We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Spot / Perfect for the adventurous”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
ibis Styles Bangkok Khaosan Viengtai
Ranked #267 of 858 Hotels in Bangkok
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great Spot / Perfect for the adventurous”
Reviewed 12 August 2012

Walk outside and get right into the action. Great shopping, food and drinks right outside the door. Ask for a room that faces the back so as the little noise there is drowned out. It is not the most modern but is cheap and in the perfect position.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anthony H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

806 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    113
    373
    244
    48
    28
See reviews for
104
255
104
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (165)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Turkey
Level Contributor
30 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2012

I would like to say less than terrible but it was not possible. I am currently staying or one of the victims of the hotel. I am a very experienced SE traveller, i could say this is my 15 th time in Bangkok. I've never seen any hotel costumers are shouted, ignored or treated like a dirt by the reception staff, this hotel is the first.
Days ago i was staying in a different hotel and i liked this marble reception, posh looking hotel in the area. My first hotel was "new world city" hotel was thousand times better and cheaper than this one. Anyway i booked a standard room as i am alone and i kindly e mailed my prepaid voucher and asked a kettle was to be replaced in the room. I heard nothing from them and i came here personally asking about my voucher. The lady in the reception completely ignored what i asked, i wanted to see manager or somebody more useful. She disappeared for 2 seconds and came back to tell me wait. I waited for 15 minutes as a costumer, nobody came. It was the first fiasco.
This morning i came to the hotel, the room was shown to me was too small, had no drawers, no safe, no view. Bathroom ceiling was too small that if i was a tall person i would bang my head. When i ask the reception that i want to see another room, i was shouted to wait. Now i am another smelly room on 8 th floor, slightly bigger than my first room. Unfortunately i need wifi password for both my phone and computer but the password they gave me is for 24 hours. Tomorrow i have to see them again. That puts me under horrible stress and scarry feeling. I dont want to see them anymore!
If you have little conscious do not stay here.

Room Tip: Do not stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank PetekAtes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bangkok hotels

eugene, or
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2012

I stayed at the Viengtai Hotel for a few days this past winter while on vacation in Thailand. If I ever go back to Bangkok (and I hope I do) I will stay here again. The best thing about it was the location. As soon as you step out the door of the hotel lobby, you're on a street filled with shops, vendors and restaurants. It's a very bustling area. There's plenty of shopping and lots of good food as well. The hotel has a nice pool and a very pretty garden. For $5 US dollars you can eat breakfast at the hotel and the food is very good. The staff are friendly too. The rooms are not luxurious, but they're clean. The only thing I didn't like (and this is a very small detail) was the view from my hotel window. My window looked out over a crumbling building and an area that looked like it could have been a junkyard. But that was a very minor detail. Aside from that, I really enjoyed my time at the Viengtai!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pippi123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 29 July 2012

Friendly staff and clean rooms with good food at the restaurant. Located on a lovely street with great restaurants and bars (very pretty with lights at night). Also only a short walk away from Khoisan Road which is another great place to go day or night.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2012

The hotel is big and at a excellent location. It was always quiet and the staff is friendly and helpful. I specially liked the pool - even when it was a bit smelly at one day. The breakfast has a wide variate of food and the taste is ok but optimized to be eatable for every one. If you like the real Thai taste, go eat some where else. There is a Tour-Office in the entrance hall which you better avoid to get good rates.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tungmar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caloundra
Level Contributor
358 reviews
116 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2012

I guess being in the Khao San region you expect party animals to be going all night. However one block away is this hotel in the midst of many restaurants and bars with live music till very late at night. Perhaps the supplied earplugs should have warned me!
The hotel itself is very good and relatively modern and an easy walk from the bus that drops passengers off from the Gulf Islands (Samui, Tao etc) in the evening.
Breakfast is passable but you will want to eat in the numeropus restaurants very nearby for other meals
I've stayed here several times but the noise seemed worse this time.

Room Tip: Get a room facing the back and closest to the river to avoid street noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravellingSandy4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2012

Good location, on a lively street full of restaurants. A 3 min walk to Khao San road, so you're close to the action, without being in the chaos and noise. We booked a triple room for 2 nights. Very spacious room, pretty clean, although the decor and furniture are very dated. The bathroom is rather dark, ceiling is low so gave us a bit of claustrophobic feeling. The breakfast was good, lots of choices. Overall, a good choice for a base to explore Bangkok if you don't mind the lack of finishing.

Plus:
-Good location
-Lots of space
-Free wifi, although slow
-Decent breakfast
-English speaking staff

Minus:
-Old, lack of finishing touches
- A little overpriced for the quality

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jollchan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Banglamphu
Buddy Lodge Hotel
Buddy Lodge Hotel
#186 of 858 in Bangkok
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,249 reviews
Banglamphu
Villa Cha-Cha
Villa Cha-Cha
#368 of 858 in Bangkok
3.5 of 5 bubbles 719 reviews
Banglamphu
Rambuttri House
Rambuttri House
#446 of 858 in Bangkok
3.5 of 5 bubbles 289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Banglamphu
Rambuttri Village Inn & Plaza
Banglamphu
Dang Derm Hotel
Dang Derm Hotel
#357 of 858 in Bangkok
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,007 reviews
Banglamphu
Rikka Inn
Rikka Inn
#345 of 858 in Bangkok
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ibis Styles Bangkok Khaosan Viengtai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ibis Styles Bangkok Khaosan Viengtai

Property: ibis Styles Bangkok Khaosan Viengtai
Address: 42 Rambuttri Road | Banglampu, Bangkok 10200, Thailand (Formerly Viengtai Hotel)
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Banglamphu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #267 of 858 Hotels in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — ibis Styles Bangkok Khaosan Viengtai 3.5*
Number of rooms: 215
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ibis Styles Bangkok Khaosan Viengtai offer a place of comfort with its rooms that boast inspiring and upbeat designs on every floor plus all the modern facilities including powerful WIFI to every visitor. A unique way to experience Khaosan and Bangkok right at its heart. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, HostelWorld, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Travelbag, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your ibis Styles Bangkok Khaosan Viengtai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Viengtai Hotel Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing