We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Decent hotel, really good location, not the greatest staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
ibis Styles Bangkok Khaosan Viengtai
Ranked #298 of 852 Hotels in Bangkok
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
78 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Decent hotel, really good location, not the greatest staff”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2014

Stayed here in December of 2013 with a friend of mine. The hotel in itself is very nice, modern and an excellent location. Super close to so much good shopping, food and walking distance to walking street.

The wifi is awful, and the rooms are very regular but clean. The staff are not the friendliest but they get the job done.

The best part of this hotel is the location.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank killershay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Viengtai, General Manager at ibis Styles Bangkok Khaosan Viengtai, responded to this review, 27 March 2014
Dear killershay

Thank you for your constructive feedback. Our hotel is surrounded by shopping centers, famous eateries and leisure activities; thus offering guests an all-rounded shopping, eating, leisure and cultural experience of the Grand Palace. Guests can be assured of a stay in an area that is self-sufficient, without having the need to travel into the congested city area.

Coming now to our receptionists, we are sorry that you had the impression that they were not up to the Viengtai highest standard. I am very concern to learn of your disappointment in our staff manner. I have shared your comments with Front Office team and we will address the quality issues you have brought to our attention. We will also address the WIFI connection weaknesses you have highlighted with internet team to ensure our guests satisfactory.

Please accept our sincere apologies for any inconvenience endured during your stay and sincerely hope that you will allow us the opportunity to serve you better in the future.

Best Regards

Suttiruk K.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

791 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    104
    368
    243
    48
    28
See reviews for
102
248
101
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (164)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2014 via mobile

We stayed for 6 nights at the Viengtai for sightseeing and shopping in Bangkok.
The location is great as you just step out of the doors straight in to the busy Khao San streets.
The breakfast was nice and we also ate at the restaurant which was good.
The breakfast and restaurant staff were very friendly and were great with our children.
The Bell Captain was very helpful suggesting a shopping mall in a safer area after riots near the MBK/Siam Sq area. He also helped us get a taxi to a weekend market after the first taxi we asked outside wanted over double the going price.
Our only disappointment was that the toddler pool was closed and the noise of some of the other guests on a Saturday night trying to hammer doors down and shouting in the early hours.

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Louise J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Viengtai, General Manager at ibis Styles Bangkok Khaosan Viengtai, responded to this review, 17 March 2014
Dear Louise J

We are grateful for your appreciation towards our effort in providing quality service and facility. This certainly spurs our team to further endeavor towards achieving fineness.

I have shared your encouraging words and recognized our ladies and gentleman on the intutive service they rendered to you and your family during your stay.

We do apologies for the lapse in toddler pool service. At the time toddler pool was in maintenance period for two days. With the noise I am thrilled to share that we have re-designed and renovated the entire hotel. Can’t wait to host you back on your next visit with our hotel spanking new look.

Best Regards

Suttirak K.
General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Medan, Indonesia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2014

Just walk out from the hotel, you may find many foreigners are walking. Love the night time. Easy to find food, near to Wat Bovoronives. Very happening places. Best location to stay, but poor wifi in the room, you have to sit in lobby sofa for free internet services. Overall, nice place to stay, will come back again some days.

Room Tip: all is good
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suriaty C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Viengtai, General Manager at ibis Styles Bangkok Khaosan Viengtai, responded to this review, 13 March 2014
Dear Suriaty C

Our fabulous location is well liked by many and definitely you Suriaty, thank you very much.

Your feedback on our hotel’s facilities is much gratifying and I would like to take this opportunity to assure you that Viengtai is indeed in the process of implementing upgrades throughout hotel.

We apologies for internet ill-timed occurred during your stay at Viengtai. At the time hotel internet connection was in the midst of transferring to the latest system to provide the best there is for our guests. However, internet transmitting has been functional ever since.

Pleasure on us to have you as a guest and we anticipate looking after you on your next visitation.

Best Regards

Suittirak K.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2014

We stayed just one night in Viengtai hotel after arriving from the airport. It is situated in the street parallel to Khaosan Road (two minutes away). Although our room was facing to the street it wasn't noisy.
The people working at the reception were very friendly and the Check-In was easy. We had a clean room with air-condition for 1840 Baht per night. There was a pool in the backyard with extra towels.
SInce we were travelling as backpackers we switched into a cheaper hotel (Lamphu House).

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank kari s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Viengtai, General Manager at ibis Styles Bangkok Khaosan Viengtai, responded to this review, 17 March 2014
Dear Kari S.

Taking time to share your positive and constructive feedback is the finest encouragement we could ever ask for.

Our Receptionists are well accustomed to caring for our guest in the most responsive and personalized way. My team and I continue to work hard to deliver great stay experiences through our service and facilities. You will also be pleased to know that we are in a heartbeat of future enhancement all over the hotel.

It is regretted that our competitive pricing wasn’t suit your needs. However, it will be our privilege to welcome you back on your next return to Thailand.

Best Regards

Suttirak K.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level Contributor
71 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2014 via mobile

The hotel has a great location! Right by Khao San Rd, everything is really at your fingertips. The room was average, but I guess it was good enough to sleep, rest, and freshen up. You really aren't spending a lot of time in the hotel when there is so much to explore anyhow. I must say that the AC in my room was broken, but I did not bother to call the front desk since it was pretty late when I realized it and was too tired to wait any longer to go to sleep. The breakfast buffet was excellent. They had western and Thai food. I stock with the Thai food and had some of the best red curry with chicken I've had. I would stay in the hotel since I enjoyed its excellent location but would ensure that the AC works as soon as I check in.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank CJToti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Viengtai, General Manager at ibis Styles Bangkok Khaosan Viengtai, responded to this review, 6 March 2014
Dear CJToti

Hotel nested in the heart of historic Khao San Road that offers authentic experience of Thai culture, you absolutely right that there is much to explore.

Please accept our sincere apology as the AC in your room was broken. We will definitely share the element of your review in details within the team for instant improvement.

I am joyful that you had pleasure on our well selected breakfast at Rosirin restaurant. I will pass on your message to culinary team, certainly they will be delighted.

Best Regards

Suttirak K.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunshine Coast, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2014

Right on crazy Koh San road. Old looking hotel but very clean and well appointed inside. Hideaway pool area where you may well be the only swimmer. Great buffet breakfast included.
Find your walking shortcut to the Phra Atit ferry pier, and you'll have a Baht 40 ticket to just about anywhere in Bangkok.
A bit silly that you have to pay a cash deposit for your room key, but I guess too many tourists have gone home with them.
Recommended.

Room Tip: Rooms to the back of the hotel are the more quiet ones.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Billy044
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Viengtai, General Manager at ibis Styles Bangkok Khaosan Viengtai, responded to this review, 6 March 2014
Dear Billy044

Much appreciate your favorable comment regarding your experience at Viengtai to be considered as clean, well appointed and great buffet breakfast.

Your review makes us swollen with pride and more passionate to please our guests. Apologies for inconvenient occurred to you regards room key deposit and thank you for being generous to recognize our responsibility.

Nonetheless, guest review helps us getting better in overall visitor experience, Thank you once again for sharing your opinion. Look forward to you host you on your next stay with us.

Best Regards

Suttirak K.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2014

I used this hotel twice on my 2 month trip as I based myself in Bangkok. The hotel is in a convenient location - walking distance or short tuk-tuk journey to the Grand Palace and Wat Pho. There's plenty going on around the hotel as it's in back-packer central! The rooms are spacious and clean, although those at the front overlook the noisy night scene which carries on til after midnight, so if you want a quiet room ask for one at the back. Staff were brilliant - very helpful and obliging and I personally thought the breakfast buffet was brilliant and good value (150Baht) and starts at 6.30am if you have an early start. It was a little bit pricey for my budget, but do look for deals on the Internet as the price varies.

Room Tip: Ask for one at the back if you want a quiet night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Manichouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Viengtai, General Manager at ibis Styles Bangkok Khaosan Viengtai, responded to this review, 26 February 2014
Dear Mainchouse

We are indeed privileged to be located on the golden spot of shopping and entertainment along with attractions.
Absolutely love your feedback; it is an affirmative to the service and the restaurant that my team and I work hard to accomplish guests’ supreme fulfillment.
We can’t wait to hosting you back again soon- the world famous Thai new year 13-15 April would definitely be a great time for you.

Best Regards

Suttirak K.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Banglamphu
Buddy Lodge Hotel
Buddy Lodge Hotel
#187 of 852 in Bangkok
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,233 reviews
Banglamphu
Villa Cha-Cha
Villa Cha-Cha
#359 of 852 in Bangkok
3.5 of 5 bubbles 714 reviews
Banglamphu
Rambuttri House
Rambuttri House
#443 of 852 in Bangkok
3.5 of 5 bubbles 288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Banglamphu
Rambuttri Village Inn & Plaza
Banglamphu
Dang Derm Hotel
Dang Derm Hotel
#358 of 852 in Bangkok
3.5 of 5 bubbles 998 reviews
Banglamphu
Rikka Inn
Rikka Inn
#343 of 852 in Bangkok
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ibis Styles Bangkok Khaosan Viengtai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ibis Styles Bangkok Khaosan Viengtai

Property: ibis Styles Bangkok Khaosan Viengtai
Address: 42 Rambuttri Road | Banglampu, Bangkok 10200, Thailand (Formerly Viengtai Hotel)
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Banglamphu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #298 of 852 Hotels in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — ibis Styles Bangkok Khaosan Viengtai 3.5*
Number of rooms: 215
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ibis Styles Bangkok Khaosan Viengtai offer a place of comfort with its rooms that boast inspiring and upbeat designs on every floor plus all the modern facilities including powerful WIFI to every visitor. A unique way to experience Khaosan and Bangkok right at its heart. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your ibis Styles Bangkok Khaosan Viengtai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Viengtai Hotel Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing