We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Royal City Hotel
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
US$113
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$107
Sheraton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$74
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$68
Amari.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$363
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$153
LeMeridien.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$157
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$133
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$536
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$516
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$185
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$163
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$257
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$228
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$260
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$194
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$104
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$89
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$268
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$241
Okura Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (144)
Filter reviews
144 results
Traveller rating
10
52
59
12
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
10
52
59
12
11
See what travellers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
24 - 29 of 144 reviews
Reviewed 15 September 2012

My husband and myself stayed a night in this hotel. The room was clean, comfortable and there were airconditioning and hot water. Location was not in the town centre . Taxis are readily available, the problem is that most taxi drivers do not speak English.

We hailed a taxi from Khaosan Road and I showed the taxi driver the hotel card with its address and told him the name of the hotel. On the way, I noticed he was going a differerent direction from where we came from and I had to remind him the name of the hotel we were going to. He nodded to assure us he understood but he took us to the River City Hotel and stopped some distance from the hotel entrance. When we realised it was the wrong hotel, he had already sped off. The 1/2 hour ride (heavy traffic jam) costed us 90 baht .

We had to make our way back to Royal City Hotel by boat down the Chao Phraya and then the last 2 kilometre by another taxi. This time a police we met on the road, helped us gave direction to the taxi driver.

I was not disappointed with this hotel but the location and my inability to communicate with the taxi drivers left much to be desired.

For my husband and I, a hotel in Khaosan would have suited us better. This busy short road in the city centre is lined with hotels that cater to different needs. It is very convenient if you are travelling by coach to your next destination as they depart from Khaosan. There are many restaurants, shops and services available . If you like silver jewellery , there are wholesalers and retailers in Khaosan where you could get good bargains at wholesale prices.

For travellers like me who cannot speak Thai and need to visit the city centre, in Bangkok, the location of the Royal City Hotel may not be convenient for you. Otherwise the hotel is fine.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HazeHwee H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2012

A bit old, but still in a good shape, this hotel is clean and comfortable. The position is not really central, but close to the bus station with van going north of Bangkok. Air conditioning was working properly. Breakfast was good and with a selection of oriental and intercontinental food.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tink1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2012

Close to shopping and across road from convention centre. A short taxi ride to the river and city attractions. Quiet location with great rooms. Beds superb.Pools delightful. Some of the facitilties not quite as advertised e.g. pool bar yes but you need to phone for drinks.Had a problem opening elctronic safe but management were quick to respond and very obliging. Room maid stationed on floor and service excellent, nothing is too miuch trouble. Would stay again.

Room Tip: Request non smoking room
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2012

I recently stayed in a suite in this hotel.
I had booked for 2 nights but checked out after one night and even though I had to pay for half charges for 2nd day because I checked out at 5pm.
Hotel is very old, ill designed rooms, old furniture, very ordinary bathrooms and located at location that has virtually nothing around for food or moving around.
Restaurant is in shabby condition and quality of food and service is bad.

I had bought wifi internet from hotel and house keeping staff took away password coupen while cleaning the room. I informed the reception but hotel did not have courtsey to offer another password.
BKK has such lovely hotels within same cost range and this hotel is absolutely avoidable.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Surender-India
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2011

Stayed here in a standard room for a week. Conditions and the way the rooms were decorated clearly reflect their age - outdated. This hotel would be considered luxurious back in the last 15 years. Several significant wear and tear items found throughout the room. Beds were uncomfortably firm. Neither coffee/tea or electric kettle was provided. Limited choices of TV channels and on top of that most of the TV signals were bad. Cleanliness was just okay. We found some stains on bed linens though.

Service was disappointing. Don't know how they normally serve foreign guests but for us we were treated unimpressively especially staff at the reception - they never smile; their acts and sayings obviously indicate a lack of service training. However most of the housekeepers were exceptions - they were quite friendly and always smiled.

Location of the hotel is considered a bit out of the city. No skytrain or MRT around so unless you are adventurous enough to take one of the crazily driven buses the only way to get into the city is by cabs. Nearest attractions are the grand palace and a famous Khaosan Rd. which are around 10-15 mins away by taxi; 10 mins to the southern bus terminal where you can catch southbound coaches; 30-45 mins to inner shopping areas such as Siam Square and Pratunam. We didn't try their restaurants so cannot comment. A hugh shopping mall with heaps of choices for dining is just 2 bus stops away (Central Plaza Pinklao) - about 10-15 mins walk. You can perhaps do some serious shoppings there without a need to get through a traffic into the city centre.

All in all, if you are doing your first visit to Bangkok or you are going to travel by your own without provided hotel transfers I would recommend to stay in other areas that are more central and more convenient to explore the city. Only if you really have to stay in this area or you are somewhat a frequent visitor to Bangkok wanting to try something new, this hotel would be your best bet as I have heard that the other hotel nearby (SD Avenue Hotel) is even worse.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor rooms with odd numbers so you can have a good view of the bangkok skyline.
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sprarom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews