We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
ibis Styles Bangkok Khaosan Viengtai
Ranked #133 of 891 Hotels in Bangkok
Reviewed 20 August 2012

We booked into the Viengtai Hotel as we wanted a nicer hotel experience while also not missing out on the area around the bustling Khaosan Road. We were not disappointed.

In terms of location, the place is excellent. Rambuttri Road has plenty of cool bars and delicious, reasonably priced street food while also being parallel to Khaosan and everything that comes with it. A lot of the main tourist attractions in Bangkok such as the Grand Palace, Wat Phra Kaew and China Town are also just a short taxi ride away.

Our room was well-equipped with a safe and a power shower as well as being absolutely enormous. Housekeeping do take their time to make up the room, though, and ours was done each day around 4pm. Also, be warned: the rooms are not beautiful and the floor did have a few suitcase marks on the unattractively coloured carpet. However, if you're looking for absolute luxury, you're probably in the wrong place around Khaosan!

The hotel has quite a few amenities which make it surpass it's three star status. It has two pools (one for adults and one small children's pool) as well as a well-ventilated fitness studio (albeit with machines that could really use a service) and the breakfast is absolutely delicious. Moreover, you will receive very good service from the reception staff and the head porter can also provide good advice, especially on taxi prices.

If you want to stay in the Khaosan area in a decent, clean hotel with very good facilities, I would highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: If you want to be away from the noise, request a room facing away from the street i.e. facing in tow...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KT9104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (951)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

463 - 469 of 951 reviews

Reviewed 13 August 2012

I have stayed at this hotel with my 13 year old daughter three times now as its a great price for the budget traveller. We lived in Thailand years ago and have tried all standards of accommodation! The last time here was around Songkran 2010 and to be honest, in regards to the hotel nothing has changed. It's in the road parallel to Khao San Road so really great for just stepping outside into all the vibrance of Banglampu with street food, massages and market stalls on tap. Its also really handy for getting around - eg Paragon cineplex for 4D movies (my daugher loved this) = 10 min walk to Golden Mount, river boat bus to Jim Thompson House (10 baht each) and 3 min walk to Paragon.
This year, we were surprised at how much busier the street had become as it used to be quieter than the KSR but not so much now. Hotel is clean and basic. Rooms have usual fridge, cable tv, kettle, etc. Great to have a pool with towels supplied. If you have kids, would recommend you ask for a room at the back of hotel as its quieter at night. Not sure what happened with a previous reviewer who said the receptionists were awful - we have always found them to be helpful, kind (held my had to calm me down after a particularly nasty taxi driver dropped us off); and patient (helped me figure out how to get to Jatujak market by bus, or boat and skytrain!). My only bugbear with this hotel is that they only serve breakfast until 9.30am which sometime feels like a deliberate ploy to save money. If youre not an early riser, then save money and book the room without breakfast and eat brunch in the street. Or, if your travel partner is a child who won't get up that early on holiday, then nip across to 7-11 in the evening and buy milk and small pkt of cereal that can be eaten in the glass in your room! All in all, great for the price and easy to get around.

Btw - always walk for 5 minutes before hailing a taxi or tuk-tuk, they will try to overcharge you e.g. 400 baht for a 70 baht journey if you pick up outside hotel...

Room Tip: Quieter at the back overlooking the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Summer W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2012

Walk outside and get right into the action. Great shopping, food and drinks right outside the door. Ask for a room that faces the back so as the little noise there is drowned out. It is not the most modern but is cheap and in the perfect position.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anthony H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2012

I would like to say less than terrible but it was not possible. I am currently staying or one of the victims of the hotel. I am a very experienced SE traveller, i could say this is my 15 th time in Bangkok. I've never seen any hotel costumers are shouted, ignored or treated like a dirt by the reception staff, this hotel is the first.
Days ago i was staying in a different hotel and i liked this marble reception, posh looking hotel in the area. My first hotel was "new world city" hotel was thousand times better and cheaper than this one. Anyway i booked a standard room as i am alone and i kindly e mailed my prepaid voucher and asked a kettle was to be replaced in the room. I heard nothing from them and i came here personally asking about my voucher. The lady in the reception completely ignored what i asked, i wanted to see manager or somebody more useful. She disappeared for 2 seconds and came back to tell me wait. I waited for 15 minutes as a costumer, nobody came. It was the first fiasco.
This morning i came to the hotel, the room was shown to me was too small, had no drawers, no safe, no view. Bathroom ceiling was too small that if i was a tall person i would bang my head. When i ask the reception that i want to see another room, i was shouted to wait. Now i am another smelly room on 8 th floor, slightly bigger than my first room. Unfortunately i need wifi password for both my phone and computer but the password they gave me is for 24 hours. Tomorrow i have to see them again. That puts me under horrible stress and scarry feeling. I dont want to see them anymore!
If you have little conscious do not stay here.

Room Tip: Do not stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank PetekAtes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2012

I stayed at the Viengtai Hotel for a few days this past winter while on vacation in Thailand. If I ever go back to Bangkok (and I hope I do) I will stay here again. The best thing about it was the location. As soon as you step out the door of the hotel lobby, you're on a street filled with shops, vendors and restaurants. It's a very bustling area. There's plenty of shopping and lots of good food as well. The hotel has a nice pool and a very pretty garden. For $5 US dollars you can eat breakfast at the hotel and the food is very good. The staff are friendly too. The rooms are not luxurious, but they're clean. The only thing I didn't like (and this is a very small detail) was the view from my hotel window. My window looked out over a crumbling building and an area that looked like it could have been a junkyard. But that was a very minor detail. Aside from that, I really enjoyed my time at the Viengtai!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pippi123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2012

Friendly staff and clean rooms with good food at the restaurant. Located on a lovely street with great restaurants and bars (very pretty with lights at night). Also only a short walk away from Khoisan Road which is another great place to go day or night.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2012

The hotel is big and at a excellent location. It was always quiet and the staff is friendly and helpful. I specially liked the pool - even when it was a bit smelly at one day. The breakfast has a wide variate of food and the taste is ok but optimized to be eatable for every one. If you like the real Thai taste, go eat some where else. There is a Tour-Office in the entrance hall which you better avoid to get good rates.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tungmar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Banglamphu
Nouvo City Hotel
Nouvo City Hotel
#170 of 891 in Bangkok
1,314 reviews
Banglamphu
Buddy Lodge Hotel
Buddy Lodge Hotel
#184 of 891 in Bangkok
1,342 reviews
Banglamphu
Dang Derm Hotel
Dang Derm Hotel
#361 of 891 in Bangkok
1,085 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Banglamphu
Chillax Resort
Chillax Resort
#142 of 891 in Bangkok
1,656 reviews
Banglamphu
Villa Phra Sumen Bangkok
Villa Phra Sumen Bangkok
#42 of 891 in Bangkok
450 reviews
Banglamphu
Rambuttri Village Inn & Plaza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ibis Styles Bangkok Khaosan Viengtai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ibis Styles Bangkok Khaosan Viengtai

Address: 42 Rambuttri Road | Banglampu, Bangkok 10200, Thailand (Formerly Viengtai Hotel)
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Banglamphu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #133 of 891 Hotels in Bangkok
Price Range: £53 - £96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — ibis Styles Bangkok Khaosan Viengtai 3.5*
Number of rooms: 215
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ibis Styles Bangkok Khaosan Viengtai offer a place of comfort with its rooms that boast inspiring and upbeat designs on every floor plus all the modern facilities including powerful WIFI to every visitor. A unique way to experience Khaosan and Bangkok right at its heart. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), ACCOR, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your ibis Styles Bangkok Khaosan Viengtai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Viengtai Hotel Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing