We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hostelling International Bangkok (Bangkok International Youth Hostel)
Ranked #450 of 1,136 Speciality Lodging in Bangkok
Toronto
Level Contributor
26 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“OK”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2010

A hostel is a hostel, a bed to sleep in and a bathroom to wash up in. This hotel offered these basics.

Stayed April 2010, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank goonybones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4
    18
    7
    1
    2
See reviews for
Families
0
11
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2009

I would like to recommend this hostel very highly. The staff are extremely helpful and friendly ,nothing is too much trouble. The rooms are clean and adequate and the washing facilities are spotless. The prices are very reasonable and include a small breakfast. I had a single room for one night and was in a 4 bed dorm for 6 nights. It is a relatively quiet hostel and located within easy reach of the skytrain on the Sukhumvit Road. I was dropped off at soi 38 on my arrival by bus from the airport
. Just down the road from the hostel there are several cheap good places serving thai food and the whole atmosphere is excellent. I shall certainly stay at this hostel on my next visit to Bangkok.

Stayed November 2009, travelled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank MMAILLE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
British Columbia
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2006

Excellent place to stay... At first you don't know what you are walking into... the first night we stayed we were pretty scared, but hey it was really cheap and we couldn't find any other place to stay. We were travelling around Thailand but everytime we came back to Bangkok we would stay here. We met some really awesome people, the people that worked here were very helpful, and during the day they had volunteers who would help you find anything in the city, or different trips to take. The Peace Library was really cool, and the Overall the character of the place really was the best part

  • Liked — Friendly, Helpful Staff, stories with other guests
  • Disliked — The cold showers
  • Tips/Secrets — The restaurant that is in front of the hostel has really good food, there are lots of travelling (lonely Planet) books to read up on, and the chicken dish was really good!
  • Stayed February 2006, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank CanadaGrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
26 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2005

We stayed here in a double for one night; it's very run down, the beds are dirty and the bathroom leaked. For the same (or just a bit more) money - $8-15 a night - you can have a much nicer place in the Dusit area or down by Khaosan Road. We ended up moving to the Shanti Lodge about two blocks away and were given a beautiful double room with a clean ensuite bathroom, a fully-functional and new airconditioner, and even a fishtank, all for about $4 more a night.

  • Stayed June 2005
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank aglazer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ptudtu, Owner at Hostelling International Bangkok (Bangkok International Youth Hostel), responded to this review, 14 May 2011
Thank you for your honest review. It is true that in 2005 our building was quite run down and needed repair. We would like to invite you back to see all the improvements we have made since your review was posted. Now with remodeled rooms, new furniture and other enhancements (including free breakfast, internet and Wi Fi), we hope you will visit Thailand again and this time enjoy your stay with us.
Sawadee,
HI Bangkok
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bangkok hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Dusit
Taewez Guesthouse
Taewez Guesthouse
#598 of 849 in Bangkok
3.5 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
Banglamphu
Erawan House
Erawan House
#303 of 849 in Bangkok
3.5 of 5 bubbles 438 reviews
Dusit
SSIP Boutique Dhevej Bangkok
SSIP Boutique Dhevej Bangkok
#15 of 1,136 in Bangkok
5.0 of 5 bubbles 301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dusit
Baan Tepa
Baan Tepa
#298 of 1,136 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
Dusit
Coop Dopa Hostel
Coop Dopa Hostel
#458 of 1,136 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5 reviews
Dusit
Shanti Lodge
Shanti Lodge
#198 of 1,136 in Bangkok
3.5 of 5 bubbles 294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostelling International Bangkok (Bangkok International Youth Hostel)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostelling International Bangkok (Bangkok International Youth Hostel)

Property: Hostelling International Bangkok (Bangkok International Youth Hostel)
Address: 25 / 15 Phitsanulok Road | Sisao Theves, Dusit, Bangkok 10300, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Dusit
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #450 of 1,136 Speciality Lodging in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the old town neighborhood of Bangkok, HI Bangkok-The Original Bangkok Youth Hostel- has been providing safe, clean and affordable accommodations for world travelers and first time visitors to the Kingdom of Thailand for over 25 years. Meet others who know where to go and what to see while in the exotic city of Bangkok. Our friendly staff will welcome you and make you feel at home during your stay. HI Bangkok is centrally located where you can walk to temples and other landmarks including the infamous Kao San Road or take a tuk tuk ride anywhere you want to go. Also within walking distance of the Chao Praya River, you can take an exciting boat ride to the temple of dawn and other popular spots in the city. From dorms to doubles and twins to triples we have accommodations to meet your needs. All private rooms include private baths with hot showers and air conditioning. Prices range from 300 baht per person. Breakfast is included and internet and WiFi are free. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Hostelling International Bangkok (Bangkok International Youth Hostel) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostelling International Bangkok (Bangkok International Youth Hostel) Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing