We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing gateway in Bangkok city center”
Review of The Cabochon Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Cabochon Hotel
Ranked #10 of 710 Bangkok B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 August 2013

Cabochon Hotel & Residence is just fantastic! Great experience, fantastic location, excellent staff, beautiful interior decor, good tropical breakfast.. All in a few words: one of the best experiences ever had staying in a Hotel room. Recommended.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sibilla B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (334)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

232 - 238 of 334 reviews

Reviewed 5 August 2013

Very good hotel. Convenient location close to metro station/BTS.
A lot of charm. And very nice roof pool.
Very helpful and nice team - with good english.
Only inconvenient but limited/no big deal at all : the wifi (included for free) sometimes stops and has to be relaunched (esp after rain).

In a nutshell - Good place that I recommend

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nicosg02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2013

We were informed by true Bangkok friends on this restaurant and hotel. Is is not easy to find but being more experienced in Bangkok we hot there, while it appeared to be the right spot. It is a wonderful location with the world of possibilities. We had a quiet family dinner from the far too elaborate menu. The choices are too many, but the quality is fabulous and when they cannot guarantee the quality they will inform you so ! Maybe as the place is not very popular as it should be, the place is really worthily visiting for the decoration. Also look at the pictures. It truly is a hidden colonial gem in the middle of Bangkok.

Room Tip: we went there for dinner
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Ch B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2013

During my last Bangkok visit I had chosen to stay in this wonderful and beautiful Hotel for three nights before departing back home.
After some investigation and research I decided, that it could be the right hotel for me and gave it a try. And I was not dissapointed.
From the initial reservation process, including the email correspondence, to the arrival experience, the stay and the departure, everything was very charming, pleasant and friendly. You feel like coming to a friends 'home'. I enjoyed a perfectly made Gin&Tonic in their Club, had nice dinner and the shop offering rugged, vintage Americana, called Wooden Submarine is definitely worth a visit.
Overall I had a great time and will be back for sure.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank myfreedamn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2013 via mobile

This is a beautiful building with exceptional character. The pool was awesome with skyline views. The food & staff were fantastic. The library was captivating with so many great reads.

We could go on, but this place has to visited, stayed in & simply enjoyed. And Quinces cocktail& food menu impressive and seriously tasty!! (located conveniently ) next door.
Go!!! You will not be disappointed.

We plan to go back in December & cannot wait! Dawn & Kellyx

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank frybert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2013

My husband and I stayed in March 2013 for 5 nights. We really enjoyed staying here, v. handy to the BTS and walkable for Thonglor. The hotel is quiet and the roof-top pool amazing. We stayed in one of the cheaper rooms: the decor charming and colonial but still modern, not at all fusty or chintzy. My only gripe here was the liberal use of tortoise/turtle shells in the hallway: I really hoped they were sourced ethically (if that's possible??)... The room was a bit too small, it would be ideal for a single person a bit squeezy for two. The breakfast in the morning was excellent the only pity being the coffee: a place like this demands a proper espresso machine, but we found our hit around the corner at Segafredo (on Sukhumvit) or at Farm Design, in the food hall at the top of the Emporium Mall nearby. The staff were friendly and helpful. Unfortunately we didn't get time to dine in but Quince almost next door is worth a look.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rachaelmelb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2013

This beautiful hotel located in the center of Bangkok, only 8 rooms and 5 apartments, I treat it home away from home. It is so comfortable, you've been treated like house guest. I love the design, the room, the food. Specially the host/owner of the hotel she always there to taking good care of us. It is remarkable place. The service is awesome, the people are so friendly. I will going back again for sure.

Room Tip: If you travel in group, book the apartment, you will feel really like at home.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 871RachelW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Sukhumvit
Adelphi Forty-Nine
Adelphi Forty-Nine
#5 of 885 in Bangkok
650 reviews
Sukhumvit
Sheraton Grande Sukhumvit, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sukhumvit
Ariyasomvilla
Ariyasomvilla
#3 of 885 in Bangkok
1,525 reviews
Sukhumvit
Sukhumvit Park, Bangkok - Marriott Executive Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cabochon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cabochon Hotel

Address: 14/29 Sukhumvit 45 Road | Klongton Nua, Wattana, Bangkok 10110, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Sukhumvit
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 710 B&Bs / Inns in Bangkok
Price Range: £112 - £171 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Cabochon Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cabochon is a one-of-a-kind boutique hotel located in the heart of Bangkok. Explore, dine and relax surrounded by artifacts collected from all over the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Cabochon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing