We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good position”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
ibis Styles Bangkok Khaosan Viengtai
Ranked #159 of 885 Hotels in Bangkok
Reviewed 13 January 2014

I stayed 3 nights in this hotel. Standard two-beds room. The room was large and confortable, large beds, as well as a large but dark toilette. Rich yet quite expensive breakfast.
Located in a very good and touristic area with bars and restaurants, as well as a rich street market open until late night. Quite noisy being in the middle of the night life of Khao San Road.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Momimos78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Viengtai, General Manager at ibis Styles Bangkok Khaosan Viengtai, responded to this reviewResponded 17 January 2014

Dear Momimos78,

We appreciate your time to share your experiences and thank you for your comments. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay and we hope to welcome you again soon.

Best regards,

Suttirak K.
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (909)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

238 - 244 of 909 reviews

Reviewed 13 January 2014 via mobile

The hotel's location is absolutely perfect. Smack bang in the tourist district, ten minutes walk from the Grand Palace.

However, the hotel itself is somewhat lacking. Air con and room were great (nice size), but bathroom was subpar. Low roof and one light out. The drains didn't always work which lead to some minor bathroom flooding.

All in all, worth it for the location.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Morgan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Viengtai, General Manager at ibis Styles Bangkok Khaosan Viengtai, responded to this reviewResponded 17 January 2014

Dear Morgan L,

Thank you for staying with us during your Bangkok visit. It is our great pleasure to receive your ratings and comments. We appreciate your kind praises for your hotel and the location of it.
We look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.

Best regards,

Suttirak K.
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2014

We enjoyed Viengtai, which has an air conditioned lobby and friendly staff. We were fortunate that we got a room upgrade when we checked-in. We were also extremely fortunate that they allowed us to check-in a few hours before the scheduled check-in time. The room was nice, we heard some of the noise from the bars below at night, but it wasn't too bad, especially compared to other hotels we have stayed at in the area. The internet was spotty at times, but overall not too bad. The location of the hotel was great - walking distance to various bars, restaurants, massage places, temples, cultural sights, markets, etc. We had three to a room and the cot was a bit hard and uncomfortable; however, the existing room beds were comfortable.

Room Tip: ask for a room that is NOT facing Rambuttri to minimize noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alli I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Viengtai, General Manager at ibis Styles Bangkok Khaosan Viengtai, responded to this reviewResponded 17 January 2014

Dear Alli A,

We thank you for your compliments on the past stay with us. It is our commitment that each guest stays with us becomes "family" in sharing their needs for Classic, Comfort , Cool Location.
Thank you once again and we do hope you would continue to make our hotel being your choice for next visit in Bangkok.

Best regards

Suttirak K.
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2014

Stayed here many times, but now I find the quality has dropped. The noise from outside & people coming in late drunk disturbs sleep. Not good if you have to be up early. The room are a bit tired now, Although they were updated a few years ago. The breakfast is buffet & they have a great choice. Better eat breakfast here than going out. Would I stay here again? Until I find a quieter hotel in the area at this price point, then yes.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back on the upper floors are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SnapperBot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Viengtai, General Manager at ibis Styles Bangkok Khaosan Viengtai, responded to this reviewResponded 17 January 2014

Dear SnapperBot,

Thank you for returning your stay at Viengtai Hotel after years. We are pleased that you like our location and quality of breakfast which could make you full for day long.
Please note that we have plan to implement sound protection as well as refurbishing all the guest rooms by 2014.
We sincerely hope that you would consider to stay wih us again on your next Bangkok visit.

Best regards,

Suttirak K.
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2014

I spent the night here as part of a group trip. I rated the hotel average because it was exactly that - average. Despite that fact, I wouldn't want to spend more than one night here.

Pros: #1 The room was clean and the linens were also clean. #2 The hotel is within walking distance of a water taxi stop and easy to get to other locations. #3 The staff was helpful.

Cons: #1 The mattress was hard. I like a little give and I didn't get it. I felt as though I was sleeping on concrete with a sheet. #2 The bathtub is very small and narrow. It was awkward getting in and trying to make a turn. #3 There is a raised threshold going into the bathroom. Be sure to watch your step, especially if you need to use the bathroom in the dark or the middle of the night.

Recommendations: When taking a shower, be sure to turn both of the spigots open as far as they will go. The first time I took a shower I turned the spigots on only partway and the water was barely above a trickle. The second time I turned everything on fully and the water came out at full speed.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank appetite4trvl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Viengtai, General Manager at ibis Styles Bangkok Khaosan Viengtai, responded to this reviewResponded 17 January 2014

Dear appetite4trvl,

We sincerely thank you for choosing our hotel. We have started rectifying all the concerns that you have mentioned, and have started plan to improve and refurbish guest guest rooms in 2014. Once again thank you for your comment and we really appreciate it.
Looking forward to welcome you back to Viengtai hotel soon.

Best regards,

Suttirak K.
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2014

I stayed here before an Intrepid tour. It's okay, rooms are clean and it is very close to some key bangkok attractions. However it is very noisy at night and service leaves a little but to be desired.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
Thank marzy000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Viengtai, General Manager at ibis Styles Bangkok Khaosan Viengtai, responded to this reviewResponded 17 January 2014

Dear marzy000,

Thank you for sharing your review with us. We are delighted that you like our location and cleanliness of guest room here. We are planning to start sound protection project in guest rooms on Rambuttri side.
We look forward to serve you again in the future.

Best regards,

Suttirak K.
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2014

Great location within easy walk of the river and the emerald Buddha. Good breakfast, ok wifi - slow at times, staff were helpful and the room comfortable. There are a range of eating options in the busy tourist focused street outside. Our room overlooking the pool got no noise.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Phil T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Viengtai, General Manager at ibis Styles Bangkok Khaosan Viengtai, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2014

Dear Phil T,

We are delighted to know that your stay was pleasant and that you enjoyed your experiences as well. Thank you for taking your time to share your experience and we look forward to welcoming you again.

Best regards,

Suttirak K.
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Banglamphu
Buddy Lodge Hotel
Buddy Lodge Hotel
#179 of 885 in Bangkok
1,320 reviews
Banglamphu
Dang Derm Hotel
Dang Derm Hotel
#367 of 885 in Bangkok
1,066 reviews
Banglamphu
Nouvo City Hotel
Nouvo City Hotel
#172 of 885 in Bangkok
1,261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Banglamphu
Chillax Resort
Chillax Resort
#141 of 885 in Bangkok
1,604 reviews
Banglamphu
Rambuttri Village Inn & Plaza
Banglamphu
Lamphu Tree House
Lamphu Tree House
#148 of 885 in Bangkok
1,840 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ibis Styles Bangkok Khaosan Viengtai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ibis Styles Bangkok Khaosan Viengtai

Address: 42 Rambuttri Road | Banglampu, Bangkok 10200, Thailand (Formerly Viengtai Hotel)
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Banglamphu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #159 of 885 Hotels in Bangkok
Price Range: £49 - £72 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — ibis Styles Bangkok Khaosan Viengtai 3.5*
Number of rooms: 215
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ibis Styles Bangkok Khaosan Viengtai offer a place of comfort with its rooms that boast inspiring and upbeat designs on every floor plus all the modern facilities including powerful WIFI to every visitor. A unique way to experience Khaosan and Bangkok right at its heart. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, ACCOR, Ctrip TA, Agoda, HostelWorld, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your ibis Styles Bangkok Khaosan Viengtai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Viengtai Hotel Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing