We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
ibis Styles Bangkok Khaosan Viengtai
Ranked #187 of 867 Hotels in Bangkok
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“great location”
Reviewed 21 October 2013

we stayed at the viengtai at the beginning of April 2013 and thought it was great value for money. it was actually the cheapest out of all the hotels we stayed in during our trip to Thailand but one of the best. the best thing about this hotel is location. being in the road parallel to kho san road you are still in the midst of all the bustle and excitement but further away enough for it to feel a little less 'crazy'. lots of great places to eat and drink, and 2 mins walk from kho san road. the hotel rooms were good sizes and it all seemed clean. the staff were helpful. the pool wasn't great as was small and smelt quite a bit, but it was quite nice to relax in after a busy day in Bangkok. Besides not many people go to Bangkok for the relaxation or swimming pools! was nice to have the option though. definitely recommend to anyone looking for a great value hotel in a great location.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AliGibo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Viengtai, General Manager at ibis Styles Bangkok Khaosan Viengtai, responded to this review, 25 October 2013
Dear AliGibo,

Thanks for your time to share experience during your stay at Viengtai hotel on Rambuttri road which is away from Khao San only one minute walk. Your valued comment about the pool was noted and the smelt has already been managed.
Again, we appreciate you to recommend our hotel to guests who plan to visit Bangkok and we look forward to welcome you back soon.

Best regards,

Suttirak K.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

872 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    152
    393
    248
    50
    29
See reviews for
130
268
112
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (171)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
melbourne, australia
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2013

We stayed as part of our Intrepid Tour. Location is amazing, right in the backpackers district. Plenty of restaurants and bars nearby which is great unless you get a room at the front of the hotel. Our room was at the front and you could hear the music over the air conditioner which was also very noisey. You know it must be noisey when you get ear plugs in the bathroom. We asked to change rooms but that would cost extra, so one of our group was leaving so we took her room which was at the back and was a lot quieter.
breakfast was good but there are plenty of places also nearby. The hotel staff gave us wrong directions to the market so ask at the tourist information place which is off the reception area.
Khoa San Road which is the next street is great for eating also, pad thai from street sellers is amazing,30 baht.
Pool was nice but by afternoon there is no sun on it.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melbourneites
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Viengtai, General Manager at ibis Styles Bangkok Khaosan Viengtai, responded to this review, 25 October 2013
Dear Melbourneites,

It's our pleasure to learn your feedback and glad that you like our location and enjoyed breakfast. But we realise there are some areas as you mentioned (noise and staff) that require improvement. All have been alerted to what occured, and they are certainliy intent on paying more attention. We hope you will come back and visit us again, where I look forward to welcoming you.

Best regards,
Suttirak K.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodbridge, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2013

Large room. "Free wifi" for 3 hours, so we would use the lobby. Shower head is low, so if you're tall, it might be tough. Has a fitness center and a pool. Breakfast was tasty. If you don't have breakfast there, don't worry- cheap breakfast places near by. Very quiet for being in the heart of the backpacker area. Comfortable and I would stay again!

Room Tip: Pick the back Of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tkap_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Viengtai, General Manager at ibis Styles Bangkok Khaosan Viengtai, responded to this review, 21 October 2013
Dear thap_12,

We appreciate your time to share your experiences and thanks for your comments. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay and we hope to welcome you again soon.

Best regards,
Suttirak K.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Plymouth, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2013

We stayed here in September this year. We were pleasantly surprised because we have stayed in this location before so for the price we weren't expecting it to be as good as it was. Anyone who has been to Khao San Rd or Rambuttri will know it's the party area for young backpacker type people. So this being our second trip we had a preconceived idea that we would be slightly roughing it. We stumbled across the Viengtai (wis we had stumbled across it the first time) and it looked quite posh for that area and also a little oasis of peace and quiet. So we enquirer at reception as to the price and also a view of the room prior to committing. The reception staff were friendly and accommodating and after viewing the room we were very happy with the standard and the price . . . Good value for money, in fact excellent value for money. The room was clean, on the other side of the hotel so quiet, bathroom good and good pressure in the shower. Wifi, tv and lighting good and the dining room and breakfast excellent. Overall. If you are looking for a good hotel in that area then you can't go past the Viengtai for value for money and location. I always so you get what you pay for, and I can say I was pleasantly surprised. We would definitely stay here again and have told our friends about this little gem!

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marg888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Viengtai, General Manager at ibis Styles Bangkok Khaosan Viengtai, responded to this review, 21 October 2013
Dear Morq888,

Thank you for taking your time to write this review and to share your experience. We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay and many aspects of the hotel and we look forward to welcoming you again.

Best regards,
Suttirak K.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suffolk, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2013 via mobile

This hotel is in a perfect location to explore the busy parts of Bangkok on foot. The rooms are pleasant and the staff are very friendly. The only thing I would say is that at our bathroom had a horrible smell for the duration of our stay. Apart from that I would recommend this hotel.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Beccyn123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Viengtai, General Manager at ibis Styles Bangkok Khaosan Viengtai, responded to this review, 21 October 2013
Dear Beccyn123,

It is with our pleasure to have accommodated you and thank you for sharing your experience. The bad smell problem had been reported and already been resolved - thanks for information. We hope to welcome you again to our hotel soon.

Best regards,

Suttirak K.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
63 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2013

We had a large room in the front of the hotel, check in was easy and quick, because of the location and the room being at the front, there was some noise from the street below, but nothing that bothered us that much,as someone else said in their review,on entering the room there is a smell of damp ( I think it's from the air conditioning unit, which worked excellently) but didn't notice it after a while, the bed was huge, but a bit on the firm side for us ( old bones), the "free" wifi in. The. Rooms runs out after 3 hours, but there are lots of places with free wifi (I could actually pick up the bar across the street easily (a plus for being sited at the front, our room did not have a kettle which I missed as I booked the standard room and not a deluxe, the staff are helpful, and there is a lock up. Room system for baggage for left luggage and a large air conditioned lobby and toilet for those late flights
The real plus of this hotel is the location on a busy street next to Khoa San rd, and close to the grand palace and wat po, the hotel runs a daily shuttle bus to the grand palace.
All in all a decent hotel in a busy area

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vanman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Viengtai, General Manager at ibis Styles Bangkok Khaosan Viengtai, responded to this review, 14 October 2013
Dear Vanman,

Thank you for your wonderful review of our hotel. We are pleased to learn your stay was enjoyable one. We understand there are areas we need to improve, but overall we very much hope your expectations were exceeded, and I look forward to welcoming you again in the future.

Best regards,
Suttirak K.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2013

This hotel is in the old quarter and pretty central to the Palace, floating markets, shopping and great street food. The staff are good and the beds comfy. We had a back room thank heavens as we did hear the front rooms can be very noisy. Pool is on the 3rd floor and then down a steep set of stairs.Spent 5 nights here on the start of a tour. Great breakfast with eggs cooked to order and a good variety of dishes

Room Tip: Room in the back of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bamaloo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Viengtai, General Manager at ibis Styles Bangkok Khaosan Viengtai, responded to this review, 7 October 2013
Dear Bamaloo,

Thank you kindly for your review on your Viengtai stay. We are glad to hear that you liked fresh cooking eggs in our breakfast and we look forward to welcoming you again to Viengtai - the most comfortable hotel in Khaosan area.

Best regards,

Suttirak K.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Banglamphu
Dang Derm Hotel
Dang Derm Hotel
#380 of 867 in Bangkok
1,042 reviews
Banglamphu
Buddy Lodge Hotel
Buddy Lodge Hotel
#173 of 867 in Bangkok
1,297 reviews
Banglamphu
Rikka Inn
Rikka Inn
#358 of 867 in Bangkok
1,299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Banglamphu
Nouvo City Hotel
Nouvo City Hotel
#175 of 867 in Bangkok
1,216 reviews
Banglamphu
Villa Cha-Cha
Villa Cha-Cha
#361 of 867 in Bangkok
735 reviews
Banglamphu
Rambuttri Village Inn & Plaza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ibis Styles Bangkok Khaosan Viengtai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ibis Styles Bangkok Khaosan Viengtai

Property: ibis Styles Bangkok Khaosan Viengtai
Address: 42 Rambuttri Road | Banglampu, Bangkok 10200, Thailand (Formerly Viengtai Hotel)
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Banglamphu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #187 of 867 Hotels in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — ibis Styles Bangkok Khaosan Viengtai 3.5*
Number of rooms: 215
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ibis Styles Bangkok Khaosan Viengtai offer a place of comfort with its rooms that boast inspiring and upbeat designs on every floor plus all the modern facilities including powerful WIFI to every visitor. A unique way to experience Khaosan and Bangkok right at its heart. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your ibis Styles Bangkok Khaosan Viengtai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Viengtai Hotel Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing