We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from home”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Somerset Park Suanplu
Ranked #134 of 861 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Home away from home”
Reviewed 13 March 2014

This is my "go-to" lodging in Bangkok. While it's not the best value for money, the friendly and accommodating staff more than make up for the flaws. It's one of the best places for business travelers visiting Bangkok. They've upgraded to a new Internet provider (DoCoMo), and that has made a BIG difference ... breakfast is simple but adequate ... the pool is nice ... but what does it for me is the friendliness and attentiveness of the staff ... they always make me feel welcome and like I'm returning HOME ... good news for a weary business traveler in search of a place to call home between assignments.

The location is PERFECT. It's close to Bangkok's financial/business and diplomatic districts (Embassies of Australia, France are within walking distance, and the US, UK Vietnamese, Pakistan Embassies are all within a short train - BTS - ride). There are now several decent restaurants within a short walk ... and loads more within a 15 minute walk on/around/Silom ... the main business district. The hotel has a shuttle to one of the nearest BTS stations (Saladang), and is within walking distance to another (ChongNonsi).

The street in which it's located provides foreigners with a taste of typical Bangkokian life ... with a local market just down the street, and delightful residential neighborhoods one can explore by foot. It's also very close to a few Big Box stores and department stores and Western-style supermarkets in case you need to do some shopping ... and the shuttle drop-off point is Silom Complex ... where you can find loads of stores, restaurants, coffee shops, etc.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor with a view of Sathorn.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TonySh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valter N, Area Manager at Somerset Park Suanplu, responded to this review, 17 March 2014
Dear Tony Sh,

We were delighted to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us once again and happy to call us your second home when travelling to Thailand.

At the same time, we are happy to have met your expectations in service and quality standards. Receiving such positive feedback from our guests motivates us to further improve our commitment to delivering good service.

Once again, thank you for your valued patronage. From all of us at Somerset Park Suanplu, we look forward to welcoming you back again very soon.

Yours Sincerely,
Valter Narminio| Area Manager
Somerset Park Suanplu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

697 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    282
    329
    60
    16
    10
See reviews for
164
112
100
84
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2014

We have been staying at Somerset properties across Asia for the last 5 years and always enjoyed them but Somerset SuanPlu was a different story where we stayed for 2 months.
The Cons:
- The 3 bed Apartment was old with dirty sofas, curtains and furnishings. Complained about it and was shown another apartment to choose furniture from which was equally dirty! Finally had the hotel staff steam wash everything.
- The cleaning team did a shoddy job with dust being everywhere and using smelly rags to clean.
- twice our freshly changed sheets had blood marks and tears!
- pillow stuffing were coming out.
- the bathroom had mould and the shower curtains were dirty and old which I again made the hotel staff clean under my supervision!
- the freezer had black mould and stank
- Dryer was not working but subsequently changed
- the area manager gave a date and time to meet him regarding the problems but he never showed up nor rescheduled but only apologized AFTER I sent him an email regarding his no show!

Pros:
- the doormen were super nice and helpful and went the extra mile to make up for the lack of hospitality elsewhere and was the only good thing at the hotel
- inexpensive but tasty room service
- got a flower bouquet as I had a baby while staying there

Overall very disappointed with this property and their cleanliness and hygiene.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BeeZ81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valter N, Area Manager at Somerset Park Suanplu, responded to this review, 19 March 2014
Dear BeeZ81,
Thank you very much for taking your time to share your feedback through Trip Advisor. We also appreciate that you had given us another opportunity to address your concerns since my emails to you whist staying with us.
Whilst we did communicate by email after your initial feedback, I had received an email from you claiming that all issues were 'resolved' . However, again I do apolgise that we did not connect at the appointed meeting time due to me being caught in a traffic jam returning from another meeting due to the political protest on going at that time.
Unfortunately, there is no way of recreating the past with some lapses by our Housekeeping team. However, I can assure you that we value your feedback and your feedback has been utilised to improve our service and communication. Once again, please accept our apologies for these shortcomings.
Yours Sincerely,
Valter Narminio| Area Manager
Somerset Park Suanplu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2014

My husband and I stayed here twice, the first time for 4 nights then on our return trip for 3 nights. The first trip we had a very large comfortable room, the furniture was a little tired and the bed very hard. The rooms were well laid out with a very big balcony. We were supplied with bathroom toiletries and tea/coffee/milk. The second time we stayed here, we were in a newly refurbished room, a different floor plan and a lovely comfortable bed. The balcony was smaller, but the floor plan was much better. No toiletries in the bathroom this time. The hotel is in a good location, banks close by and nice restaurants, the breakfast was ample and included an egg station. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The pool was very nice and the gym was also good. This hotel has a lot of expats staying there as it is close to Embassies.

Room Tip: Ask for a refurbished room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelbugsPerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valter N, Area Manager at Somerset Park Suanplu, responded to this review, 4 March 2014
Dear TravelbugsPerth,

Thank you for your compliments about our serviced residence during your recent stay.

We are happy to hear that you have enjoyed our facilities and service.

We hope you will stay with us again and we look forward to welcoming you back..

Yours Sincerely,
Valter Narminio| Area Manager
Somerset Park Suanplu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
Level 2 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 February 2014

Very comfortable and well-located hotel with big nice rooms. Was sating there more then 10 times, my favourite place in Bangkok. Good for solo travellers and families, especially large 2 or 3-bedroom suites.

Room Tip: Nice view from the south-side rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AlexanderTsioka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valter N, Area Manager at Somerset Park Suanplu, responded to this review, 3 March 2014
Dear AlexanderTsioka,

Thank you for taking the time to write this review and we are always happy to see you back at Somerset Park Suanplu. It is great to have you stay with us everytime you visit Thailand.

We appreciate your review and the compliments about our service and facilities. We hope to welcome you again soon.

Yours Sincerely,
Valter Narminio| Area Manager
Somerset Park Suanplu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lausanne, Switzerland
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2014

The hotel is perfectly situated on Sathorn road, close to the business district of Silom where you can reach by either 15-20 minute walk if you are sportive, or by a Tuk-tuk provided by the hotel which will bring you right at the Saladaeng BTS station. Despite the fact that the hotel is next to one of the busiest roads in Bangkok, the environment of the hotel is very calm and relaxing. You cannot hear any noise from the traffic down the road once you’re in the room. So if you are a noise sensitive person for sleeping like me, this hotel is absolutely your choice.

Close to the hotel, there are plenty of small local shops and restaurants (walk down the street on the left side when you exit the hotel). Personally I prefer to walk a bit further to Silom area where you can find plenty more of restaurants and shops. There you have from the small noodle stands on the street to the proper restaurants in the air-conditioned room.

The swimming pool is covered, but there are spaces next to it where you can lay down to get some sun tan. The gym is well equipped with all the basic materials that you would need after gaining some calories from Thai cuisine (I am a gym rat myself and I am quite happy with the materials they provide) . There are also equipment for table tennis and tennis which I believe you can borrow, but I did not have a chance to use it this time.

The breakfast is good with variety of choices, from Western style to Thai style breakfast. The staffs are friendly and super helpful. They even offered me to take shower in a room before I left for the airport since the swimming pool was already close.

Overall, I am absolutely happy with this hotel and would recommend it to everyone. I have been staying here for few years already and every time I arrive, I feel like home. By the way, the building is getting old and some rooms might start to have a sign of fatigue. But if you do not feel comfortable, ask the reception and they will surely find a solution for you.

Room Tip: The rooms we stayed were 804 and 708. I have to say that I prefer the room 804 as it has more space...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Suradech S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valter N, General Manager at Somerset Park Suanplu, responded to this review, 3 March 2014
Dear Suradech S,

We were delighted to read your comprehensive review and learn that you enjoyed your stay with us once again. Thank you for your continued patronage.

At the same time, we are happy to have met your expectations in service and quality standards on every stay. Receiving such positive feedback from you motivates us to further improve our commitment to delivering good service.

Once again, thank you for your valued patronage. From all of us at Somerset Park Suanplu, we look forward to welcoming you back again.

Yours Sincerely,
Valter Narminio| Area Manager
Somerset Park Suanplu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buderim
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2014

Very comfortable hotel with in the Sathorn district. We stayed for two nights on our way through with our grandkids and were well pleased with the place. Two good bedrooms, one double, one twin both ensuite. Large living area with a handy kitchenette. Good laundry and tumble drier which as a big plus with the little ones. Staff very helpful and friendly and great with the kids.
Managed to find some eating places within a 100 baht cab ride and the Buffet Breakfast in house is very good.
It is an older hotel/apartment building so slightly faded but immaculately clean. Very good value.

Room Tip: East or west side for Sunrise/Sunset over the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HamishUrquhart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valter N, General Manager at Somerset Park Suanplu, responded to this review, 19 February 2014
Dear HamishUrquhart,

We were delighted to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for taking the time to write this review.

At the same time, we are happy to have met your expectations in service and quality standards. Receiving such positive feedback from our guests motivates us to further improve our commitment to delivering good service.

We appreciate your review and the compliments about our service and facilities.

We hope to welcome you again.

Yours Sincerely,
Valter Narminio| Area Manager
Somerset Park Suanplu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2014

I have stayed here now many times, and it is always a pleasure. The rooms are spacious & well-equipped, they're quiet, and the beds comfortable. It is true that the rooms, and the hotel generally, are starting to look a little tired. It's also true that the hotel is a little out of the way, but a complimentary tuk-tuk service during daylight hours removes most of the inconvenience. And there have been changes over the years I've been staying here. They seem to have secured a share of the market for accommodating medical tourists for example, and perhaps the changing clientele has led to the loss of little details in rooms, like pens & notepads. But I'm not complaining. I'll be back. Even if I'd rather not see & hear people comparing their breast enhancements over breakfast!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank haukyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valter N, General Manager at Somerset Park Suanplu, responded to this review, 16 February 2014
Dear haukyn,

Thank you for your compliments about our serviced residence during your recent stay and for your continued patronage. We are happy to hear that you have enjoyed our facilities and services once again.
We cater for many types of travellers including a growing market of medical tourism to Thailand.
We are happy to read you will stay with us again and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Yours Sincerely,
Valter Narminio| Area Manager
Somerset Park Suanplu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Sukhumvit
Somerset Lake Point Bangkok
Somerset Lake Point Bangkok
#128 of 861 in Bangkok
920 reviews
Sathorn
Ascott Sathorn Bangkok
Ascott Sathorn Bangkok
#107 of 861 in Bangkok
786 reviews
Silom
Siri Sathorn Executive Serviced Residence
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Silom
Bandara Suites Silom, Bangkok
Sathorn
Sathorn Vista, Bangkok - Marriott Executive Apartments
Sathorn
Oaks Bangkok Sathorn
Oaks Bangkok Sathorn
#216 of 861 in Bangkok
209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Somerset Park Suanplu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Somerset Park Suanplu

Property: Somerset Park Suanplu
Address: 39 Soi Suanplu, South Sathorn Road, Bangkok 10120, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Sathorn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#69 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
#121 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#166 Business Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Somerset Park Suanplu 3.5*
Number of rooms: 235
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
These modern and superbly appointed serviced residences are nestled in a private garden, just minutes from the business district of Silom and Sathorn Road. Ideal for corporate housing and interim accommodation, each residence is designed for the discerning individual with contemporary designs and modern technological conveniences. Within walking distance to many business, cultural and tourist destinations, there is also convenient access or easy walk to Lumpini subway station will get you around Bangkok efficiently. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Somerset Park Suanplu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Somerset Park Suanplu Bangkok
Somerset Park Suanplu Hotel Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing