We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average hotel in good location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Royal Hotel Bangkok
Ranked #706 of 851 Hotels in Bangkok
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
150 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Average hotel in good location”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2014

We stayed at the Royal Hotel for 3 nights when first arriving in Bangkok from the UK. Very convenient for Khosan Road and night food stalls. Makes a good base for central main attractions. Rooms basic and clean although décor is dated and in need of refurbishing. Staff helpful. Breakfast included and very good - lots of choice, both Western & Thai. Rooms at back very quiet. A good hotel for the price.

Room Tip: Asf for a room at the back overlooking the swimming pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Poppyslane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

356 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    8
    109
    125
    63
    51
See reviews for
43
126
44
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Jeddah, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
1,021 reviews
107 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2,434 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2014

This is a late review. I booked a twin room for five nights at the Royal Bangkok Hotel during my trip to Bangkok with my niece. The online rate was ridiculous low and considering the hotel's central location I did not hesitate to here. The twin room was OK though they can still improve on the lighting to give it a more lively atmosphere. The buffet breakfast was very good with lots of delicious food. Just like us you will surely leave the dining area with a heavy tummy and fully satisfied.

At the ground floor the hotel has a foreign exchange counter and a tour desk. We booked the day tour to the Floating Market, Samutprakarn Crocodile Farm and Zoo, and a wood carving shop. The following day we rented a car with driver for the full day trip to Ayutthaya. We spent more time at the hotel at the end of our City Tour since some major attractions can be reached by foot from the Royal Hotel Bangkok, and the rest by a short tuktuk ride. There is also an outdoor swimming pool at the hotel where you can refresh at the end of the day.

Notwithstanding the mixed reviews my experience at the Royal Hotel Bangkok was pleasant and I will consider staying here again on my future trips to Bangkok.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the outdoor pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pinoytraveller2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arizona, USA
Level Contributor
309 reviews
209 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 241 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2014

I stayed at this hotel one night on my own and one night after I joined a tour. I’d stayed here three times previously. The hotel shows it’s age, but the room I had was spacious and clean. The bed was a little hard for my liking. There was a desk, a wardrobe and large bathroom with a shower/bathtub combination. Lighting was good and the air conditioning strong. It’s convenient to the Grand Palace, National Museum and other sights. Wifi is available in the lobby for a charge of 150 THB for 2 hours (didn’t use it). Didn’t use the TV. Breakfast was very good with a combination of Thai and western food. As before, a decent place to stay at a decent price.
If you’re coming from the airport you can take the City Line train to the Phaya Thai station and take a taxi from there. Take the elevator to the ground floor and walk out to the street. There are usually taxis waiting; if not, one will be along in a few minutes. Make sure the driver knows where the hotel is and make sure he uses the meter.

Room Tip: Rooms on the street side are noisy. Ask for a room away from the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jspace63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
362 reviews
116 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2014

I was here to meet a tour group. The people at the front desk were not that helpful. Internet is VERY expensive. I heard they tack on a huge fee if they call you a taxi. The room was fine, nothing fancy. Breakfast was very good. I suppose if you are just in Bangkok of a day or so and want to see the sites in this area, which are great, then this might be better than some of the other places on Khao San.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HnLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2014

Room not really nice. If we compare prices with other places, it's expensive. Really nice with included breakfast. Place in the middle of historic area in Bangkok, really good, quiet but close to popular places


  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Julien R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandbach, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2013

We didn't have a choice on where to stay as we went to Thailand on a tour. If you do have the choice on where to stay in Bangkok stay well away from this place.

Yes the location is brilliant, which makes it even more shocking why the place is so awful.

Simply put the entire building is dirty, we had two rooms both were disgusting and filthy, the second stank of sewers!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Fletch_Katie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bangkok hotels

Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2013 via mobile

We stayed in Bangkok for 3 nights and booked a package with transfer, tours, ... which included this hotel.

The staff was nice and friendly. The breakfast was good, not many things to choose for "western style" but what the offered was good (toast, fried egg and ham).

The location is really good, close to Khao San road (5 min walk) but still quiet.

Rooms were clean but little old with some damage on the walls . Air Con worked very well - but no wifi.

Pool is nice to relax after hours of sightseeing but quite small.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1989-niki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Banglamphu
Boonsiri Place
Boonsiri Place
#355 of 851 in Bangkok
3.5 of 5 bubbles 337 reviews
Banglamphu
Rikka Inn
Rikka Inn
#342 of 851 in Bangkok
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,270 reviews
Chinatown / Yaowarat
Hotel Royal Bangkok at Chinatown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Banglamphu
Dang Derm in The Parc
Dang Derm in The Parc
#599 of 851 in Bangkok
3.5 of 5 bubbles 9 reviews
Banglamphu
Buddy Lodge Hotel
Buddy Lodge Hotel
#188 of 851 in Bangkok
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,233 reviews
Banglamphu
Dang Derm Hotel
Dang Derm Hotel
#357 of 851 in Bangkok
3.5 of 5 bubbles 998 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Hotel Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Hotel Bangkok

Property: Royal Hotel Bangkok
Address: 2 Ratchadamnoen Klang, Bangkok 10200, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Banglamphu
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #706 of 851 Hotels in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Hotel Bangkok 3*
Number of rooms: 300
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Agoda, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Royal Hotel Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bangkok Royal Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing