We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Nice historic Thai houses” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Suan Pakkad Palace Museum

Suan Pakkad Palace Museum
Book In Advance
More Info
US$80.00*
and up
Private Tour: Jim Thompson House and Suan Pakkad Palace Museum Tour
Ranked #66 of 522 things to do in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Once the residence of Princess Chumbhot of Nagor Svarga, one of Thailand’s leading art collectors, this lovely complex contains five traditional Thai houses, each featuring a collection of historic items and works of art.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
110 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Nice historic Thai houses”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2013

I really enjoyed my visit here. I think it's just as nice as the Jim Thompson houses, but not as busy, and you are free to walk around yourself instead of taking a packed guide tour. The houses are well-preserved and it's fun to imagine how people lived in them years ago. Some of the displays on the ground level are lame and touristy - a seashell collection, a dusty rock collection that aren't even that pretty. But there's also some very old Thai pottery and jewelry that is interesting.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank MrJoeG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

250 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    99
    120
    26
    4
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Kampala, Uganda
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“woooooow”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2013

One of the places I visited on my last day and i should say I enjoyed every bit of it
There was a tour guide who took me around and best part is that he knew English and helped take some of the best shots that al forever miss cos my camera got stollen the following day
Its one of the reasons I would like to come back to Bangkok so that i keep this moments
Entrance was just 100TBT

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Sophie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading
Level Contributor
103 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“The set in the middle of the New”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2013

Eight Thai teak houses set in a lovely garden in the centre of town, with few visitors
A lovely palace used by one of the Royal princesses. A mixed collection of things “Royal” in this small museum, musical instruments, home things, lacquer collection etc a really eclectic mix.
Rather fast guided tour around the buildings with lots of information but the guide had a very strong ascent and was a bit hard to understand at times.
If you want a restful place to get away the hubbub of Bangkok try this for a restful hour. It’s less that a five minute walk from the Phaya Thai BTS station so easy to find.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank pair211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
378 reviews
283 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 213 helpful votes
“Interesting exhibits”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2013

A compund of buildings (former Royal residence), with very well preserved gardens.The buildings are Typical Thai and some are connected with covered halls.There are exhibitions of ancient items, musical instruments, masks, items brought by the Royal family from their trips etc. Excellent runned.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jimtraj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Highly Recommended”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2013

This place would be amongst my personal top 10 attractions to visit in Bangkok. The buildings are former royal residences, likely older than the ones existing in Bangkok as they were constructed in wood as was done traditionally in Thailand until very recent centuries. Its collection of Thai ceramics I thought was equal if not better than the collection at the National Museum.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Burmese_Python
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Suan Pakkad Palace Museum also viewed

 

Been to Suan Pakkad Palace Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing