We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shanghai chic”
Review of The Cabochon Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Cabochon Hotel
Ranked #8 of 643 Bangkok B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Shanghai chic”
Reviewed 14 October 2012

This small, elegant hotel provided everything I required at the end of a hectic trip in S.E Asia. Unfortunately I was only able to spend three nights here... it's the sort of place I could happily settle into for a much longer period of time. The original colonial house has been converted beautifully into a peaceful sanctuary of charm and great style just steps away from Sukhumvit Road and the Skytrain. I particularly enjoyed my comfortable room with it's french doors leading onto a private black and white tiled balcony. The decor is stunning and stylish and great attention has been paid to detail. The staff are gracious,charming and kind and helped ensure my stay was a pleasure. I'm looking forward to my next trip to Bangkok and will definitely return to this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnnePJones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

317 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    230
    71
    13
    1
    2
See reviews for
42
143
37
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ballarat, Australia
Level Contributor
254 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2012

With so many interesting things to see and do in Bangkok, when you'd rather stay in than go out, you know you've found real gem of a hotel. We had high expectations of the Cabochon Hotel & Residence and they were well and truly exceeded. Small - four levels and the hotel is comprised of just four studios and four suites - friendly and oh-so chic, it was an absolute delight. Opened only five months ago, it's been built to feel as though you're stepping straight back into the 1920s. Beautiful marble and tiled hallways and stairs lead to the rooms. On the ground floor the Joy Luck Club is reminiscent of a Gentleman's Club from yesteryear, complete with mounted zebra head, funky model planes suspended from the ceiling, dark timber paneled walls and floors and crowded with deliberately mis-matched sofas, armchairs and packing trunks serving as coffee tables. Breakfast is served here (a fine meal, included in our tariff), as well as evening drinks. There is a library right next door.

The Thai Lao Yeh Restaurant takes up the other end of the lower level and is furnished in a similarly quirky style. Authentic local cuisine is served and it is excellent - we ate there several times. Beware if you're a little chili shy, as most of the dishes have plenty of life. When the staff ask if you'd like fish sauce to accompany the meal, it's really a euphemism for a bowl of sliced chilies with a splash of sauce! And the staff, from front desk to the restaurant and club lounge are just wonderful. Staying there was like being welcomed into someone's family home and being taken care of as valued friends. The rooftop pool was big enough for decent laps and carried the same classy feel as the rest of the hotel.

Our suite was spacious with a large, separate living/dining area. Timber floors, white walls and simple furnishings in neutral tones create an invitingly cool tropical retreat from a bygone era. The bed was comfortable, there were quality linens and a private balcony accessed through french windows. With free WiFi, free phone calls and free (limited, non-alcoholic) mini bar, there was little to want. The bathroom was slightly squeezy and a little awkwardly configured but the finish was all class and the shower was roomy, with lots of strong, hot water.

The hotel is set back along a Soi (side street) from busy Sukhumvit Road so we found it wonderfully quiet, but a few minutes walk either way takes you to a wide array of restaurants, bars, spas and the Sky Train. Perfect location. We really enjoyed just staying in and making the most of the ambience and the great facilities. The Cabochon is a brilliant find and now that we've experienced it we wouldn't stay anywhere else in Bangkok.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SisPerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taipei, Taipei, Taiwan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2012

It is great experience while staying there. People in the hotel are very nice. With good hospitality, I did enjoy staying there. Everymorning, I expact seeing my breakfast choice....good food, nice people, elegant room... I would like to visit there again.....

Room Tip: one bedroom is better than 2 bedroom.....
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Alison C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2012

We had an excellent stay! The hotel is exquisitely decorated in colonial style. The staff was friendly, professional and very helpful: Freemon the refreshing welcome drink to the checkout we were pampered by smiling faces!

We loved the room and the amenities included: free wifi everywhere in and around the premises, fruit basket and free drinks in the room.

A few minor technical hitches in the bathroom, were promptly registered by the receptionist.

We could not really assess the location, as we were visiting friends in the neighbourhood and we travelled by taxi. But the city train is a few minutes walk away and there are plenty of buses around the corner.

We definitely recommend this hotel and we will consider staying there on our next visit in Bangkok.

Valentino (Amsterdam)

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank V B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2012

This is a new hotel in the heart of Bangkok but the design is wonderfully different. It is like going back in time and has the feel of a delightful colonial home from the 1950's but with today's amenities. There are only 16 rooms and with 23 staff the service is second to none.
The hotel is situated at Sukomvit 45 close to Phom Phong BTS Skytrain station, great for getting around, shopping & site seeing.
My room was on the small side but it had a quaint balcony to enjoy the view from and the free Wifi. There is garden terrace and nice sized pool, both of which offer a relaxed ambience amongst the hustle and bustle of Bangkok.
The bar and restaurant are in fitting with the colonial style and the food was divine.

Room Tip: Any, there are only 16 !
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Podge35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2012

Normally searching out new and funky hotels in Asia I read about this one in a travel magazine.
Sadly I will not be searching for anymore hotels in Bangkok! This is it. Doesn't get any better!
Only 8 suites, great location, beautiful heritage building and edgy design, it really is something special. I also decided to dine in - fabulous Thai meal.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Helen_Alex11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Sukhumvit
Adelphi Forty-Nine
Adelphi Forty-Nine
#5 of 858 in Bangkok
552 reviews
Sukhumvit
Sheraton Grande Sukhumvit, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sukhumvit
Ariyasomvilla
Ariyasomvilla
#3 of 858 in Bangkok
1,500 reviews
Sukhumvit
Sukhumvit Park, Bangkok - Marriott Executive Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cabochon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cabochon Hotel

Property: The Cabochon Hotel
Address: 14/29 Sukhumvit 45 Road | Klongton Nua, Wattana, Bangkok 10110, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Sukhumvit
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 643 B&Bs / Inns in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Cabochon Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cabochon is a one-of-a-kind boutique hotel located in the heart of Bangkok. Explore, dine and relax surrounded by artifacts collected from all over the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Cabochon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing