We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
ibis Styles Bangkok Khaosan Viengtai
Ranked #205 of 862 Hotels in Bangkok
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great location”
Reviewed 4 January 2014

perfect location - close to khao San rd and all the exciting tourist areas. Good for walking and picking up a tuk tuk. Beautiful big room, excellent service, very clean and quiet and free wifi. The pool is nice and peaceful. Lovely helpful staff. All good

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChickieDo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Viengtai, General Manager at ibis Styles Bangkok Khaosan Viengtai, responded to this review, 9 January 2014
Dear ChickieDo,

Thank you for sharing with us your review! It is our pleasure to have you as our guest. We are glad that your stay with us was to your satisfaction and that of your commendation towards our team's efficient service. The team at Viengtai Hotel looks forward to welcoming you again for another great experience in the near future!

Best regards,

Suttirak K.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

842 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    134
    384
    247
    49
    28
See reviews for
116
262
112
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (169)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014

We stayed at Viengtai for six nights in mid-December, 2013. As mentioned in most other reviews, the hotel is situated close to Khao San road, and the vibe on the street outside is very similar during the day and night (drink, eat, drink some more), perhaps only a little more laid back. Viengtai is within walking distance (15-20 minutes) of a number of historical sites (Grand Palace, Wat Pho etc.), but it's important to get your hands on a good, detailed map before setting out.

Pros:

- Rambuttri, along with Khao San, can be something of a sanctuary after a long, hot day exploring other parts of Bangkok; there are plenty of street food stalls and bars right on Viengtai's doorstep geared towards tourists. At the same time, if you want a more upmarket, luxury experience, you have to trek to the other side of town (Sukhumvit road), more or less, and this can be a bit tricky with buses (like the number 15) that only seem to come once an hour or so.

- Room was clean when we arrived and kept well-maintained by housekeeping for the duration of our stay.

- Buffet breakfast is pretty decent, offering a mix of Thai and Western options. Good to fill-up on and save a bit of time/money during the day.

- Free WIFI, BUT you have to get a new password each day from the front desk.

Cons:

- Getting information about tours, transport, local maps, etc. from front desk was a bit hit-and- miss; some of the staff seemed to have absolutely no idea what was going on, while others where very helpful. Be persistent! A couple of times the front desk tried to direct us to "information service" offices within the foyer which were really just tour operators looking to make a quick buck.

- Like the above, the front desk will generally suggest you get a taxi to your destination, and don't (or won't) provide any clear, reliable information (probably 'cause there isn't any) about public bus transport) in the area. We used the number 15 bus to Siam Square which stopped on the corner of Rambuttri and Chakrabongse, 1 minute walk from Viengtai.

- Laundry service can be a bit pricey for budget travellers (owing to the Thai VAT and service taxes) and are on a per-item basis that can add up very quickly.

Overall, a fine option which we would recommend to mid-range travellers, just do your research on the area and make sure it's what you're after. Next time we'd probably stay somewhere more upmarket along Sukhumvit road and surrounding area, which has the added bonus of easy access to the air-conditioned Sky Train.

Room Tip: Our room on the north side (facing away from Rambuttri) was quiet and got decent light.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CeeEmBee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Viengtai, General Manager at ibis Styles Bangkok Khaosan Viengtai, responded to this review, 9 January 2014
Dear CeeEmBee,

Thank you for your review. It was a pleasure to note that you liked our hotel location, breakfast, and room cleanliness. We sincerely appreciate your feedback about front desk staff.
At Viengtai hotel, we strongly believe that it is our duty to provide all our guests with warm hospitality service throughout their stay. We will continue to strive to provide better services with continuous and extensive training for our staff. We hope this isolated incident has not marred your overall accommodation experience with us and we hope to welcome you to Viengtai hotel once again.

Best regards,

Suttirak K.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tauranga, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2014 via mobile

This hotel is in a perfect location - close to khao San rd and all the exciting tourist areas but everything is in walking distance, there is heaps going on all around. Beautiful big room, excellent service, very clean and quiet and free wifi. The pool is nice and peaceful. Lovely helpful staff. Highly recommend!!

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank MadiJones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Viengtai, General Manager at ibis Styles Bangkok Khaosan Viengtai, responded to this review, 2 January 2014
Dear MadiJones,

It was a pleasure to note that you were impressed with our Hotel location, room, amenities, pool and most importantly the service of our staff. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and very kind to recommend Viengtai to TripAdvisor.com

Thank you for choosing to stay with us & we very much look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best regards,

Suttirak K.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bratislava
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2013

Hotel is located very closely to khao san road and in a walking distance from all the main tourist attractions - temples and palaces. There is a great choice of eating options - ranging from very cheap street food , through various restaurants to the well-known brands - Mc Donald, Burger King...
The rooms are decent for the price, nothing special, furniture bit older, bathroom ok. We had standard room in the old wing, maybe the more expensive rooms are in better condition...
The only disadvantage was that its impossible to sleep quietly as our windows were oriented directly to the busy and noisy road - Rambuttri.
Maybe they have more quiet rooms....we stayed just few nights, so decided not to change the room and it was new years eve so it was busy and noisy anywhere anyway :)
The pool I did not try, as the water was veery cold and also I was not sure about the water cleanliness.

Room Tip: Ask for quiet room if you want to get some sleep and do not want to be in a disco the whole night
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Sally843
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Viengtai, General Manager at ibis Styles Bangkok Khaosan Viengtai, responded to this review, 2 January 2014
Dear Sally843,


Thank you for sharing with us your feedback. We are pleased to learn that you like our location which is very close to KhaoSan area. Also we regret to learn that your sleeping quality was less than your expectation. As our valued guest, we sincerely appreciate your comments which will be seriously look into. The constructive criticism will help us to improve and render better service standard to our guests.

Best regards,
Suttirak K.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warsaw, Poland
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2013

Very nice stay. You should peak rooms in the higher floors. There are plenty of restaurants around, and the street is much nicer and quiter than Kao San. We decided to stay there at the beginning of our stayed in Thalinad (3 nights) and before leaving (1 night). Great vacation.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MagdalenkaWaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Viengtai, General Manager at ibis Styles Bangkok Khaosan Viengtai, responded to this review, 2 January 2014
Dear MagdalenkaWaw,

We are delighted to know that your stay was pleasant and that you enjoyed your experiences as well. Thank you for taking your time to share your experience and we look forward to welcoming you again.

Best regards,

Suttirak K.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for one night in December. Good points - very close to the heart of the action, two streets away from the khao San road. Bad points - depending on which room you have don't expect an amazing nights sleep, the road it is on is busy pretty much all night, just about tolerable with earplugs. The bathroom was very dated, and the shower was very low. But,what would you expect for a budget hotel?

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sirtravellotLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Viengtai, General Manager at ibis Styles Bangkok Khaosan Viengtai, responded to this review, 2 January 2014
Dear sirtravellotLondon,

Thank you for your review and feedback valued comments to us. We are glad that you liked our location which is most comfortable hotel in Khaosan area. We also take note your comments on various services area in order to improving them to meet guest's expectation and satisfaction.
We look forward to welcome you back in the near future and found the improvement.

Best regards,

Suttirak K.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dapto, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2013

The Viengtai is in an awesome location in Bangkok city, on a busy street full of markets and restaurants, with a very lively atmosphere. For a budget hotel, it was more than what I expected it to be, with a very welcoming foyer and lovely staff, clean and comfortable rooms, and free wifi. The only slight down point was the noise from the street outside of our window. I sleep like a rock, but my friend was up during the night until the street started to quieten down around 3am. Still, I enjoyed my stay at this hotel!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gem537
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Viengtai, General Manager at ibis Styles Bangkok Khaosan Viengtai, responded to this review, 2 January 2014
Dear Gem537,

It is with our pleasure to have accommodated you and thank you for sharing your experience. We are pleased to hear that you had an enjoyable stay and hope to welcome you again to our hotel soon.

Best regards,
Suttirak K.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Banglamphu
Buddy Lodge Hotel
Buddy Lodge Hotel
#173 of 862 in Bangkok
1,283 reviews
Banglamphu
Dang Derm Hotel
Dang Derm Hotel
#369 of 862 in Bangkok
1,027 reviews
Banglamphu
Rikka Inn
Rikka Inn
#348 of 862 in Bangkok
1,290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Banglamphu
Nouvo City Hotel
Nouvo City Hotel
#170 of 862 in Bangkok
1,199 reviews
Banglamphu
Villa Cha-Cha
Villa Cha-Cha
#361 of 862 in Bangkok
726 reviews
Banglamphu
Rambuttri Village Inn & Plaza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ibis Styles Bangkok Khaosan Viengtai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ibis Styles Bangkok Khaosan Viengtai

Property: ibis Styles Bangkok Khaosan Viengtai
Address: 42 Rambuttri Road | Banglampu, Bangkok 10200, Thailand (Formerly Viengtai Hotel)
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Banglamphu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #205 of 862 Hotels in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — ibis Styles Bangkok Khaosan Viengtai 3.5*
Number of rooms: 215
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ibis Styles Bangkok Khaosan Viengtai offer a place of comfort with its rooms that boast inspiring and upbeat designs on every floor plus all the modern facilities including powerful WIFI to every visitor. A unique way to experience Khaosan and Bangkok right at its heart. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, HostelWorld, Ebookers, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your ibis Styles Bangkok Khaosan Viengtai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Viengtai Hotel Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing