We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, but noisey”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
ibis Styles Bangkok Khaosan Viengtai
Ranked #165 of 885 Hotels in Bangkok
Reviewed 12 January 2014

Stayed here many times, but now I find the quality has dropped. The noise from outside & people coming in late drunk disturbs sleep. Not good if you have to be up early. The room are a bit tired now, Although they were updated a few years ago. The breakfast is buffet & they have a great choice. Better eat breakfast here than going out. Would I stay here again? Until I find a quieter hotel in the area at this price point, then yes.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back on the upper floors are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SnapperBot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Viengtai, General Manager at ibis Styles Bangkok Khaosan Viengtai, responded to this reviewResponded 17 January 2014

Dear SnapperBot,

Thank you for returning your stay at Viengtai Hotel after years. We are pleased that you like our location and quality of breakfast which could make you full for day long.
Please note that we have plan to implement sound protection as well as refurbishing all the guest rooms by 2014.
We sincerely hope that you would consider to stay wih us again on your next Bangkok visit.

Best regards,

Suttirak K.
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (908)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

240 - 246 of 908 reviews

Reviewed 11 January 2014

I spent the night here as part of a group trip. I rated the hotel average because it was exactly that - average. Despite that fact, I wouldn't want to spend more than one night here.

Pros: #1 The room was clean and the linens were also clean. #2 The hotel is within walking distance of a water taxi stop and easy to get to other locations. #3 The staff was helpful.

Cons: #1 The mattress was hard. I like a little give and I didn't get it. I felt as though I was sleeping on concrete with a sheet. #2 The bathtub is very small and narrow. It was awkward getting in and trying to make a turn. #3 There is a raised threshold going into the bathroom. Be sure to watch your step, especially if you need to use the bathroom in the dark or the middle of the night.

Recommendations: When taking a shower, be sure to turn both of the spigots open as far as they will go. The first time I took a shower I turned the spigots on only partway and the water was barely above a trickle. The second time I turned everything on fully and the water came out at full speed.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank appetite4trvl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Viengtai, General Manager at ibis Styles Bangkok Khaosan Viengtai, responded to this reviewResponded 17 January 2014

Dear appetite4trvl,

We sincerely thank you for choosing our hotel. We have started rectifying all the concerns that you have mentioned, and have started plan to improve and refurbish guest guest rooms in 2014. Once again thank you for your comment and we really appreciate it.
Looking forward to welcome you back to Viengtai hotel soon.

Best regards,

Suttirak K.
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2014

I stayed here before an Intrepid tour. It's okay, rooms are clean and it is very close to some key bangkok attractions. However it is very noisy at night and service leaves a little but to be desired.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
Thank marzy000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Viengtai, General Manager at ibis Styles Bangkok Khaosan Viengtai, responded to this reviewResponded 17 January 2014

Dear marzy000,

Thank you for sharing your review with us. We are delighted that you like our location and cleanliness of guest room here. We are planning to start sound protection project in guest rooms on Rambuttri side.
We look forward to serve you again in the future.

Best regards,

Suttirak K.
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2014

Great location within easy walk of the river and the emerald Buddha. Good breakfast, ok wifi - slow at times, staff were helpful and the room comfortable. There are a range of eating options in the busy tourist focused street outside. Our room overlooking the pool got no noise.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Phil T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Viengtai, General Manager at ibis Styles Bangkok Khaosan Viengtai, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2014

Dear Phil T,

We are delighted to know that your stay was pleasant and that you enjoyed your experiences as well. Thank you for taking your time to share your experience and we look forward to welcoming you again.

Best regards,

Suttirak K.
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2014

Our first time in thailand, so this was a great first choice.
A short cut to khao san road right outside the hotel, so you still can be in the middle of the hustle and bustle, but when you get a bit tired, the hotel is right next by so you can chill out for a while before heading out again.

We had the deluxe room on the pool side, 7th floor. No noise from the street, clean and quiet, unless you have noisy neighboors.
It's a bit old,could use a paintjob, but the rest is well decorated.

The staff speaks good english, is efficient, and they always help you out if there's anything. We even got a piccolo when we arrived.
Breakfast had a great variation, warm and cold food. Worth having paid for breakfast when i ordered through hotels.com

There is a lot of taxi drivers and tuk-tuk drivers outside the hotel, a bit annoying, but ignore them. Smile and say no thank you.

Tons of knick knack shops, pharmacy, atm's and plenty of enough food choices. After 4pm it's packed in the streets until morning. Not a far walk to the chao praya.

Will recommend this hotel to friends and family.

Room Tip: If you just want s simple room and not deluxe and superior, don't worry, the ordinary rooms look...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LailaTB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Viengtai, General Manager at ibis Styles Bangkok Khaosan Viengtai, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2014

Dear LailaTB,

We are thrilled to learn that you had an overall enjoyable stay with us and that you were more than satisfied with the Hotel location, rooms, Breakfast and most importantly the service of our staff.

Thank you for posting such an amazing review of our Hotel following your recent stay with us. Your kind comments will go a long way in keeping the team motivated to continue offering our guests quality service.

Thank you for choosing Viengtai Hotel and we look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Best regards,

Suttirak K.
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2014

I stayed in this hotel for a few nights and was happy with the place.
It is well situated close to Khao San road for the fun, yet provides an opportunity for some much needed quiet (in the rooms that are not facing the street).
The rooms are nice, quite spacious and clean. There is a nice corner for a pool and decent breakfast included in the price. The staff is very helpful and a pleasure to deal with. All this at a good budget price.
The hotel is big and well-known, so taxis never had an issue finding it.
A good place to stay when you want a budget option close to the action.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that is not on the street-side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank _xKeu_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Viengtai, General Manager at ibis Styles Bangkok Khaosan Viengtai, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2014

Dear Kertu,

Thank you for staying with us during your Bangkok visit.
It is our great pleasure to receive your ratings and comments. We appreciate your kind praises for our hotel and the location of it. We are glad we were able to exceed your expectations and make you feel relaxed and comfortable.

Best regards,

Suttirak K.
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2014

perfect location - close to khao San rd and all the exciting tourist areas. Good for walking and picking up a tuk tuk. Beautiful big room, excellent service, very clean and quiet and free wifi. The pool is nice and peaceful. Lovely helpful staff. All good

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ChickieDo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Viengtai, General Manager at ibis Styles Bangkok Khaosan Viengtai, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2014

Dear ChickieDo,

Thank you for sharing with us your review! It is our pleasure to have you as our guest. We are glad that your stay with us was to your satisfaction and that of your commendation towards our team's efficient service. The team at Viengtai Hotel looks forward to welcoming you again for another great experience in the near future!

Best regards,

Suttirak K.
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Banglamphu
Buddy Lodge Hotel
Buddy Lodge Hotel
#180 of 885 in Bangkok
1,318 reviews
Banglamphu
Dang Derm Hotel
Dang Derm Hotel
#364 of 885 in Bangkok
1,066 reviews
Banglamphu
Nouvo City Hotel
Nouvo City Hotel
#173 of 885 in Bangkok
1,259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Banglamphu
Rambuttri Village Inn & Plaza
Banglamphu
Chillax Resort
Chillax Resort
#141 of 885 in Bangkok
1,600 reviews
Banglamphu
Villa Cha-Cha
Villa Cha-Cha
#351 of 885 in Bangkok
752 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ibis Styles Bangkok Khaosan Viengtai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ibis Styles Bangkok Khaosan Viengtai

Address: 42 Rambuttri Road | Banglampu, Bangkok 10200, Thailand (Formerly Viengtai Hotel)
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Banglamphu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #165 of 885 Hotels in Bangkok
Price Range: £48 - £72 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — ibis Styles Bangkok Khaosan Viengtai 3.5*
Number of rooms: 215
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ibis Styles Bangkok Khaosan Viengtai offer a place of comfort with its rooms that boast inspiring and upbeat designs on every floor plus all the modern facilities including powerful WIFI to every visitor. A unique way to experience Khaosan and Bangkok right at its heart. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, LoveHolidays, HostelWorld, Agoda, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your ibis Styles Bangkok Khaosan Viengtai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Viengtai Hotel Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing