We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“good location!!! the rest is average” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Viengtai Hotel - TEMPORARILY CLOSED

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Viengtai Hotel - TEMPORARILY CLOSED
Ranked #307 of 844 Hotels in Bangkok
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
84 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“good location!!! the rest is average”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2013

Based on what we paid per night, it is a middle range hotel in Bangkok. I like its location, just right at the back of Khao San road. One can walk through the Banglamphu/Grand Palace area which is just around one (1) km away. Anyway, the hotel has a free shuttle to the grand palace every 10am so we were able to avoid some notorious taxis and tuktuks who are painstakingly waiting for their nest prey outside the hotel. We had a free wifi, I find our room less noisy, room spacious but the bathroom has a very low ceiling. I don't mind staying at this hotel again, considering its proximity to Bangkok's nightlife and shopping district in Khao San.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank julietteBacolod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Viengtai, General Manager at Viengtai Hotel - TEMPORARILY CLOSED, responded to this review, 7 October 2013
Dear JulietteBacolod,

Thank you for your feedback - glad you enjoyed and liked Free Shuttle to Royal Grand Palace which is the most important landmark in Bangkok. We trust that your stay was an enjoyable and looking forward to your return.

Best regards,

Suttirak K.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

784 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    100
    366
    242
    48
    28
See reviews for
102
244
101
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (163)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Tilburg, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2013

We liked the shower and the location the best! It was the best shower we had in our 3 weeks of Thailand. Due to the location it was very noisy. Not only the street we were facing but also inside we could hear everything. The bed was way too hard. The 'free' WIFI was only for 3 hours and besides that did not work in our room. The rooms were clean and tidy, but old. Pool was very nice, the lobby also. Staff was friendly but the doorman did not mind sending us to an expensive taxi without meter. It is not a bad hotel, but you can probably do better in this location.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the pool side and not the street side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Viengtai, General Manager at Viengtai Hotel - TEMPORARILY CLOSED, responded to this review, 7 October 2013
Dear Jan J,

Thank you for your review and feedback valued comments to us. We are glad that you liked our location which is most comfortable hotel in Khaosan area. We also take note your comments on various services area in order to improving them to meet guest's expectation and satisfaction.
We look forward to welcome you back in the near future and found the improvement.

Best regards,

Suttirak K.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2013

This hotel has a reasonably priced airport limo service which we used as it made the arrival very smooth.
Well located for nightlife and food. Room was spacious.
We had a streetside room which was hard to sleep in as the live music in the street below doesn't stop till the small hours. Insist on a room on the other side and you will sleep well as confirmed by fellow travellers staying there.
Restaurant on ground floor was quite good too.
Helpful staff.

Room Tip: Rooms on the street side are very noisy due to the live music in the street below.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Spiros K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Viengtai, General Manager at Viengtai Hotel - TEMPORARILY CLOSED, responded to this review, 30 September 2013
Dear Spiro K.
We would like to thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback during your stay with us. Your comment regarding the famous nigthlife of Khao Sarn Road is well taken and your preference of the choice of room has been recorded in our guest history program for you to enjoy your next visit.

Welcome back very soon
Sincerely yours
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol
Level Contributor
63 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2013

Good size room (though low ceiling in bathroom). Clean and well looked after. Decent breakfast buffet with choice of western or local food. Has separate restaurant at front by street. Quiet pool to rear. Noisy street to front. Easy to get from here to Grand Palace etc. Helpful staff. Decent value for money.

Room Tip: Avoid front if you are on lower floors as street noise is intrusive and goes on late
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank flooziemg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Viengtai, The Management at Viengtai Hotel - TEMPORARILY CLOSED, responded to this review, 24 September 2013
Dear Flooziemg,

We would like to thank you for staying at our hotel and for taking the time to write a review of your holiday experience with us. We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your recent stay with us. Your comments about our Hotel services,friendly staff and excellent location are very much appreciated. We look forward to welcoming you back soon at Viengtai Hotel.

Sincerely Yours,
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2013

This hotel is in a good location for nightlife and food, hotel was clean and rooms were spacious! Ideal for backpackers or young group of friends! Hotel can get loud but a wouldn't expect any less for the area! So if you are a couple looking for a relaxing stay this hotel might not be for you!

Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Samantha S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Viengtai, The Management at Viengtai Hotel - TEMPORARILY CLOSED, responded to this review, 24 September 2013
Dear Samantha S,

Thank you for taking the time to share your review about our hotel on TripAdvisor and for staying with us during your trip to Bangkok. We are pleased to note that, you have had such an enjoyable stay with our hotel's attractive location with easy access to various entertainment attractions. We look forward to welcoming you back again at Viengtai hotel in the near future.


Sincerely Yours,
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
australia
Level Contributor
88 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2013

Originally we booked direct with the hotel but Agoda had it for the same price with breakfast included. We gave the hotel the opportunity to match it thereby saving the commission they would have to pay to Agoda but they wouldn't match it so we cancelled with them and booked with Agoda.

We, and the people in the room next to ours, were disturbed on the Saturday morning by housekeeping wanting to clean our rooms. Our neighbours said they were woken up. Not satisfactory!

We had an issue with our room key. We went to collect it after being out in the early evening for a short period of time. Firstly we were accused of not dropping it, then we were just left standing at reception like we were invisible. I started to worry so suggested to my partner they go up and make sure no one was in the room. It was then the older man said he would have reception meet us there. The lift was full going up so I stood back and said I would wait. It was at that time I saw the older man pick up our key. There was no apology.
I felt uneasy dropping our key when we went out because anyone could come and ask for it. No ID was ever asked for nor was the name the room was booked in.

We paid extra for a poolside room to avoid the noise.

There was good water pressure in the shower however no room for tall people. The bulkhead was really low. The supply of amenities was hit and miss. One day we ran out of toilet paper.

The aircon was really noisy.

Breakfast was hit and miss. The juice wasn't fresh and some mornings it wasn't diluted properly. The coffee was way too strong. Not sure who eats red jelly for breakfast.

Just a note to the hotel: DON'T insult me with a reply!

Room Tip: If you want a good nights sleep book a poolside room and remember to use do not disturb sign.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank caramellokoala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Viengtai, Manager at Viengtai Hotel - TEMPORARILY CLOSED, responded to this review, 22 September 2013
Dear caramellokoala,

We have studied, investigated, and learned from your experiences while you stayed with us. We truly and sincerely understood how you felt and humbly thank you for your giving us detailed information which we have gone through our service processes very thoroughly once again.

Your comments are extremely valuable and have addressed key points to make us continue improving our services for our guests. Our apology may not be sufficient, but we must apologize for any inconveniences you confronted. We wish every moment that you would come back for us to proof to you that your words “count”.

We, the management and entire staffs, look forward to welcoming you back again very soon. YOU WILL SEE THE DIFFERENCES.

Jumpoon Chavasiri
Executive Advisor
(Head Office of Viengtai Group)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Annecy, France
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

old big hotel wellplaced in Khao san,
service poor but ok (not perfect)
food breakfast is bad quality, closed at 10:00am
swimming pool ok
no real spa
quiet room but fournitures not confortable, old
bathroom old

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stephan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Viengtai, Management at Viengtai Hotel - TEMPORARILY CLOSED, responded to this review, 5 September 2013
Dear Stephan B,

Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to write a review of our hotel. We are deeply sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your last stay with us.

All your valuable comments have been addressed with our team and taken very seriously.We appreciate you bringing some important aspects of the hotel to our attention.

Please rest assured all the flaws will be corrected which you have reported in your review,as we are in the process of renovating our hotel rooms.
We are always seeking to learn from our shortfalls and to take pride of our successes.

Please accept our sincerest apologies for the inconveniences caused. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future and show our improvements.

Sincerely Yours,
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bangkok hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Banglamphu
Villa Cha-Cha
Villa Cha-Cha
#347 of 844 in Bangkok
3.5 of 5 bubbles 697 reviews
Banglamphu
Buddy Lodge Hotel
Buddy Lodge Hotel
#187 of 844 in Bangkok
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,198 reviews
Banglamphu
Dang Derm Hotel
Dang Derm Hotel
#370 of 844 in Bangkok
3.5 of 5 bubbles 961 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Banglamphu
Rambuttri House
Rambuttri House
#423 of 844 in Bangkok
3.5 of 5 bubbles 282 reviews
Banglamphu
Rambuttri Village Inn & Plaza
Banglamphu
Rikka Inn
Rikka Inn
#334 of 844 in Bangkok
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Viengtai Hotel - TEMPORARILY CLOSED? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Viengtai Hotel - TEMPORARILY CLOSED

Property: Viengtai Hotel - TEMPORARILY CLOSED
Address: 42 Rambuttri Road | Banglampu, Bangkok 10200, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Banglamphu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #307 of 844 Hotels in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Viengtai Hotel - TEMPORARILY CLOSED 2.5*
Number of rooms: 215
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
(Closed for renovation until Dec 2016) Viengtai Hotel Bangkok is located within the inner city, just one block from the famous Khao Sarn Road area. Viengtai Hotel has 200 comfortable rooms equipped with modern facilities. The hotel has a restaurant, 3 banquet rooms and convention/seminar rooms which can accommodate up to 300 people. At Viengtai Hotel, guests can relax at the outdoor swimming pool. From Viengtai Hotel, visitors can reach a series of important historical places, such as the Royal Grand Palace, various temples and the National Museum. The hotel is also just a short taxi-ride away from the shopping district of Siam and the party area of Sukhumvit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, HostelWorld, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your Viengtai Hotel - TEMPORARILY CLOSED reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Viengtai Hotel Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing