We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely way to start the trip”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Riva Surya Bangkok

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Riva Surya Bangkok
Ranked #22 of 851 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
52 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Lovely way to start the trip”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2014

We stayed here our first night in Thailand. It was just the place to relax after our long flight. The beds were so comfortable! The pool area was lovely overlooking the river and the Grand Palace was only a few blocks away so managed to squeeze a bit of sight-seeing before we continued our trip.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,647 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,119
    443
    64
    15
    6
See reviews for
278
884
108
81
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (354)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2014

..if you have everything you want is this charming Boutique Hotel? The location is amazing, 2 min walking to the great Khaosan road, beautiful designed rooms, best with river view, cool pool and outside bar area, perfect to hang around and watch Chao Praya life. My number 1 address in Bangkok now (especially since all luxury hotels are occupied from Russians and Arabs).

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trav-ALA2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2014

My husband and I stayed there for 2 nights upon arrival in Thailand. Super clean, very nice design and rooms, nice pool & pool area, good location, friendly & attentive staff (they had prepared us a suprise cake for our honeymoon!). Lives up to its 4 stars.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ronaki A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level Contributor
35 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2014

Great hotel, great location and great service. Just literally across the street you can enjoy the best of old town Bangkok and find some incredible street markets and food at your disposal. Just make sure to get a river side room as its a little noisy on the street side.

Don't forget the rice soup for breakfast, it's really tasty!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GTBEALE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2014 via mobile

Our sixth trip to Bangkok has been our most enjoyable by far, thanks to this charming, relaxing, boutique hotel. We loved it from the moment we arrived. The staff are fantastic and couldn't have been more welcoming and helpful, especially Wit on the front desk. Stylish architecture and decor, in a great location, with a fabulous pool overlooking the river. The oversized, super comfortable sun lounges are perfect for chilling out between sightseeing and shopping adventures. Breakfast is simple, fresh and delicious and eating at the poolside tables watching the boats go by is as enjoyable eating cooked to order eggs in the morning as it sipping a cocktail after sunset. We would definitely recommend the Riva Surya to anyone looking for a peaceful, intimate hotel in a terrific location.

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CONNECTICUT
Level Contributor
45 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2014

lovely place,,warm front desk help ,,location very good,pool area ok ,rooms great ,the food isn't very good ,,much better restaurant right next to hotel ,,,massages outside ,not private at all ,very noisy ,,good therapists though ,,the laundry costs are outrageous,,more then 5 star hotel prices,,i didn't look closely at the costs,they are on the form ,but they are rediculously high ,,,the young man from thailand that works at the front desk ,his name escapes me ,,is fabulous ,,

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MERMAIDLOR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2014

Stayed in a Premium Riva Room for the first night of our honeymoon and it was fantastic. Huge, modern room, gorgeous bathroom, great views over the pool and river. The pool and bar area, and the sofas and lounge-beds are great, and the food was very good too - and the cocktails! My husband was also impressed by real ale being on sale here - a rarity in Thailand! We had been to Bangkok before and as we were only here for 1 night this time we didn't go out to explore, but it is close to the Grand Palace and Khao San Road, and a ferry pier, for those with more time on their hands. As it was a quick stopover we ate at the hotel restaurant and we were very pleased with the quality of the food and service. The robes in the room were a nice touch, which were handy to wear whilst having a nice cup of tea on our balcony at dawn, watching the river slowly come to life.

Room Tip: Get a river view
See more room tips
Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Charlotte M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Banglamphu
Casa Nithra
Casa Nithra
#69 of 851 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 967 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Banglamphu
Chillax Resort
Chillax Resort
#135 of 851 in Bangkok
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,469 reviews
Sathorn
Banyan Tree Bangkok
Banyan Tree Bangkok
#26 of 851 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,025 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riva Surya Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riva Surya Bangkok

Property: Riva Surya Bangkok
Address: 23 Phra Arthit Road | Pranakorn, Bangkok 10200, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Banglamphu
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 851 Hotels in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Riva Surya Bangkok 4*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Along the Chao Pharya River in the heart of Bangkok, Riva Surya is surrounded by some of the city’s most treasured historical sites. A Sixty eight-room boutique hotel, Riva Surya adds a touch of style and charm to this bustling locale. Surrounded by cultural treasures and within walking distance of the lively entertainment district of Khoa San Road, Riva Surya gives you direct access to many popular sites and connects you to the city center via a distinctive mode of transportation, the river boat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Riva Surya Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing