We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location,but need to upgrade”
Review of Silom Village Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Silom Village Inn
Ranked #427 of 752 Bangkok B&B and Inns
Reviewed 2 August 2012

4 nights stayed during July 27-31 with family.Location is excellent,easy to shop,eat,go.Space of rooms also fine.Unfortunately,my room 212 had some bad smell and found small insets on the table.Free wifi worked only on July 30 night time only,other day no working,my room's air con compressor was very old and noisy.back view of the room only wall like prison, outdoor units and dark corridor.Back of the room area needs more security and light.All staff look like boss,no smile and not seem as staff.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TUN1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (129)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

59 - 65 of 129 reviews

Reviewed 14 March 2012

I wish I could have left a positive review for the Silom Village Inn, because it does have a few things in its favor. Unfortunately, a major safety concern overrides all the positive things about the hotel. The hotel management actually locks the stairwell access for above ground floors, so that guests cannot use the stairs between the hours of 7:00PM and 7:00AM. This leaves the one very slow and small elevator as the only means of escape, should there be a fire in the hotel. The building is designed in such a way that climbing down the exterior is not an option.

When I expressed concern to the staff about the dangerous situation with the locked stairways, I was told that the owner wanted it this way because there had been a problem in the past where guests had slipped out of the hotel without paying. So the rest of the guests, whether they realize it or not, may pay the ultimate price with their lives because escape from the upper floors of the building is next to impossible in the event of a fire. Note that there have been very recent fires in other hotels in Bangkok in just the past few weeks where guests have been injured or killed, and the desk staff at Silom Village Inn is well aware of those tragedies.

To address this problem, the hotel ownership needs to unlock the stairwells all the time. If there is a concern with guests slipping out without paying, the stairwells should be redesigned to take care of that, but not in such a way as to limit getting out of the building in an emergency. Fire escape instructions also need to be posted in each room, as there were none to be found in our room.

If the above can be fixed, I think this hotel is OK. The standard rooms are relatively big, although the bathrooms are on the small side. The location on Silom Road is good with access to buses and taxis for transport. Breakfast is not included with the room rate, but there are many places nearby to eat.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank erawan25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2012

In the heart of Silom,there is Silom Village, this nice place has great rooms, I choose the one on the deluxe side as I saw they where better, would recommend any stay here. Great prices, free internet, me and my wife enjoyed our last 2 days in Bangkok here..
Only the aircon could be a bit updated, it has no remote control and it can get cold fast!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jjmhen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2012

We stayed a total of 15 nights on 4 occasions using Bangkok as our 'base' touring Thailand and Burma. While we found Silom Village while staying at a hostel further up Silom, Soi 6, and moved there because it was cheaper than the cost for 2 people there. The property and rooms are suitable except that the a/c units are noisy and we had to run them all night because of the heat. Some rooms are tiled while others still have carpet, yuck. We found the staff to be helpful and friendly. They tried on every arrival to charge us more than the agreed rate? We started at B999 and ended up as high as B1499. We did take an upgraded room and settled for B1299. The coffee shop is WAY over priced, coffee was B82, but they do serve a great vegetable sandwich. You can also get a coupon at the front desk for a B150 American breakfast. The evening dance show is OK if you have reasonable expectations, it's a free show. The food is and can make for a fun evenning.

Room Tip: Laundry service is expensive, walk to Silom turn left, walk 2 - 3 blocks looking up each one and you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lacadien1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2012

i saw this hotel just passing bye,it offered doubles for 1150 baths.the room was very big and quiet.it looked on a corridor-terrace far enough from the main ,noisy street.the skytrain and the undergroung are 5 minutes away.for this price this is an excellent option in silom.the area around is well connected,the river is 10 minutes walk,patpong,i feel it is losing his glamour,is 10 minutes away.the myanmar embassy is round the corner

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ansasara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2012

Have stayed here for many years. Great staff, great location, great spot to meet friends.

Room Tip: Rooms that have big windows with a view other than a wall are hard to come by. It can be a bit dark...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ElephantWalk801
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2011

Good location in bangkok but the rooms stink of must and cigarettes the aircon didnt work very
well and we were extrmemly hot however theres a great massage and spa facility underneath and at the back of the arcade usually thai massages dont incur tonnes of value and skill but these ladys were very good at there jobs and gave a remmedial feel this was great because i was extremely sick

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank elle L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Silom
Silom Avenue Inn
Silom Avenue Inn
#747 of 894 in Bangkok
105 reviews
Silom
Silom City Hotel
Silom City Hotel
#118 of 894 in Bangkok
797 reviews
Silom
For You Residence
For You Residence
#466 of 894 in Bangkok
149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Silom
iCheck Inn Silom
iCheck Inn Silom
#251 of 894 in Bangkok
326 reviews
Silom
Trinity Silom Hotel
Trinity Silom Hotel
#206 of 894 in Bangkok
1,731 reviews
Silom
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
#23 of 894 in Bangkok
8,865 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silom Village Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silom Village Inn

Address: 286 Silom Road | Silom Village Trade Centre, Bangkok 10500, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Silom , Bang Rak
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #427 of 752 B&Bs / Inns in Bangkok
Price Range: £18 - £28 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Silom Village Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, Ebookers and HotelQuickly so you can book your Silom Village Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silom Village Hotel Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing