We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Can find better for the same price”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Silom Village Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Silom Village Inn
Ranked #348 of 614 Bangkok B&B and Inns
Mae Nam, Thailand
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Can find better for the same price”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2013

The rooms are quite big and clean. The housekeeping comes every day. The only bad point of the room is that you cannot open the windows, and since they are all smoking room, it doesn’t smell good inside. I suggest to the hotel to put some complimentary incense stick. Also ask for a room with a view, most of them are directly next to another building so no privacy and it’s very dark during the day. And don’t expect to have a good connection. It’s cut all the time and it’s very slow.
The front office staffs speak very bad English. It was very difficult to communicate with them. More of that they give very bad advice for activities (they sure have some commission to sale them …) and they always try to convince you to take a taxi who work from the hotel (twice the price than a normal taxi …).

And somethink shock in particular. On the night the straiwells are locked. So you can only access to your room by the elevator. When i asked to the staff what we can do in case of power cut or fire they say that someone will come to open the door of the stairwells ... For me this a big lack of security.

Room Tip: Ask for the standards rooms on the east side, quiet and better view (on the street) that the west si...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christ_jp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    17
    43
    33
    13
    9
See reviews for
15
36
16
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Level Contributor
87 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2013

For less than $US40 (Agoda) a night for a standard room the Silom Village Inn, on face value, represents a great deal. Especially being so central and set in very pleasant surroundings with a number of boutique (read expensive) shops and restaurants in what I would describe as a village square type set up. There are also Thai cultural shows available in the evenings at the rear of the complex. The staff were friendly and helpful and it was a good base to stay to get around Bangkok. The room itself was average, a little dark and in need of some TLC, but it was clean and the A/C worked very well and the bed was comfortable. Free WIFI was also provided. There was one major drawback however and that is the fact all of the stairwells are locked in the evenings so if there should be a problem with the lifts you could be stranded on your floor; all very well except if there is a fire, gas leak etc. Thailand has a poor record in regards fire safety in premises (Santika and Tiger Club come to mind) and I approached the manager on duty to ask why the stairwells were locked. His response was that some customers had been sneaking out down the stairs without paying hence the need to lock them up…unbelievable but true! He tried to assure me that in the case of any such emergency there was an employee on each floor ready to open up the stairwells (yeah right!). It is sadly for this reason I would not recommend this hotel and will not be staying here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Camjar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bangkok hotels

Ubon Ratchathani
Level Contributor
57 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2013

A nice small Boutique Hotel surrounded by restaurants and shopping. Excellent location and easy access to anyway around Bangkok. I was very impressed with the staff of the hotel who were very helpful and efficient. The hotel though needs TLC (Tender loving care) where the maintenance is concerned and I would hope the owners will be looking at this for the future of the hotel.

The disappointment was with the restaurant which is outdoors and all tables seem to cater for smokers and I never had lunch or dinner because of the smoking. Room service was very good , speedy with courteous service. I can't say to much for the waiter and waitress service in the restaurant, the feeling I got was, why am I here,, not me the staff. I felt I could not speak to them as thy did not show any friendliness.

I was given a room and the AirCon did not work and even without me putting in a complaint they moved me to another room. So I felt they cared.

I would go back there again. Good price and hopefully the next time the rooms will be painted and decorated accordingly and the maintenance kept at a high level.

.

Room Tip: Always check your room before you unpack to ensure everything is working well and other things in th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RobertDaleJohnG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ft. Lauderdale
Level Contributor
143 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2013

I needed a place to stay for one night before returning to the states last week and decided to give this place a try. I have stayed at the Silom Avenue Hotel and the Silom City Hotel, both within a two
block radius of this property and both a good value for the money but I have to say this place was also a good value. Of the three properties, this one is probably the cleanest and the rooms are probably kept up the best of the three (although I have not stayed in the Silom City Hotel in the past three years). At the beginning of my trip I stayed at the Silom Avenue Hotel for four nights and, although I was very satisfied with it for the price, the tub was in much better shape at the Silom Village Inn and the wallpaper was not peeling off of the wall as was the case at the Silom Avenue Inn. And one thing I was definately impressed with was the thermostate on the air conditioner. In both of the other hotels, as is the case in many of the cheaper properties all over Thailand, even though the thermostate has a regulator it usually does not work. There is no regulating the temperature. It's just on or off. At the Silom Village Inn the regulator actually worked so you weren't turning on the A/C then turning it off when it gets too cold. This was a nice convenience.
All three are in a good area to get around with is the Silom Road area, close to the night market and the skytrain. In fact, when I got into Bangkok at the airport, I took the skytrain into the city from the airport then connected to the other skytrain route and was able to walk the few blocks with my luggage so all three are convenient to transportation. The Silom Village Inn is right on Silom Ave where the other two are just off Silom Ave on a side street so not quite as easy to find the first time.
I would recommend any of these three hotels but probably rank Silom Village first, Silom City 2nd and Silom Ave 3rd. I think any of them are a good price for the money. Just remember you are in Thailand. Don't expect the Ritz for these prices. If this is you first and maybe only trip to Thailand and you want to splurge alittle you are probably better off upgrading elsewhere. But if you are just looking for a reasonable, clean, safe place to stay any of the three is a good value.

Room Tip: Probably the higher up the better and the furtherest back from Silom Ave the quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RonDavey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
corfu
Level Contributor
52 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2013

Very good value at 29 euros, big and clean rooms.
Great too safe in the size of small refrigerators.
The rooms are old and may need renovation.
The air conditioning makes noise, noise also
from the restaurants outside.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anmarcorfu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2013

This Silom Village is probably one of the most recognizable place in Silom area if you wished to stay in this part of Bangkok.It has a resort style feeling but its an old building.It is centrally located with entrance opens to the bar and all the tiny cute shops selling Thai souvenirs and handicrafts.We had room facing the back of the building which is not so nice over looking an old run down building and looks like a wet market area.
They have some nice Thai and seafood restaurants below in the center but the prices are on high side and at one corner a small restaurant and better priced with Thai fried noodle and rice and their fried or grill chicken is nice.The room rates are cheap considering it's location.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Theresa J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stavanger, Norway
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2012

I stayed one night here. Payed 1499bath for a de lux room. Spacius room with nice furniture. The room is away from the hotel front desk, it is by the restaurant. It is newly renovated. Exept the aircon, it shuld be updated, it has no remote control and it can get cold fast! The seafood restaurant down stairs is good, very expencive though.
The live entertainment pling and pling music can sometimes be heard in the rooms. But it stops at 23:30

Room Tip: Choose a renovated room. You always get what you pay for.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Spartacu5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Silom
Sapphirtel Inn
Sapphirtel Inn
#759 of 851 in Bangkok
3.0 of 5 bubbles 30 reviews
Silom
iCheck Inn Silom
iCheck Inn Silom
#199 of 851 in Bangkok
4.0 of 5 bubbles 310 reviews
Silom
Silom City Hotel
Silom City Hotel
#122 of 851 in Bangkok
4.0 of 5 bubbles 698 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Silom
Lullaby Inn
Lullaby Inn
#240 of 851 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
Silom
Triple Two Silom
Triple Two Silom
#54 of 851 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 478 reviews
Silom
Silom Avenue Inn
Silom Avenue Inn
#718 of 851 in Bangkok
3.0 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silom Village Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silom Village Inn

Property: Silom Village Inn
Address: 286 Silom Road | Silom Village Trade Centre, Bangkok 10500, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Silom , Bang Rak
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #348 of 614 B&Bs / Inns in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Silom Village Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Silom Village Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silom Village Hotel Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing