We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location for the for the palace and temples.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Royal Rattankosin Hotel
Ranked #722 of 885 Hotels in Bangkok
Reviewed 23 February 2013

The hotel looks OK from the outside but very tired on the inside. Bathroom was very old with grout falling out of the tiles. The water ran hot and cold. The bedroom wasn't the most comfortable but at least i managed to sleep

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
3  Thank ggabout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (368)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

103 - 109 of 368 reviews

Reviewed 17 February 2013

We used this hotel as the start and finish point for a recent group tour to Laos and it served its purpose. It is clearly past its best, looking rather tired and in need of significant investment but it was generally clean and comfortable, with a reasonably good breakfast included in the room rate. It is well located for many of the major Bangkok sights but I wouldn't want to stay there for too long! The rooms on the front of the hotel can be rather noisy as Bangkok traffic runs 24/7 and the poorly fitting balcony doors do little to keep the noise out.

Room Tip: Rooms on the front of the hotel suffer traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NorthLondonDaveR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2013

When my boyfriend and I went to Bangkok for the first time in 1998, we stayed at this hotel. Every time we return, we have to stay here. Maybe it's more nostalgia for him and I, but I love this place. Oriental hotel, it is not. It's nice and clean, a good price, food is fine. You are only a few blocks from major things, I love it there. The air conditioning is great. All I need. The people pretty much sucks, but it is good for a dip after a long day walking around.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank scarnella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2013

This 'royal' hotel is not so royal. I was a backpacker when I stayed there so as you can guess, I wasn't looking for a lovely place to stay.
I can deal with old furniture and decor but the least I could have asked for was some friendly receptionists. Every single time I spoke to them they were rude and unhelpful.
Then there's the issue of the leaking toilet and basin. After going to the lobby and speaking to the reception staff 4 times their response was "fine, change rooms then" as we had a new room key thrown across the counter to us. The second room we went had water leaking under the tiles and I am no snob, I can deal with some water on the floor but we were swimming!
Best tip...stay somewhere else. Close by because the location was A+++ but that was about as good as it got.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Meganashleigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2013

The positive thing about this hotel is that it is close to different must's for tourist.
It is an old builing and it must have been 30 years since they last did something else than cleaning. Yes, it's clean, but very old. The swimming pool fourniture is broke, the room is big but dark and basic. There is almost no light, neither in the bathroom nor in the room, how can one make up ? An old used matrass, a dirty window over one of the most busiest taffic roundabouts in Bangkok. It's extremely noisy. The homeless are installed around this hotel. The room where the breakfast buffet is installed remembers that this hotel must have been royal 40 years ago.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eerie99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2013

Have stayed here for years on our trips - it is old and tired and a bit musty but there is something about it that I love. A busy 24 hour hotel - taxi service and a good buffet breakfast. Excelelnt roadside restaurant Sky High - just round the corner.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Reb_N_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2012

It probably used to be royal 20 years ago - now more or less falling apart. It's a shame because the location is really fantastic. The dining room is really ugly, although the food is good. The rooms are old, just like the furniture inside. The bathroom in our room on the first floor was large, so at least there was something to enjoy...

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sploeppie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bangkok
Taris Art Hotel Phrae
#5 of 10 in Phrae
2 reviews
Banglamphu
Boonsiri Place
Boonsiri Place
#398 of 885 in Bangkok
345 reviews
Banglamphu
D&D INN
D&D INN
#588 of 885 in Bangkok
1,628 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Banglamphu
Rikka Inn
Rikka Inn
#356 of 885 in Bangkok
1,313 reviews
Chinatown / Yaowarat
Hotel Royal Bangkok at Chinatown
Banglamphu
Buddy Lodge Hotel
Buddy Lodge Hotel
#180 of 885 in Bangkok
1,318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Rattankosin Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Rattankosin Hotel

Address: 2 Ratchadamnoen Klang, Bangkok 10200, Thailand (Formerly Royal Hotel Bangkok)
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Banglamphu
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#270 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range: £21 - £56 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Royal Rattankosin Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 300
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Booking.com, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Expedia, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Royal Rattankosin Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bangkok Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing