potential to be a fantastic hotel, but it is certainly not 'luxury'. I won't stay here again unless desperate.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PlasticGenie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (398)
There are newer reviews for Royal Benja Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

72 - 78 of 398 reviews

Reviewed 18 January 2014

The hotel is well located and has huge rooms . The staff is friendly and cooperative . The station is 5min walking from the hotel. the breakfast is good and many varieties included for vegetarian people. Entrance towards hotel narrow and bit crowded but over all it's a nice hotel .above all value for money

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sheth72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2014

Stayed in this hotel for 3 nights.as the time was limited we were sightseeing and shopping throughout the day and came here only to sleep.
Pros
1.located in a side street among the shopping streets of Bangkok
2.friendly staffs
3.rooms if not spectacular were neat and tidy
4.for a 3 star hotel the pool and games room were good
Cons
1. Hotel is definitely becoming old and needs renovation
2.international buffet breakfast was served but we were vegetarians so had only toasted bread to eat
Overall the hotel was ok.nothing exceptionally good or bad

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Arunaprakash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2013

We stayed at this hotel for 4 nights. The room was big and clean with a good view, the staff were friendly although alot of them couldnt speak English. The restaurant/bar was well priced and the hotel was in a great location - just down a side road so away from the hussle and bussle but literally a 2 minute walk you have shops and restaurants and a 5 minute walk you are at the train station (sky walk).

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kylie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2013

My first opinion when i entered this hotel was "The hotel is huge and old,the staff is not friendly!!".But when i entered my room, i found that it was clean, comfortable and spacious as described. We had International Buffet breakfast in the morning which was good. This hotel is situated in the inner lane of the Sukumvit road though far from the airport. Its close to nightlife and shopping area but far from other major tourist attractions.The hotel offers traditional Thai massage for almost 3 times as much as it costs from the masseurs and masseuses who lay out carpets and pillows on the pavements 2 minutes away from the hotel.The hotel also offers a taxi service to the International airport for much higher than the regular price. If you want to visit any attraction or area nearby do not take taxi from or just outside the hotel. Walk 2 min, come to the main road, here you can find transportation at much reasonable rates.

Room Tip: It does not matter if you take room on higher floor as the view outside is not that great!!
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dreamdays1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2013

wife and i was on tour from china with a group and our first night in Bangkok we stayed here.. I would rate this place very good and clean.. we ate breakfast the next morning buffet stye and it was international as it also had western food. this was a welcome sight for me as you only get this in international hotels. the food was very good and service all around was good.

Room Tip: great hotel
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank spottedhawk90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2013

Rooms are BIG. Breakfast is Very good. Staff is ready to help always.

The hotel is running in old style but is in a location if u want to live near NANA.

value for money!

Requires maintenance. But still very busy hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank farazsaadi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Silom
Bangkok Centre Hotel
Bangkok Centre Hotel
#589 of 880 in Bangkok
676 reviews
Silom
Narai Hotel
Narai Hotel
#207 of 880 in Bangkok
1,403 reviews
The Twin Towers Hotel
#497 of 880 in Bangkok
683 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sukhumvit
The Manhattan Sukhumvit Bangkok
Sukhumvit
Zenith Sukhumvit Hotel Bangkok
Sukhumvit
BelAire Bangkok
BelAire Bangkok
#158 of 880 in Bangkok
1,711 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Benja Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Benja Hotel

Address: 39 Sukhumvit Road Soi 5 Wattana, Bangkok 10110, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Sukhumvit
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#227 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range: £39 - £65 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Royal Benja Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 400
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ctrip TA, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Royal Benja Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Benja Bangkok
Hotel Royal Benja

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing