We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay...highly recommended”
Review of Riva Surya Bangkok

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Riva Surya Bangkok
Ranked #18 of 871 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Netanya, Israel
Level 6 Contributor
206 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Excellent stay...highly recommended”
Reviewed 4 July 2013 via mobile

Our brief stay at the Riva Suriya was excellent.
-Great location...10 walk to Khao San Road and pool right on the river...fabulous!
-Very modern...2 years old
-Large room with excellent design and amenities
-Faultless staff
-Intend returning next time in Bangkok
...only 2 negatives:
-Urban room is very noisy until around midnight
-Cost of transport was overpriced at 1600thb,when a taxi costs 400thb.
Pickup service and meet at airport was good, but differential is, I bellieve, too large.
otherwise,very highly recommended

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Roz D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,711 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,176
    449
    65
    15
    6
See reviews for
292
917
113
81
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (361)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2013

As already mentioned in the foregoing reviews, this hotel has several pluses: great location, attentive staff, a nice swimming pool and outstanding breakfast.

It would be great sitting on the balcony in the evening and watching the river life and relax. But unfortunately there is a constant noise also on the river facing room, produced by the hotel itself. At 7am we were woken up by loud chill-out music which was played the whole day. On Friday, a stand-up comedian performed until 10.30pm and on Saturday a DJ played house music. Shortly before midnight, staff started to play loud chill-out music again although there were no customers left in the bar. There was hardly any audience on both evenings and the noise did in my opinion not fit to the concept of a boutique hotel. “Fortunately” the A/C in the room was so loud that the noise from the outside was a bit drowned…

I enjoy the hustle and bustle of Bangkok including the corresponding sound. But after a day of sightseeing I do not need further animation which I cannot avoid. Otherwise I would check-in in a backpacker lodge and pay the according lower price.

We already stayed in several hotels situated on the river in Banglampuh. For the same price it is possible to stay in accommodations providing the same advantages without the constant acoustic irradiation.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank bkker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim V, General Manager at Riva Surya Bangkok, responded to this review, 28 June 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to write about your experience at Riva Surya Bangkok. We sincerely appreciate the positive points you made and do take on board the other comments regarding noise.

Regarding the piped music we have advised the morning team to monitor the level of the music as unfortunately the noise levels of each track is not the same so this has to be adjusted accordingly. As such we are looking into changing our selection.
The standup comedy club was the first time we hosted this type of event and have now realized that the position of the speakers must be moved away from the direction of the guests rooms which has made a positive impact. As for the air-conditioning unit it appears that the grill had come loose and so was making a noise due to the vibration which has now been rectified.

Once again we thank you for your feedback and hope to have an opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel again in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Tim Vongswang
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2013

Stayed 4 nights here and thought it was a wonderful hotel. Such lovely warm staff, so helpful and accommodating. Some reviews mention the noise: the hotel is in a buzzy (tho not excessively) part of a capital city, so of course there's noise from the locality in the rooms with city view. And of course you can hear the wonderful river boats in the otherwise quiet river view rooms, what on earth do people expect?!! All part of the colour and life of Bangkok and this hotel is definitely a beautifully designed oasis of charm and calm in the midst of the thrilling bustle. I will return . . .

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Loveyumfood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darwin, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 20 June 2013

We chose Riva Surya as its new and closes to Khaosan Road. We want to explore the area. The hotel has been refurbished and been open for 9 months. We were on 2nd Floor, it was a low season so wasn't crowded at all.
Room - We stayed in Premium Riva Room with Balcony & Breakfast. Bed & pillow were so comfortable and top quality. Balcony was good as we sat & watch the storm rolling in. Also quiet too i pay a bit more for this room as the Urban room faces the street were too noisy.
Breakfast - Really good coffee, very limited on choices. We stayed there for 4 nights and Breakfast menu was boring as it offered same food every day.
Pool - Pool n Bar Area is a bit crammed. Wouldn't want to be here in high season.
Bar - We had drinks there every night. Cocktail menu were quite creative. i wasn't too impressed when i asked for Pina Colada and it was serve in an old plastic Tumbler with no decorations. Cocktail meant to look impressive n creative?
Services - Excellent, all staff were very helpful n courteous.
Getting there - Since its new many Taxi Driver doesn't know it's there. Tell them to go to Thanon Phra Artid (Thanon means road) it's on riverside adjacent to Soi Chana Songkhram n 7-11. There is Bus stop right in front of the hotel.
Soi Chana Songkhram connects to Ram Buttri, you can find a lot of Restaurant n side street shops along the way. We ate at Pad Thai stall on the street n it was really good!
Overall this hotel is in the heart of BKK, closes to Khaosan Road, many of local shopping mall n market close by, distance away to MRT or BTS due to traffic jam. If u like Street food but like to stay at an upper class hotel then you should check out this Hotel.

Room Tip: For better sleep quality choose the one along riverside. The Urban room faces the street and it gets...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SomTum P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milan, Italy
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 17 June 2013

Perfect position, close to many touristy sites, then the pier for the ferryboat is out of the hotel.
Great swimmingpool, very nice rooms e wondreful breakfast, served nearby the river.
Not too much expansive!

Room Tip: Rooms on the river side are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Epeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2013

1. Location
Good location but the taxi driver does require some help to find the place as the hotel is new. If the driver doesn't know the place, you can quote 'New Siam' as it's just next to it. Hotel is walking distance from the pier 'Tha Phra Arthit' (N13) and about 25 minutes walk to Grand Palace, but there is an alternative to take the boat which is only about 10 minutes.

2. Surrounding
Lots of good food across the hotel especially the small cafes. Walking distance to Khao San from the 7-11 across the hotel, there is a lane leading to Khao San and during the day before 6 pm, there is a short cut to Khao San from Wat Channa Songkram.

3. Hotel Room
Simple room, I thought the finishing looked filmsy, it wasn't as classy as it looked from the photos. It was very noisy after dark when the band started to play from across, the noise level was as good as sitting in a pub. We read reviews about the noise and it wasn't a problem for us. Anyone who prefers a quiet sleep should consider only the river room.

4. Service
Acceptable service but could be better

5. Overview
Likely to come back to the hotel because of the location. Hotel is slightly over-priced.

Room Tip: River room for a quiet sleep and if you don't mind the noise, the city room is good as it has a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nthreefive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim V, General Manager at Riva Surya Bangkok, responded to this review, 12 June 2013
Thank you very much for providing feedback on our hotel and very pleased to know that you would come back to us again, although obviously disappointed that you were not fully satisfied with the service, if you could advise which part of our service we could improve I would be most grateful.

Regarding the noise from the bar opposite the street of which they are occasionally too loud, we are pleased to advise that plans are underway to have an additional double sliding door on all our Urban rooms which are the only ones effected, as such this will solve the issue.

Once again, thank you for taking the time to write a comment and hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to our hotel again in the near future.


Kind regards,

Tim Vongswang
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 May 2013

I stayed at Riva Surya on my first trip ever to Thailand. First of all, great location. It’s close to many touristy sites. A 3-minute ride on a “tuk tuk” (only 50 bahts, or US$1.5) got me to the Grand Palace and Emerald Buddha. There is a pier right outside of the hotel with a speed boat that takes you to Asiatique for shopping (be aware that the last boat back to the hotel is around 9pm though...I lost track of time and ended up taking a taxi). The night market is within walking distance.

Second, I LOVE the designs of the rooms, the hallway, the lounge…everything! It’s chic with a classic touch. The hotel molds its accent candles in house. There is even a stuffed peacock as you walk in! It’s such a precious gem and definitely stands out among its surroundings.

Other great things include a beautiful and relaxing outdoor pool, friendly and polite staff, affordable massages (only 300 bahts / hour…such a good deal!), iMacs in the lobby for the guests to use etc. It was all around a great experience and I’d definitely recommend this place. I would totally stay here when I visit Bangkok again.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandy X
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Sathorn
Eastin Grand Hotel Sathorn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Silom
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
#20 of 871 in Bangkok
8,301 reviews
Banglamphu
Phranakorn-Nornlen Hotel
Silom
Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riva Surya Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riva Surya Bangkok

Property: Riva Surya Bangkok
Address: 23 Phra Arthit Road | Pranakorn, Bangkok 10200, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Banglamphu
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 871 Hotels in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Riva Surya Bangkok 4*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Along the Chao Pharya River in the heart of Bangkok, Riva Surya is surrounded by some of the city’s most treasured historical sites. A Sixty eight-room boutique hotel, Riva Surya adds a touch of style and charm to this bustling locale. Surrounded by cultural treasures and within walking distance of the lively entertainment district of Khoa San Road, Riva Surya gives you direct access to many popular sites and connects you to the city center via a distinctive mode of transportation, the river boat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, LateRooms, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Riva Surya Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing