We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible, ill mannered staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
ibis Styles Bangkok Khaosan Viengtai
Ranked #182 of 867 Hotels in Bangkok
Ulaanbaatar, Mongolia
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Terrible, ill mannered staff”
Reviewed 20 December 2012

While this hotel is clean, well priced and in a good location near Khao San Road, I had bad experience after bad experience with the ill mannered staff. They are rude and unapologetic in every scenario I encountered, which included being overcharged for room service, being rudely accused of not checking out on the correct date after an intrepid tour and being denied assistance when ordering a metered taxi upon leaving the hotel. I would suggest people think twice about staying here if they would like a welcoming and happy environment when visiting Bangkok.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karlymarie11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Viengtai, Manager at ibis Styles Bangkok Khaosan Viengtai, responded to this review, 27 December 2012
Dear Valuable Guest,
First of all, thank you for taking the time to write your review about us and for choosing our hotel. We are extremely concerned to hear about the situation regarding our staff being unhelpful and impolite. We would appreciate your kind assistance to let us know more details of your experience by giving us more specific information. Kindly send the e-mail to us at info@viengtai.co.th
Making our guests feel at home and happy with us has always been our top priority and we will do all we can to maintain and improve our high quality of service.
Thank you
Sincerely Yours,
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

867 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    149
    391
    248
    50
    29
See reviews for
128
267
112
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (171)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 December 2012

Unexpectedly good, friendly hotel in a buzzing part of town. Large reception area, good sized, clean rooms. Included buffet breakfast reasonable with freshly cooked eggs available, fresh fruit and the usual breakfast items. Very close to 7 elevens, restaurants and bars plus the river ferry boats. I would use this hotel again.

Room Tip: Front rooms are very noisy from the bars and restaurants altho' hotel does provide earplugs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chrisstc53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Viengtai, Manager at ibis Styles Bangkok Khaosan Viengtai, responded to this review, 28 December 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for posting your review. We are pleased to know you enjoyed our buffet breakfast and found our room rates reasonable. Many guests also appreciate our location; it takes only a 10 minute walk from our hotel to the river ferry boats, providing an amazing & unique experience to Bangkok’s visitors.
Thank you for choosing Viengtai Hotel. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards
The Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 December 2012 via mobile

We stayed at Rambuttri Village inn plaza for most of our trip, and walked past this hotel many times and thought we should book it before our flight home for one night after Phuket, thinking we should spoil ourselves before going home. I'm sorry but Rambuttri sh@ts all over this place. I will never stay here again. The room was tiny, couldn't stand in bathroom because the ceiling was so low, you feel suffocated and just want to avoid the room at all costs. I paid double what Rambuttri was and enjoyed Rambuttri so much more and to think I paid double! I didn't mind the noise from the street because I was out till very late anyway, but the noise from the maids was insane. The pool stinks like a sewer, and is to be avoided at all costs

Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank lianasante
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Viengtai, Manager at ibis Styles Bangkok Khaosan Viengtai, responded to this review, 28 December 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking time to write your review of our hotel. Indeed, Rambuttri is a lively location with pubs, bars, and restaurants. The festivity and fun on the street unfortunately come with a price – the street noise.

Your comments are helpful & taken into account to improve levels of our client’s satisfaction.

Sincerely Yours,

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bangkok hotels

Perth, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2012

The original reason for booking this hotel was that it's right next door to the Stray Bus tours and we were planning on taking one of those up north (didn't end up doing it, as we had limited time in Thailand and traveling by bus would have meant half the time was in transit, so we flew instead).

The hotel was pleasant enough, nothing too fancy. Staff were helpful with any questions we had, rooms were clean and tidy, if unexceptional, and the location was right in the heart of backpackers land - which is great if that's your thing (it's not mine).

We were on the 5th floor so street noise was not too much bother. The cable television was a bit dodgy and mostly in Thai, which was fine as I wasn't planning on watching it a whole lot. The main down side to the room (and it's not a huge deal) was that the roof in the bathroom was reeeeally low. I'm a little under 6 foot - not short, but not super tall - and my head hit the roof in the shower, so I had to bend my head the whole time and squat if I wanted to get it under the shower head, which was pretty uncomfortable. Also no safe in the room, if that bothers you.

It's also a 15 minute walk to the Grand Palace and Temple of the Emerald Buddha, which is handy. A 10 minute walk will also get you to the ferries, which is a very easy and inexpensive way to get to other parts of town, so convenient in that respect too.

Overall it was a pleasant stay. No reason not to stay there again, but I'd probably investigate other things too. It's hard to say how the price compares - it was around $45 AUD a night for a twin share in a standard room. Probably pretty standard given the location.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank johannes_luebbers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Viengtai, Manager at ibis Styles Bangkok Khaosan Viengtai, responded to this review, 28 December 2012
Dear Mr. Johannes_Luebbers,

Thank you for taking the time to review us. We take details of your feedback seriously as we constantly strive to improve our services to our guests. Thank you also for commenting on our room. Your information is valuable & has been taken into consideration in our yearly plan to renovate our rooms.

We hope to have another chance to welcome you back in the future.

Kind Regards,

The Hotel Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 December 2012

I have stayed many times in Khao San Road and it’s very noisy late into the night with many young hotel guests being very noisy on their return. This Hotel is situated in the street behind Khao San Rd and the rooms at the back are lovely and peaceful and you can get a really good night’s rest so you can enjoy all the markets, shops and restaurants all within walking distance. You are spoilt for choice where to eat outside this hotel. All the benefits with none of the noisy night downsides. Rooms are very clean with all the mod cons and my favourite - coffee in the room and a hot powerful shower. I will definitely stay here again the only downside this all comes at a bit of a price at 2000+ plus baht a night.

Room Tip: Must be a room at the back of the hotel and if poss high floor - we stayed on 7th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bkkmegabob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Viengtai, Manager at ibis Styles Bangkok Khaosan Viengtai, responded to this review, 28 December 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking time to write a review of us. We are glad to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us and were content with our room, service and location. Thank you for choosing Viengtai Hotel. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kankakee, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2012

This was our second stay here.The staff are always really pleasant,and helpful.The rooms are clean,and spacious.The luncheon is traditional Thai food that you seldom see,it is lovely,and the musicians are intriguing.To the side of the lobby,there is a travel agent that is really great at arranging day trips,or shows to see.The location of this hotel is really in the heart of everything, night markets,and shopping galore,a really nice vibe at nite. You are also a block or two from the river,where,for a little price, you can ride the express boats.

Room Tip: Pay a little extra and get the deluxe room,in back,upper floors.This way you are away from street no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Caddytravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Torquay, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
199 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2012

Mid October 2012 was my 25th stay over a period of 12. As always an enjoyable experience, great value, friendly and helpful staff, excellent breakfast and clean rooms. The close proximity to the river, Khaosan Road and excellent restaurants has always been an attraction. However the spread of Khaosan Road activity to Rambuttri Road now makes street side rooms very noisy and the ear plugs supplied in these rooms are no match for the late night throbbing base amplifiers of the bars and night clubs. The rooms away from the road (on the pool side of the hotel) are quiet and restful and highly recommended.

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for a room away from the street side - the pool side of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ditsywitsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Banglamphu
Buddy Lodge Hotel
Buddy Lodge Hotel
#172 of 867 in Bangkok
1,297 reviews
Banglamphu
Dang Derm Hotel
Dang Derm Hotel
#380 of 867 in Bangkok
1,041 reviews
Banglamphu
Rikka Inn
Rikka Inn
#358 of 867 in Bangkok
1,299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Banglamphu
Nouvo City Hotel
Nouvo City Hotel
#174 of 867 in Bangkok
1,216 reviews
Banglamphu
Rambuttri Village Inn & Plaza
Banglamphu
Villa Cha-Cha
Villa Cha-Cha
#363 of 867 in Bangkok
735 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ibis Styles Bangkok Khaosan Viengtai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ibis Styles Bangkok Khaosan Viengtai

Property: ibis Styles Bangkok Khaosan Viengtai
Address: 42 Rambuttri Road | Banglampu, Bangkok 10200, Thailand (Formerly Viengtai Hotel)
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Banglamphu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #182 of 867 Hotels in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — ibis Styles Bangkok Khaosan Viengtai 3.5*
Number of rooms: 215
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ibis Styles Bangkok Khaosan Viengtai offer a place of comfort with its rooms that boast inspiring and upbeat designs on every floor plus all the modern facilities including powerful WIFI to every visitor. A unique way to experience Khaosan and Bangkok right at its heart. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, HostelWorld, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your ibis Styles Bangkok Khaosan Viengtai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Viengtai Hotel Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing