We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal location.”
Review of Stable Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Stable Lodge
Ranked #443 of 862 Hotels in Bangkok
isle of wight
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Ideal location.”
Reviewed 30 March 2013

Ideally located off the Sukhumvit road near to Nana station.
We spent 5 nights at this hotel when we first arrived - My brother in law lives on Soi 8 and this hotel is perfectly located for that reason.
Our room was very large, however the view was pretty poor - a building site and another hotels pool. That aside the staff were friendly and polite, the bar was well stocked and cheap. We never ate at the hotel as we wanted the option of eating out.
As a base the hotel is fine - a bit on the pricey side at 1700 bht per night inc Taxes.
I should add that most hotels in Thailand have safes - this safe is behind the reception desk.
Don't expect luxury - I wouldn't want to stay more than we did.
I don't think its fair to rate this hotel any less - its very clean, the staff are friendly and the rooms are fine.

Room Tip: Get a room with A/C on the top floor, facing the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stuart d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    24
    64
    45
    13
    14
See reviews for
27
51
36
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 6 Contributor
139 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2013 via mobile

a delightful little hotel sat behind the main Soi 8.
Clean and comfortable with decent facilities such as a tour desk and 24 hour reception.
The adjoining restaurant provided good wholesome food although they really ought to dispense with this annoying ++ fashion that many places are adopting. Personally, I prefer to reward good service rather than the restaurant taking a tip regardless.
One drawback is that the hotel had only very limited car parking - something of a nuisance after a long drive.
To conclude, all in all this is a nice establishment with nice rooms and friendly staff all at reasonable rates to boot. Worth a look.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olofström
Level 5 Contributor
33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2013

Fourth visit at this hotel was good, as expected.
I give it 5 point´s based on the total experience.
New open air restaurant built near the pool.
Walking distance to entertainment on Sukhumvit.
If you like shopping mall´s - it is a short walk to Terminal 21.
This hotel is like a small sea side hotel placed in the middle of Bangkok.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thomas G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2013

The lift only takes 1- 2 people, you can imagine with a young family how long this takes. I have been coming to bangkok for 25 years now, but never In my life experience and owner off the hotel who was a rude and disgracefull like this one.. The rooms are poor and the shower was like being in the 70's in cambodia.. Its a great area soi 8 but the hotel and owner have no place in the travel industry...
Brian

Room Tip: Try another hotel in sio 8..
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mrsiam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bangkok hotels

Auckland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2013

After making a booking online we arrived at the hotel at 10.30am. They said they hadn't copied our reservation down (which was their fault) and were fully booked the second night we wanted to stay so we could only stay for one night then needed to move hotels. When we said we would rather just book both nights with a new hotel they refused to help us and charged us 50 Baht to use the Internet for 5 miniutes to find a new hotel and 10 baht to use the phone for 2 minutes to book it. When we refused to pay because they didn't say they would charge us till after we used the internet/phone the door man ran down the road after us and started pushing my boyfriend and demanding money.

They did not apologize once over the time we were there and this was the most appalling customer service we have come accross over our time in Thailand. We didn't get a chance to see the rooms but the outside of the hotel and pool area looks run down and nothing like the photos online. I Wouldn't bother staying here, for the same amount of money you can find much better hotels with better customer service.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank AubreyBullen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doha, Qatar
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2012

Myself and my wife spent 8 nights at the Stable Lodge. It is located minutes from Nana station giving you easy transit access all over the city. The night life surrounding the hotel could keep you busy for days. The hotel room was clean and spacious with a large balcony and a fully stocked fridge. Nice swimming pool to cool off in on those hot days. The food was good at the hotel but we found the prices a bit high compared to the other restaurants in the area. There are many great restaurants within walking distance. The hotel is located off Sukhumvit road, but is tucked away enough that you do not get much street noise. We loved this hotel so much we wil be staying here every time we go to Bangkok. Great, friendly staff!!!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Greg_M1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lichtenburg, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2012

We were relieved to meet a team of friendly & helpful people - who could help us in English! They were eager to make our stay a pleasant one and explained how we should get around and what we ought to see since we were first timers in Bangkok - even warning us where to go and where not to go! They have a helpful travel desk too. The room was small but clean and comfortable and the meals we had at the hotel were good. The bathrooms are small but pleasant which is a big plus in Bangkok! The best thing was that we could walk onto the main road and find we were a comfortable easy walking distance from all the main transport routes. We found the Lodge so convenient and friendly we returned later to spend a few more nights using them as a base for our activities. I would make use of them again!

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the front and the pool are nicer as they have a sliding door and a balcony - and t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer-Sannieshof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Sukhumvit
The Promenade Hotel
The Promenade Hotel
#414 of 862 in Bangkok
131 reviews
Sukhumvit
Citadines Sukhumvit 8 Bangkok
Sukhumvit
Adelphi Suites Bangkok
Adelphi Suites Bangkok
#54 of 862 in Bangkok
1,459 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sukhumvit
Ruamchitt Travelodge
Ruamchitt Travelodge
#579 of 862 in Bangkok
48 reviews
Sukhumvit
Sawasdee Hotel @ Sukhumvit Soi 8
Sukhumvit
Grand Swiss Sukhumvit 11 by Compass Hospitality
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stable Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stable Lodge

Property: Stable Lodge
Address: 39 Soi Sukhumvit 8 Sukhumvit Rd., Khlong Toei, Khlong Toei, Bangkok 10110, Bangkok 10110, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Sukhumvit
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #443 of 862 Hotels in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Stable Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Ctrip TA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Stable Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stable Hotel Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing