We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value, well located”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
ibis Styles Bangkok Khaosan Viengtai
Ranked #169 of 880 Hotels in Bangkok
Reviewed 16 November 2013 via mobile

The Viengtai is a good value hotel, well located right near Khao San Rd. The staff are very helpful and friendly, the rooms are clean and spacious. The beds are quite hard but this is fairly standard in Asia.

Breakfast is good, a variety of Western and Thai foods.

Free wifi is good too.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jgunzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Viengtai, General Manager at ibis Styles Bangkok Khaosan Viengtai, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2013

Dear jgunzy,

Thank you for choosing us as your choice of accommodation in Bangkok! It is our pleasure to be of service to you. We are glad that you are satisfied with your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you again in the near future!

Warm regards,

Suttirak K.
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (891)
There are newer reviews for ibis Styles Bangkok Khaosan Viengtai
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

254 - 260 of 891 reviews

Reviewed 12 November 2013 via mobile

Very well placed if you like being near busy markets and hip&happening night life. Hotel was good but most of the hotel staff cannot communicate adequately in English. Daily free Wi-fi for 3hrs. Rooms are air-conditioned and cleaned daily.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
Thank Bulumko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Viengtai, General Manager at ibis Styles Bangkok Khaosan Viengtai, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2013

Dear Bulumko,

It is with our pleasure to have accommodated you and thank you for sharing your experience. We are pleased to hear that you had an enjoyable stay and hope to welcome you again to our hotel soon.

Best regards,

Suttirak K.
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2013 via mobile

If you are looking for a place to just drop your bags when traveling out in Bangkok and a place to lay your head when you come in from a day out in Bangkok, you found it. This place is no frills and a stopover for Intrepid Tours, who charge a pretty penny for their tours but they are a good time. Some of the hotel staff were friendly, but I found a lot of them rather inconvenienced to help me get a decent cab at night, even after my tour guide recommended we ask the front desk for help catching cabs so as not to get ripped off.
The hotel itself seemed to be going through a renovation when we were there so hopefully the air conditioning units in the rooms will get an upgrade, ours never really cooled down. The sheets seemed clean, which was a plus since even in nice hotels in Thailand I noticed stains... I was a little underwhelmed, and we made two separate stops to the hotel on a three week vacation. But then again, we didn't spend too much time in the room. Never made it to the pool or gym so I can't comment on those.
The hotel is along a super busy street, which is great if you are looking for nightlife. The hotel does offer the option to stay on the quiet side of the hotel, for a fee. They do supply earplugs in the noisy side of the hotel, which I thought was kind of considerate.
The hotel's best feature is it's central location in old Bangkok. Highly recommend walking over to the public boats and taking the river ferry to places like Wat Arun and Oriental Pier. Way cheaper and way more entertaining!
Overall, the price of the hotel was built into our tour package, but it seems to be priced at middle of the road, which seems about right. I did eat in the restaurant once and it was pretty good and the wait staff were very friendly.
All in all, just a place to stay, not really a destination or service provider.

Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
Thank Erin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Viengtai, General Manager at ibis Styles Bangkok Khaosan Viengtai, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2013

Dear Erin S,


We are delighted to know that your stay was pleasant and you enjoyed your experiences in Bangkok. Viengtai Hotel is the only standard hotel on Rambuttri road which is three minute away from Khao San area. Most of guests prefer to enjoy Bangkok excursion during day time becuase of the hotel is situated on central of Pranakorn district then spoil the evening in various style of nightlife in Khao San.
Again thank you for taking your time to share your experience and we look forward to welcoming you again.

Best regards,

Suttirak K.
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2013 via mobile

As part of a group tour this hotel was ideal - central location, typically welcoming staff and quite good food. Overall good value, but I would have preferred a double bed that wasn't so soft. Bathroom ceilings are a bit low - +/- 2 m. Minimal toilet paper and no hose!

Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
Thank Hoss007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Viengtai, General Manager at ibis Styles Bangkok Khaosan Viengtai, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2013

Dear Hoss007,

It is with our pleasure to have accommodated you and thank you for sharing your experience. Your comments about room bed, ceiling and toilet hose have been noted for the improvment plan. And we hope to welcome you again at Viengtai hotel soon.

Best regards,
Suttirak K.
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2013

Viengtai Hotel is ideally located to the local, colourful and well-known Khao San Road day and night market. Hotel staff are friendly, welcoming and consistently helpful with local knowledge.
It is located close to lots of eating places, in both the same and adjoining streets, where food is far superior (and cheaper) to breakfast available at the hotel.
Local cafes turn into bars at night, which can therefore be noisy, but not so bad that we could not sleep, and tend to quieten down anyway by around midnight.
The hotel is within 10 minutes’ walk to river transport, which is the best and cheapest method to travel, and which links to the inexpensive Sky Train rail system. There are buses to and from the airport, but taxies are cheap – however, establish the cost before the taxi trip starts.
The Viengtai Hotel rooms are clean and the beds comfortable. So comfortable that we went for a siesta after a long flight and slept for 12 hours! The foyers are bright and welcoming.
The hotel supplies daily bottles of drinking water and the air-conditioning works well, two very important factors when the weather is hot and humid.
This was our first visit to Bangkok and staying at the Viengtai Hotel was a comforting start in an unfamiliar environment.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SteveEls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Viengtai, General Manager at ibis Styles Bangkok Khaosan Viengtai, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2013

Dear SteveEls,

We appreciate your time to share your experiences and thanks for your comments. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay and we hope to welcome you again soon.

Best regards,
Suttirak K.
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2013

I stayed at the Viengtai during September 2013. I have been a regular visitor to this hotel over the last 8 years. Alas, it is becoming very tired and extremely noisy. I have stayed in both the standard and executive rooms and fail to detect any difference. The rooms are tired, bathroom fittings are loose and for the area they are overpriced. Rooms at the front are very noisy until 2/3 in the morning as the nearby street has more and more restaurants with live bands. Good for the traveller, not for the sleeper. I was called twice during the night by someone wanting to 'come up to my room'!! The call was put through by the hotel reception. Was someone on commission? I complained the following morning and received a feeble apology. I cancelled my next visit1

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chrisj1947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Viengtai, General Manager at ibis Styles Bangkok Khaosan Viengtai, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2013

Dear Chrisj1947,

Thank you for your review. It is with much regret to learn that your recent stay was less than your expectation. Your concerns and comments will be looked into seriously and we sincerely appreciate your feedback for the improvements of the hotel.
At Viengtai hotel, we strongly believe that it is our duty to provide all our guests with a warm and high level of hospitality service throughout their stay. We will continue to strive to provide better services with continuous and extensive training for our staff. We hope this isolated incident has not marred your overall accommodation experience with us and we hope to welcome you to Viengtai hotel once again.

Best regards,

Suttirak K.
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2013

The title sums it up really. It's an excellent location (if you want to be near Khoa Sian road where the bars are), though it's far enough away to be a little quieter.

It's very clean and rooms are comfortable. It's a good place to stay if you are travelling in SE Asia for your first time (though if it is your first time in Asia, I am so sorry you have landed in Bangkok: don't pay for a taxi unless it is metered and don't buy street food unless you are sure they are not ripping you off: a Thai speciality)

Staff were great. Hotel has a free shuttlebus to the Grand Palace every morning at 10am which was a nice free add-on.

Decent enough food, breakfast was included.

Simple, clean and highly recommended!

Room Tip: Ask to be at the back of the hotel away from the rooms facing along the front. These are much quiete...
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank msa216
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Viengtai, General Manager at ibis Styles Bangkok Khaosan Viengtai, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2013

Dear msa216,

It was a pleasure to note that you were impressed with our Hotel location, breakfast, room, shuttle service to Grand Palace and most importantly the service of our staff. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and being very kind to recommend Viengtai to TripAdvisor.com

Thank you for choosing to stay with us & we very much look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Best regards,

Suttirak K.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Banglamphu
Dang Derm Hotel
Dang Derm Hotel
#378 of 880 in Bangkok
1,056 reviews
Banglamphu
Buddy Lodge Hotel
Buddy Lodge Hotel
#172 of 880 in Bangkok
1,312 reviews
Banglamphu
Nouvo City Hotel
Nouvo City Hotel
#173 of 880 in Bangkok
1,246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Banglamphu
Rikka Inn
Rikka Inn
#361 of 880 in Bangkok
1,307 reviews
Banglamphu
Rambuttri Village Inn & Plaza
Banglamphu
Chillax Resort
Chillax Resort
#139 of 880 in Bangkok
1,578 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ibis Styles Bangkok Khaosan Viengtai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ibis Styles Bangkok Khaosan Viengtai

Address: 42 Rambuttri Road | Banglampu, Bangkok 10200, Thailand (Formerly Viengtai Hotel)
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Banglamphu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #169 of 880 Hotels in Bangkok
Price Range: £43 - £69 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — ibis Styles Bangkok Khaosan Viengtai 3.5*
Number of rooms: 215
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ibis Styles Bangkok Khaosan Viengtai offer a place of comfort with its rooms that boast inspiring and upbeat designs on every floor plus all the modern facilities including powerful WIFI to every visitor. A unique way to experience Khaosan and Bangkok right at its heart. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), ACCOR, HostelWorld, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your ibis Styles Bangkok Khaosan Viengtai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Viengtai Hotel Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing