We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Thai, Very Popular, Very Nice ...” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Samsen Villa

Samsen Villa
Ranked #1,338 of 10,627 Restaurants in Bangkok
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Very Thai, Very Popular, Very Nice ...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2012

The high proportion of Thai diners attests to the authentic menu and ambiance of this delightful restaurant. The lack of English among the staff underlines the fact that they do not pander to the farang contingent. They do, however, offer English text on the menu, alongside the Thai. The waiting staff are very good humoured so ordering by pointing at the desired menu item and (maybe) a bit of miminig should be no problem.

We were lucky to be with a Thai speaker so ordering was easy-peasy.

The available food is mostly traditional Thai fare but, for those who don't like it too spicy, there are also some less hot dishes (fried rice and noodles, etc.) - however these are more Chinese than Thai. The usual rule is to order one dish more than the number of diners, plus rice.

My advice would be to step outside your comfort zone and be a little adventurous in your order - the food here is generally very good. And try to order dishes from different sections of the menu. I strongly recommend the baked fish.

This restaurant is excellent - very highly recommended.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank EBlah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    14
    6
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Indonesian first
  • Korean first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Krung Thep, Thailand
Level Contributor
52 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Good Taste and Great Service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2012

Samsen Villa is the traditional Thai cuisine and steak house. The restaurant is suitable for meeting with a group of friends and also for the family. I always go there and rent the special room for a group meeting with my friends. There are three rooms with TV and Karaoke in the second floor. There is the area for parking along the road and the wide area near the restaurant. The staff are nice and well-service. Thai food is good taste and delicilous. I would like to recommend to try the menu that have the special sign for order. For Thai food, I recommend Tom Yam Kung (Shrimp) or fish, stream fish or seafood with curry in the coconut, Pad Thai( some kind of noodles with shrimp) , many Thai dressed salad especially papaya salad with horse crab. Steak and salad is also good. There is the bakery and ice cream too. If you would like to have dinner , beer and German sausages will be another choice with outdoor seating. The price is rather expensive in some menus..

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Sutasikar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Locals' hangout”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2012

This restaurant was authentic. Not that I'd be a good judge of that but everyone around us was a local. The restaurant was quite crowded when we went for an early dinner on a Friday evening so we were seated outdoors but no problem there.

The Tom Yum Goong was brilliant and so was the fried morning glory. Don't be too alarmed by the Western section of the menu. The table next to us was served a dish of Brit sausages and even though they looked good, I cannot fathom why would one NOT have Thai food in Bangkok.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank YL K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
France
Level Contributor
67 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“The top Thai food in BKK”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2012

If you like true Thai food, this is the address you shall not miss... I did a lot of resto in BKK, that one is really outstanding, mainly known from Thai native only and the food is simply amazing !!!!

Another characteristic is that the Singha Bier is served frozen !!!

It is not expensive as other tourist places

A must do in BKK !!!!!!!
http://www.samsenvilla.com/

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Frank P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bombay. India
Level Contributor
116 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Superb”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2012

I had a chance to dine with my friends at Samsen in Bangkok. I was particularly impressed by the ambience, nice menu, courteous staff. It has nice open space as well as indoor sitting plan.Food was yummy, nice play room and TV room for kids besides separate bakery.
I particularly enjoyed Tom yum soup and perhaps the best sea food served in coconut and really chilled beer.
Priced very reasonably and great atmosphere, I would say dinner at Samsen was a very satisfying experience.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Surender-India
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Samsen Villa also viewed

Bangkok, Thailand
 
 

Been to Samsen Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing