We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Great room, great price, great location!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Riva Surya Bangkok

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Riva Surya Bangkok
Ranked #27 of 844 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Gunnison, Colorado
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great room, great price, great location!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2014

We finished our honeymoon in Bangkok and stayed at Riva. Room was very clean and balcony was nice facing river and pool. Stayed on the fourth floor and had the best view, and very quiet. Got a Thai massage poolside, VERY STRONG! Close to all sights and bars and restaurants. There is a water taxi pickup very close too. Nice hotel in a crazy area. Would stay there again if coming to Bangkok and suggest to friends. Pics on website are represent it well, very well kept.

Room Tip: Get a room facing the river, and book through bookings.com or something of the sort.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Homer34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,586 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,072
    429
    64
    15
    6
See reviews for
268
846
104
79
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (335)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Best, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
180 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2014

Although it took us some time because of the roadblocks during our stay in february, to get to the Riva Surya, it was worth it!
We spend two nights at the end of a marvelous holiday in Thailand and Cambodia there.
Location and view perfect! Of course in the river view rooms!
Perfect hotel, nice and spacious rooms, very professional staff. Especially these of the reception. Lovely pool and 'garden' next to the river to relax and enjoy.
Next to the hotel you can get in the boat to discover the river and klongs. Be sure to bargain about the price! Breakfast was good, but not included in the price.
The first good beds during our 4 week stay in Asia!!
Oposite the hotel you go left and in the next alley right again and you are in Bangkok! Bars and nice places to relax. Go any further and you reach the night market. Or take a tuk-tuk to go there and back during the night. Don't forget to visit the Thai night market close to that place too. Quit different and nice to stroll trough and seek bargains and eat a small Thai bite.
Sure we stay here again next time in Bangkok!!

Room Tip: If possible, take a room with the view on the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank zinkviool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashburn, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2014

First time being in Bangkok, I was very pleased with my stay at Riva Surya. The staff is super friendly, incredibly accommodating and were a great help when trying to plan last minute outings! The hotel was in a perfect spot: right on the Chao Phraya River with a ferry stop just a quick walk away, right across from Khao San Road and walking distance from all the wonderful temples! I stayed in a street view room the first night. Beautiful room, only note is that it can be a little noisy at night. They have double sliding glass doors to the balcony which help muffle the sound, but you can still hear a little bit of the city life when your television is turned off. Moving to a room on the river side the next day, the view was excellent and the room was just as immaculate with great contemporary design and a super comfortable bed! Had dinner here one night and the food was very good and the atmosphere of the outside patio with the live acoustic music made for a great dining experience. My last day here included a very relaxing massage by the pool and when it was check out time, they were more than happy to hold our luggage while we toured the city for a few more hours before heading to the airport. I had such a great time in Thailand and this hotel definitely helped make it such an amazing experience! I would absolutely urge anyone headed to Bangkok to stay here!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Candace P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridgetown, Barbados
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2014

It was our first trip to Bangkok and we had decided we wanted to stay in the Khao San area. For the first few days we stayed on the opposite side of the river and getting back and forth proved to be difficult at times. We had read the reviews of the Riva Surya and booked it for our return to Bangkok after a trip up to the Burmese border and asked if they would keep some of our luggage. They were wonderful. We were on a 3 month tour and they kept 2 of our bags while we traveled and welcomed us back so warmly I felt we had come home. This happened again when we took a trip to Cambodia and came back. Everything about this hotel is special, the staff, the rooms, the bathrooms, the balcony overlooking the river, the location. We did not try the rooms on the road side but would think the river view a must. We will come back.

Room Tip: If you want something very special, pay the extra for a balcony on the river side -- and one on a co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zelda47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laguna Beach, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2014

Very surprised at the quality of this hotel. I booked a discounted rate and felt it was well worth the price. As an old backpacker I found the location great! Its near Khao San Road and the right on the ferry docks! Pool was very nice and river side. The bar across the street was the only downfall as it was very loud. I would suggest booking a river view room. The correspondence prior to our stay was amazing. They addressed all my concerns about the protests going on in the city and help arrange an airport pick up. Sitting pool side at nigh watch the river activities was amazing.

Suggestion to hotel would be to dedicate someone to poolside service during the night and day. I'm not one that needs to be served but do not want to hassle with chasing down drinks while soaking wet or enjoying a romantic evening with my wife.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eric d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2014 via mobile

Great location right on the river and rooms are lovely especially the bathrooms!

Only slight negative was poor veggie options. Also no private rooms for massages, you're expected to have an oil massage near the pool! Also the laundry service is very expensive!

Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank Sebe68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
49 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2014

The hotel has very comfortable, modern rooms, some of them with great view on Chao Phraya river. The food is excellent and the staff is extremely friendly and helpful. The location of the hotel enables one to walk to most of the important sights in the city (ie:royal palace). I would definetely suggest this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with river view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank István L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Banglamphu
Casa Nithra
Casa Nithra
#61 of 844 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 897 reviews
Banglamphu
Chillax Resort
Chillax Resort
#140 of 844 in Bangkok
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Banglamphu
Villa Phra Sumen Bangkok
Villa Phra Sumen Bangkok
#36 of 844 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riva Surya Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riva Surya Bangkok

Property: Riva Surya Bangkok
Address: 23 Phra Arthit Road | Pranakorn, Bangkok 10200, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Banglamphu
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 844 Hotels in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Riva Surya Bangkok 4*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Along the Chao Pharya River in the heart of Bangkok, Riva Surya is surrounded by some of the city’s most treasured historical sites. A Sixty eight-room boutique hotel, Riva Surya adds a touch of style and charm to this bustling locale. Surrounded by cultural treasures and within walking distance of the lively entertainment district of Khoa San Road, Riva Surya gives you direct access to many popular sites and connects you to the city center via a distinctive mode of transportation, the river boat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, LoveHolidays, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, TravelUp and LateRooms so you can book your Riva Surya Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing