We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food are great”
Review of Royal Benja Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Royal Benja Hotel
Ranked #421 of 890 Hotels in Bangkok
Reviewed 9 March 2014

I spent times with Royal Benja for a week. The hotel is located in down town Bangkok (must known as soi Sukumwit 5) First that's I loved Big room its because quite old hotel and clean with separately shower and bath tub. And Everyday morning maid will clean and change bed sheet(good huh?) and the last thing I loved is food.there are many tropical fruits such as papaya,pineapples,rose apple,watermelon and etc.....

Room Tip: The highest floor should be great for scenic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TyraAha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (401)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

67 - 73 of 401 reviews

Reviewed 26 February 2014

A middle of the road hotel with a strong eastern feeling. Location full of atmosphere in side street but near to street markets and sky train. Views from upper rooms superb over the city. Stayed there over 12 times now and come backagain and again as an old friend

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stephanie s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2014

I stayed here in Dec'09 with my family. This hotel is in the middle of where the action is in bangkok. The tube station is right across the street from this hotel. The food here was good and we enjoyed our breakfast here. The room was large with a reasonable view of outside world. There was absolute pindrop silence in the corridors even though it always chaotic outside in bangkok. It sometimes did seem a bit haunted not due to any noises but due to complete lack of them.

The hotel reception was well decorated intime for christmas. There was no security locker in the room but they had some near the reception where we kept our passports and some money safe. The room had a tv with sports channel where I watched an el-classico football match. There was a kettle and a refrigerator as well.

The staff was courteous and always ready for help. I would love to go back and stay here for a few days.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sbharti123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2014 via mobile

Nice hotel with swimming pool. Clean rooms. Well maintained. Helpful staff.And beautiful view of city. Nearest to metro station and so to shopping areas. Beakfast was also good. The only problem with the hotel is no window opens.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Isha J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2014

In terms of location, this place is just unbeatable! Just walk out of the hotel, and you have plenty of options for shopping and trying out the famous bangkok street food. Whats more, the sky train station is a 5 min walk from here.
It indeed is an old property. Rooms are very spacious and decent. The buffet breakfast was good, not great though!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mayur0783
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2014

I stayed at the Royal Benja recently in room 2408 for a few nights as a friend was staying there also.

Pros:
- huge room
- very clean
- 5min walk from Nana BTS station
- comfy bed
- great shower
- close to restaurants, a Foodland supermarket, 7-Eleven etc.

Cons:
- booked a double bed, got a twin room
- internet mostly slow and unreliable @ 100 baht/hr or 300 baht/day
- breakfast nothing special
- 'mini-bar' was an empty fridge
- no real amenities in the room, got a pad/pencil, a few bathroom things and that was it... no robes, no iron, no info in the room about local area etc
- kettle provided but no cups (two glasses...), coffee sachets or teabags... (even the dodgiest guesthouses/hostels i've stayed at give you a lousy teabag or two!!!)
- room service very poor options for vegetarians/vegans, nothing special in general
- near a red-light area so not especially pleasant at night
- extremely unfriendly and rude woman behind the desk when i checked out. Just barked '25 baht' at me for a room to room phone call. No 'thanks for coming, hope you enjoyed your stay' etc. Didn't even make eye contact and behaved as though I was annoying her or interrupting her day. Very poor customer service, door guys were ok.

I suspect perhaps the hotel is cutting corners because of fewer tourists currently visiting the city etc. This has the potential to be a fantastic hotel, but it is certainly not 'luxury'. I won't stay here again unless desperate.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PlasticGenie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2014

The hotel is well located and has huge rooms . The staff is friendly and cooperative . The station is 5min walking from the hotel. the breakfast is good and many varieties included for vegetarian people. Entrance towards hotel narrow and bit crowded but over all it's a nice hotel .above all value for money

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sheth72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Sukhumvit
Hotel Windsor Suites and Convention
Sukhumvit
BelAire Bangkok
BelAire Bangkok
#158 of 890 in Bangkok
1,746 reviews
Sukhumvit
Zenith Sukhumvit Hotel Bangkok
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sukhumvit
The Manhattan Sukhumvit Bangkok
Sukhumvit
Royal President
Royal President
#395 of 890 in Bangkok
951 reviews
Sukhumvit
Aspen Suites Sukhumvit 2 by Compass Hospitality
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Benja Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Benja Hotel

Address: 39 Sukhumvit Road Soi 5 Wattana, Bangkok 10110, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Sukhumvit
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#236 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range: £42 - £65 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Royal Benja Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 400
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, LoveHolidays, Ctrip TA, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Royal Benja Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Benja Bangkok
Hotel Royal Benja

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing