We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Highly recommend” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Silom Village Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Silom Village Inn
Ranked #349 of 603 Bangkok B&B and Inns
Aberdeen, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Highly recommend”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2014

Pleasant, peaceful, central.

Cannot fault cleanliness, excellent location, value for money.

Highly recommend if you are just looking for somewhere to lay your head at night.

Recommend including the breakfast!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Erin F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    17
    43
    33
    13
    9
See reviews for
15
36
16
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Level Contributor
34 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2014

We got ripped off by a staff at Silom Village Inn our last night. I don't give bad reviews unless I have solid reasons. I'm an easy going traveller and I don't mind a bit of old, rustic looking rooms. This isn't a hotel - it's more like an old motel. No complaints on the room except for its old condition, a bit smelly, and walls kind of dirty. Everything worked fine including the bathroom. It was "cleaned" each day, so to me, I would have given it a 3 instead of a 1 if it wasn't for the terrible customer service and the rip off that we had at the last night of our stay.

First off, the customer service was horrible. Once we entered, there were no greetings, no offerings, nothing. We didn't get a smile as they simply asked as for our passports and we paid. No help with luggages as well. It was very cold compared to other hostels/guesthouses/hotels that I've stayed in Bangkok and other Asian countries. Every time we had a question, they didn't looked annoyed and didn't smile when answering. They looked as if they didn't want to "deal" with us, so we just went on our own and found our own map at the train station. We tried greeting the front desk several times, but not one of the staff ever returned a smile.

Our last night was the worst. We asked them about a taxi from their hotel to DMK airport for AirAsia. They said that one of their staff will be outside in the morning time to help us call a cab. We did just that. We came down early, the three staff were watching TV (around 5, close to 6am), no one seemed like they wanted to get up, and when one of them did - they took us outside, got us a cab, and we told them - DMK, Air Asia (Air Asia ONLY goes to DMK), they said okay, okay - I know Air Asia. We hear him speak in Thai, he says Air Asia, the taxi says DMK and they exchange a bit here and there. At that point, we were happy - everything was fine. We know how much it should've cost because we've been to Bangkok before and we've asked around other tourists information. As we're driving, I start seeing Suvarnabhumi Airport and I yell out NO NO NO NO. I tell the taxi, why are we going here? He says, the man told him Suvarnabhumi Airport, and he told the staff there's no Air Asia at Suvarnabhumi, but the staff continued to argue and told him to take us here. I was angry at that point at the staff, and the taxi driver turned around and headed towards DMK, obviously pissed off at the staff for telling him wrongly as well. I got the card out from their hotel and called them. I told them about the situation, they apologised, they said they might have misunderstood....Um. How? Air Asia, everyone in Thailand knows it's only at DMK. The taxi driver talks to them and yelled at the same time. Luckily we left a lot early than planned and still made it to our flight on time. The total cost of the ride was around 700,000 baht instead of 250,000 baht.....what a waste.

Lesson learnt - it you want anything done, just DO IT YOURSELF. It's also our fault for not double, triple checking with our taxi driver instead of entrusting in the staff at our hotel. I mean, you would think that we could trust those who we're paying money to and having them host us, but not at Silom Village Inn. We're just mostly angry at ourselves, so definitely not making the same mistake.

Anyway, stay here if you want a cheap budget MOTEL. Location is great - off of Surasak Station take exit 3, down the stairs, right right and it should be your first left, walk straight down and you should see it in from of you (Across the big Silom Street). Staff aren't good, no service at the "HOTEL" and definitely untrustworthy.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mirage A H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bangkok hotels

King's Lynn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
89 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2014

We had one night here recently in the slightly more expensive room and it was excellent. These rooms are in a building at the back and there arr no fire escape issues. The room was large and clean with a comfy bed and spacious bathroom. The hotel also has an on site restaurant with tasty rice and noodles at lunchtime for 50 THB and is good in the evening too. Great breakfast. Convenient for railway station and sky train.

Room Tip: Worth getting the better room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EnglandGlobetrotters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
singapore
Level Contributor
131 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2013

For these prices, you can't complain about the lack of extras. Don't expect a kettle. And irons and ironing boards are not available. The service at the reception and at the restaurant can be unsmiling – the staff look a little battle-weary, as if they have dealt with one too many drunken guest. On the plus side, the place is kept very clean, and the rooms are surprisingly large. It is on a main road, which makes getting a taxi easy enough.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AirconditionedNation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ko Lanta, Thailand
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2013 via mobile

Nice room, friendly staff. Wifi only in lobby and not fast. Room was allright, nice beds. Not much to do in the area. Good tailors nearby. Little bit noisy streat. Close to Lumpini parc. We stayed only one short night, after arriving from the AirPort.

Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank JolineBo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2013

Having stayed with them for 5 nights, I've gotta say! You can't get better value for money. As is the case always, sometimes you end up getting exactly what you paid for but NOT with this property. It had a certain rustic feel. Mind you! This is an aged property and is bang in the center of Downtown Bangkok. The rooms were clean and cared for. Everything was fairly accessible within the city limits by walking, rik or the metro. The experience somehow felt disconnected from the rest of bustling Bangkok even though it was within all the chaos a city life would offer. It was a welcoming disconnect from life in the fast lane. This low lying structure felt more like a village (literally) surrounded by giant behemoths ready to gobble it up. The community vibe was somewhat homely. I personally loved waking up for breakfast, running down to the little breakfast bar/hut just for the orange juice (YMMV). It's easy to nit-pick about what wasn't right and so on. Having managed my expectations early on, I comfortably got on with my exploration of the city. This much I'd say, if I were to return to Bangkok, I'd most definitely stay here again. For the price-point it offered, it surpassed my expectation by great bounds.

Room Tip: Request for a room with view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vipin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2013

Located in the heart of Bangkok, this was one of my favorite hotels. They don't have great (or for that matter any) amenities, however it's located pretty much in the heart of the night market, which makes it ideal for shopping and street food. The staff is kind and helpful. They plan your tours around Bangkok for you, so that's nice.

The view is the worst though. A concrete building wall literally touching distance away. But i never expected better. In fact, i don't know why I drew the curtains in the first place.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank theindiantraveller23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Silom
iCheck Inn Silom
iCheck Inn Silom
#198 of 849 in Bangkok
4.0 of 5 bubbles 306 reviews
Silom
Sapphirtel Inn
Sapphirtel Inn
#758 of 849 in Bangkok
3.0 of 5 bubbles 30 reviews
Silom
Silom City Hotel
Silom City Hotel
#124 of 849 in Bangkok
4.0 of 5 bubbles 684 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Silom
Lullaby Inn
Lullaby Inn
#247 of 849 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 228 reviews
Silom
Triple Two Silom
Triple Two Silom
#58 of 849 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 465 reviews
Silom
Narai Hotel
Narai Hotel
#203 of 849 in Bangkok
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silom Village Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silom Village Inn

Property: Silom Village Inn
Address: 286 Silom Road | Silom Village Trade Centre, Bangkok 10500, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Silom , Bang Rak
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #349 of 603 B&Bs / Inns in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Silom Village Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Silom Village Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silom Village Hotel Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing