We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good base to explore from”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
ibis Styles Bangkok Khaosan Viengtai
Ranked #133 of 891 Hotels in Bangkok
Reviewed 30 August 2014

The Viengtai hotel is standard in every way, that is not a problem, the rooms are clean you can communicate with staff who are helpful, food is pleasant. What this hotel has going for it is its location it is a fantastic base to explore from, just get in a tuk tuk and Bangkok belongs to you.
Grand Palace and Wat Phra Kaew are close buy you got the Sky Train and Weekend Market hop on a boat and get a good view of the city.
If you want to go a bit further you can within a few hours you have Hellfire Pass, Kwai.
On a personal level i found it easy to get lost in the City (my own fault after exploring late one evening) take a hotel card with you and just show it to a taxi driver, they will get you to the hotel.
Bangkok is a totally amazing place with its hustle and bustle, smells and sights i loved it always felt safe and i dream of coming back, a truly fantastic place.
ps buy some Yellow Oil great for bites.cuts, scratches and all manner of things, to me its Bangkok in a bottle.

Adam

Room Tip: Not for everyone but higher up better the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank adaml007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Viengtai, General Manager at ibis Styles Bangkok Khaosan Viengtai, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2014

Dear Adaml007

It was a pleasure taking care of you last time you were here also wonderful to read your compliment on our team’s top service right start at the beginning, good communication skill reception, helpful bell boy, clean rooms and pleasant food (took liberty borrowing your words).

Our magnificent location has escalate liked by many as it has no effort made to access restaurants, shops, sight-seeing etc. And yes, if you happen to get lost, only take a hotel card along (thanks to you Adam). There will be no trouble finding way back, as Viengtai arrange 24 hours operator to support guest needs.

You said you dream of coming back, that’s make two of us fantasy the same dream. It would be great honor to host you again. Please add rsvn@viengtai.co.th as a friend, when the dream came true you’d know where to look for.

Best Regards

Suttiruk K.
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (952)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

192 - 198 of 952 reviews

Reviewed 24 August 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights on our arrival to Bangkok. Arrived late in the evening and were helped to our room with our bags by the hotel porter, reception staff were helpful and spoke good English. Our room was a little dated but clean and spacious with a comfortable bed and all the standard amenities. Although if you're tall like me prepare to kneel down in the shower! There was a bit of noise from the street but nothing too loud and lairy considering the location. Buffet breakfast was available at a reasonable price and was one of the best we had on our SE Asia trip

Situated on Soi Rambuttri and just off Khao San - a great location for backpackers and despite our hideous jet-lag we went straight out to sample the atmosphere, drinks and amazing street food on offer. Location is also a very good base for seeing the main sights with Taxi and Tuk-Tuk drivers lurking around ready to whisk you away (but beware the scammers and make sure the taxi driver uses his meter!)

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AB1411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Viengtai, General Manager at ibis Styles Bangkok Khaosan Viengtai, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2014

Dear AB1411

I am cheerful to hear our Viengtai efficient, friendly, well trained staffs have made another guest happy and assist them while just got off a long flight, tiring from jet-lag. As much obvious the service Viengtai provides is accommodation, we also place large emphasis on Food and Beverage to have guests receive not only clean room but quality reasonable price breakfast as well.

On your next visit I recommend to try our authentic, long history recipes Thai dinner with lots of detail, attention paid into every single ingredient, at least three and up to four or five fundamental taste senses in each dish.

Great to see that you found Viengtai met your location expectation, as a result seemingly you had discovered a true Bangkok atmosphere. Reach us at rsvn@viengtai.co.th when you are thinking of rewind back great memory.

Best Regards

Suttiruk K.
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2014

stayed here twice on our trip first time two nights in a room overlooking the pool found it to be nice and quiet clean , safe did not work. Second time on our return promised upgraded room did not happen had a room at front of hotel overlooking street no safe but clean had to go and get ear plugs as noise did not stop till 2/3 . Pool was a nice treat in the heat Breakfast was nothing special the hot food was cold as the burners under them not lit on two of the mornings but the egg ommlets were good wifi did not work but termanal in foyar worked most of the time

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank zulu80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Viengtai, General Manager at ibis Styles Bangkok Khaosan Viengtai, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2014

Dear Zulu80

Your time is most certainly precious, for you to spare it writing us a review is worthy. Thank you for choosing Viengtai Hotel for two times. I am pleased your first visit went well, frustrate at the same time to hear what was promised never happen at the second time.

I sincerely apologies for any inconvenience troubled you during your stay. It’s my goal to restore your confidence in Viengtai by look into issues mentioned closely to ensure our guest received best treatment there is. Your straight comment is much appreciates. I honestly wish to have the pleasure of serving you more in the future.

Best Regards

Suttiruk K.
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014

We stayed at this hotel on the last night of our holiday.

We arrived early evening and our room overlooked a vibrant street. The hotel was perfectly placed for restaurants, bars and a night market. After dining out we opted to drink at a very lively bar immediately opposite with live music.

Inside the reception area of the hotel there were various shopping outlets. They looked very interesting, but unfortunately time did not allow us to explore.

The room was very comfortable and the staff were friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Annette D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Viengtai, General Manager at ibis Styles Bangkok Khaosan Viengtai, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2014

Dear Annette D

I would love to express my truly thankfulness to be your chosen hotel in most famous street in Bangkok. Your patronage and thoughts are dynamic part of Viengtai growth. I am also glad that you found us impeccable and made your last night of holiday memorable.

Shame that time didn’t permit you to discover more of outlets provide at hotel lobby. I do hope time is on your side on next visit, certainly hope apart from time, Viengtai will be honored to welcome you again.

Best Regards

Suttiruk K.
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2014

We stayed for a few nights to enjoy the sights, food and street life in this backpacker area. It's a lot of fun to stay in this area and this hotel is a very good option. It's not the cheapest accommodation in this area but it is very clean, safe and the staff are very friendly and helpful. It has a good swimming pool and restaurant. The rooms are large and well appointed. We stayed in a poolside room away from the road to get away from the noise. This was our third stay here; we've never been disappointed.

Room Tip: Pay a bit more for a room away from the noisy roadside.
See more room tips
Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank John-Vanessa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Viengtai, General Manager at ibis Styles Bangkok Khaosan Viengtai, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2014

Dear John-Vanessa

Third stay and never been disappointed, my mind was blown reading your comment. It taught me, constantly efforts and keep up with highest standards is worthwhile. Not only extremely professional and accommodating service provided by the team, without a doubt Viengtai price is very competitive. Easy on the pocket room rate, clean room, entertainment right at door steps, all great qualities found at Viengtai, isn’t it the best?

Looking forward to your forth stay, Please do return to accept astonishing service from us over again. Reach us at rsvn@viengtai.co.th or phone us +66(2)-280-5434-45.

Best Regards

Suttiruk K.
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2014

The hotel is good and provides excellent service to his guests. Its location makes the difference, he is close to the main places, near the king's palace and Kawasan road.
The hotel is clean, neat, decent breakfast as well as the pool

Room Tip: It is recommended to choose a room facing the pool and not into the street, due to the noise from th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Meirsender
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Viengtai, General Manager at ibis Styles Bangkok Khaosan Viengtai, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2014

Dear Meirsender

The Viengtai strengths are privilege, sharing them with our guest is something we ecstatic about. It gives us great pleasure to read that your stay was perfect in every way possible. We are happy to hear that the service delivered around property left you all feeling recognized. Our entire team and I would like to thank you for taking time to write such detailed and inclusive review. Please keep in touch by follow us in Facebook or twitter or should you have any query regards accommodation rsvn@viengtai.co.th is the best place to reach to.

Best Regards

Suttiruk K.
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Very lively location; for quiet rooms opt for the swimming pool side. Cheerful chambermaids, mostly competent reception, but they do need to sort out how they charge for mini-bar and laundry services: through their laxity (probably) we were overcharged an amount that wasn't worth making a fuss about.

Room Tip: Street side is noisy. Also, not all the guests are considerate when it comes to being quiet in the c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank George S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Viengtai, General Manager at ibis Styles Bangkok Khaosan Viengtai, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2014

Dear George

It is a great feeling to see that our chambermaids are cheerful and mostly proficient receptionist in your opinion. Viengtai selects true Thai traditional personality staffs to extend warm welcome to show our guest that this is their home as well as ours.

Always in the hotel best interest when misfortune incident happened and it is brought to management attention, thank you very much George. I have spread out your review to concern departments to ensure tiny irritate occurrence as yours will not be carried out to upcoming guests.

Best Regards

Suttiruk K.
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Banglamphu
Nouvo City Hotel
Nouvo City Hotel
#170 of 891 in Bangkok
1,314 reviews
Banglamphu
Buddy Lodge Hotel
Buddy Lodge Hotel
#184 of 891 in Bangkok
1,342 reviews
Banglamphu
Dang Derm Hotel
Dang Derm Hotel
#361 of 891 in Bangkok
1,085 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Banglamphu
Chillax Resort
Chillax Resort
#142 of 891 in Bangkok
1,658 reviews
Banglamphu
Villa Phra Sumen Bangkok
Villa Phra Sumen Bangkok
#42 of 891 in Bangkok
450 reviews
Banglamphu
Rambuttri Village Inn & Plaza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ibis Styles Bangkok Khaosan Viengtai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ibis Styles Bangkok Khaosan Viengtai

Address: 42 Rambuttri Road | Banglampu, Bangkok 10200, Thailand (Formerly Viengtai Hotel)
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Banglamphu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #133 of 891 Hotels in Bangkok
Price Range: £53 - £96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — ibis Styles Bangkok Khaosan Viengtai 3.5*
Number of rooms: 215
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ibis Styles Bangkok Khaosan Viengtai offer a place of comfort with its rooms that boast inspiring and upbeat designs on every floor plus all the modern facilities including powerful WIFI to every visitor. A unique way to experience Khaosan and Bangkok right at its heart. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, LoveHolidays, HostelWorld, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), ACCOR, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your ibis Styles Bangkok Khaosan Viengtai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Viengtai Hotel Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing