We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Adorable Little Place”
Review of Silom Village Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Silom Village Inn
Ranked #361 of 670 Bangkok B&B and Inns
Los Angeles, CA
Level 6 Contributor
63 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Adorable Little Place”
Reviewed 29 February 2008

I really love Silom Village. It's a self-contained microcosm of all the things I want when I visit Bangkok: good shopping, great food, cultural shows, massage and spa services and comfortable rooms.

Let's talk about food. They have a great seafood menu. Everything's fresh! At lunch, there's an open-air food court where each station prepares your food on the spot. They have stir-fried noodles, noodle soups, rice dishes, desserts and more. The food-prep areas are clean. And the value can't be beat -- even local business folks come here on their lunch breaks! In the evening the main restaurant offers live Thai music. And if you're tired of Thai food, they have Italian and options, too. There's a dinner show that includes a khantoke meal with Thai classical dance and music. And yes, you can still go elsewhere to find victuals because the location is central to everything.

The rooms are tidy and comfortable. The accomodations are not lavish, but they're great, especially for the value. It's about US$40 (1300 baht) per night. The a/c in my room was working *very* well. The bathroom was spotlessly clean, but small. I had to sleep on a roll-away bed, and the sheets were a bit disappointing, but I was still comfortable.

All around the hotel are shops that are operated by independent vendors. They sell all manner of knick-knacks, jewelry, clothes, silks, furnishings and so forth. They're pricey and charge tourist prices, but you can still bargain them down to a reasonable sum. If that still doesn't suit you, you can check out Suanlum Night Bazaar further down Silom. It's just a short tuk-tuk ride away. Pretty much everything is a short tuk-tuk ride away.

There's a spa and massage parlor onsite, too. But they make it *VERY* clear that it's "not that kind" of massage parlor. It's clean and totally legitimate. So don't even try to hit on the masseuse, or you will be canned. I got a traditional Thai massage. She pulled me like a piece of taffy, and I felt like a million (very limber) bucks afterward. I had a facial at the spa around the corner, and my skin was clear for weeks after that.

So yes, I will be returning to this place next time I go to Bangkok. I'd rather stay here than with my relatives.

  • Liked — Food was great, location is superb.
  • Stayed February 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GumdropGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    17
    45
    34
    14
    9
See reviews for
16
38
17
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
North East England, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2007

This hotel is good value for money at 1590 baht a night. There are two
parts to the hotel: an old and a new. We stay in the new part. I can not account for the older section.

The location is good, being a short walk, taxi ride or Sky train to MBK shopping centre, Limpini Park, Siam shopping centre, Sukhumvit Road and the main drinking areas. The rooms are above average in my experience and very clean. The hotel is very quite and peaceful and far enough away from the road. The staff are friendly and the service generally good. The hotel is multi-layered and constructed from dark wood and surrounded by restaurants and Thai gift shops.

For a first timer this would be quite enchanting. Where as other Bangkok hotels can eventually be disappointing I have stay in this hotel many times and have not had a bad experience so far. For the uninitiated traveller in Thailand who want a good degree of comfort and pleasant surroundings with good access to areas of interest this will not disappoint. If you are an old hand around Thailand you will still appreciate this great hotel.

  • Stayed September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richb2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2007

Pros:
All you need for a comfortable stay in an excellent location at a great value. Staffs are super friendly. All types of shops and restaurants for all budgets and tests are less than 10 min walk. Many excellent shops and restaurant right at your door step, especially if you like seafood. Very clean, safe and secure.

Cons:
My AC was not cooling well. There are no views on any room. All are facing ugly walls and roofs.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — View
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Rad_Cyrus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, CA
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2007

I wasn't sure what to expect of this place. I'd been to Bangkok many, many times before, but had stayed only in places in Ko Ratanakosin/Banglamphu and along Sukhumvit. So I chose this place because the price was right, and I thought it would be interesting to stay in a neighborhood I hadn't stayed in before.

I was pleasantly surprised, if a little boggled. The inn is located in Silom Village, a gaudy tourist-trap clutch of open-air restaurants and souvenir shops in mid-Silom Road that features, among other things, classical Thai dance performances. It was only after I'd booked the room that I realized I'd visited Silom Village more than ten years ago, as an exchange student. The food and shows at SV are in fact quite nice, particularly if you're new to Thailand, but the food is overpriced and the overall atmosphere is rather corny. For the Inn guest, it means that there are many places to eat within stumbling distance of your hotel however, so it can be convenient if you don't want to go far.

I was amused to realize this, and then alarmed to read several quite negative Trip Advisor reviews. Thankfully, I had no complaints with the accomodation. Our room was good-sized, quiet, and clean, and the staff was extremely accommodating. Also, the property is slightly overrun with cats, which I personally enjoyed... but they don't really get in the buildings if you're not a cat person. Our windows opened on an opposite building's wall, so there wasn't much natural light and no view at all, but it wasn't a problem, since we were really just sleeping there.

My only complaints are that except for a very nice little night market in a soi (side road) adjacent to the hotel, next to a little mosque, there's not much to do in the immediate area of Silom Village -- that stretch of Silom is not particularly interesting unless you're shopping for jewelry or a suit. The Skytrain is an easy (but not effortless in the heat) walk away, though.

Also, go somewhere other than the Silom Village complex for breakfast, if you can-- when we went to one of the cafes one morning, the staff was inattentive, the food unremarkable, and the coffee virtually undrinkable. Nighttime food is significantly better, though.

  • Liked — Location, price
  • Disliked — Bad breakfast, limited natural light
  • Stayed January 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank telebikun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2006

Did not see many reviews on it before we booked but were plesantly surprised. We stayed here 3 nights in total. The rooms were clean and spacious, furnishing fine and the shower worked well (no pressure loss as sometimes you can find). The people (staff) all seemed accomodating and friendly. For a place to crash and base yourselves for a stay in Bangkok before venturing out we found it ideal, ok so it was not luxury but then again the price reflected that and that was not what we were after.

The markets near by, if you like your shopping, are worth a visit, patpong can be a little intense if you are not use to it (always remember to at least half the price of what ever the trader says first off and work from there). Or you can go to the night bazaar near Lumpien Park, so a slight more chilled back approach (again bargin hard!)

We also visited the snake farm, but if you go you must ask to see the show otherwise it can be a little boring.

Have fun!

  • Stayed March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank reggeaboyz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rancho Palos Verdes, California
Level 5 Contributor
27 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2004

A friendly and helpful staff, in-house travel agent (super competent), and a clean, spacious room for a very reasonable price. The guest house complex is charming at night. It's within a small shopping court with boutiques and restaurants adorned with hundreds of little lights after sunset. Convenient for walking to many sights, visiting local markets and hailing a tuk-tuk.

  • Stayed November 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
14 Thank globetreker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Silom
Silom Avenue Inn
Silom Avenue Inn
#749 of 867 in Bangkok
93 reviews
Silom
Sapphirtel Inn
Sapphirtel Inn
#767 of 867 in Bangkok
30 reviews
Silom
For You Residence
For You Residence
#398 of 867 in Bangkok
140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Silom
Silom City Hotel
Silom City Hotel
#109 of 867 in Bangkok
749 reviews
Silom
Narai Hotel
Narai Hotel
#205 of 867 in Bangkok
1,379 reviews
Silom
VPlace Silom
VPlace Silom
#330 of 670 in Bangkok
7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silom Village Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silom Village Inn

Property: Silom Village Inn
Address: 286 Silom Road | Silom Village Trade Centre, Bangkok 10500, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Silom , Bang Rak
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #361 of 670 B&Bs / Inns in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Silom Village Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Silom Village Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silom Village Hotel Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing