We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great choice for our first days in Thailand”
Review of Riva Surya Bangkok

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Riva Surya Bangkok
Ranked #21 of 887 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 March 2014

We stayed at the Riva Surya for 3 nights at the beginning of our holiday, and the warm welcome and service from staff set a very high standard from the beginning. The river view rooms are definitely the ones to go for, as the street noise might be a bit much at night. The rooms were very clean and the beds the most comfortable we experienced in our travels, but it would have been nice to have an armchair in the room!
The pool area overlooks the river, and there is much to observe while relaxing during happy hour. We had a meal in the restaurant which was also very pleasant. The Grand Palace and the sights and sounds of Khao San Road are only a short walk away. We would definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: River view rooms, for quiet and view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wendy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,766)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,131 - 1,137 of 1,766 reviews

Reviewed 7 March 2014

Started our three week holiday in Thailand by staying here for several days.
Room on fifth floor overlooking the river,greeted by the manageress Joy-and her staff,received superb service all the time.The hotel was very clean , comfortable,good food with excellent breakfast choices.Highly recommended,a good location to explore Bangkok.

Room Tip: Fifth floor,river view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wood57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2014

(from my hotels.com review) Greeted warmly on arrival and offered an iced drink. Nice poolside area and restaurant. Stayed in a deluxe river view room (180-deg view), which was super clean and comfortable, with nice amenities. Good service from hotel staff. A minute's walk from the Phra Arthit pier which will take you down the river to all the temples, 5-star hotels, Asiatique, and BTS connection. Also walkable to Khao San area. Check out Thonburi (other side of Chao Praya) if you have time!
If you're on a budget, I wouldn't add breakfast (standard American buffet)

Room Tip: River-view rooms are worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Drea_W780
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2014

We finished our honeymoon in Bangkok and stayed at Riva. Room was very clean and balcony was nice facing river and pool. Stayed on the fourth floor and had the best view, and very quiet. Got a Thai massage poolside, VERY STRONG! Close to all sights and bars and restaurants. There is a water taxi pickup very close too. Nice hotel in a crazy area. Would stay there again if coming to Bangkok and suggest to friends. Pics on website are represent it well, very well kept.

Room Tip: Get a room facing the river, and book through bookings.com or something of the sort.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Homer34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2014

Although it took us some time because of the roadblocks during our stay in february, to get to the Riva Surya, it was worth it!
We spend two nights at the end of a marvelous holiday in Thailand and Cambodia there.
Location and view perfect! Of course in the river view rooms!
Perfect hotel, nice and spacious rooms, very professional staff. Especially these of the reception. Lovely pool and 'garden' next to the river to relax and enjoy.
Next to the hotel you can get in the boat to discover the river and klongs. Be sure to bargain about the price! Breakfast was good, but not included in the price.
The first good beds during our 4 week stay in Asia!!
Oposite the hotel you go left and in the next alley right again and you are in Bangkok! Bars and nice places to relax. Go any further and you reach the night market. Or take a tuk-tuk to go there and back during the night. Don't forget to visit the Thai night market close to that place too. Quit different and nice to stroll trough and seek bargains and eat a small Thai bite.
Sure we stay here again next time in Bangkok!!

Room Tip: If possible, take a room with the view on the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zinkviool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2014

First time being in Bangkok, I was very pleased with my stay at Riva Surya. The staff is super friendly, incredibly accommodating and were a great help when trying to plan last minute outings! The hotel was in a perfect spot: right on the Chao Phraya River with a ferry stop just a quick walk away, right across from Khao San Road and walking distance from all the wonderful temples! I stayed in a street view room the first night. Beautiful room, only note is that it can be a little noisy at night. They have double sliding glass doors to the balcony which help muffle the sound, but you can still hear a little bit of the city life when your television is turned off. Moving to a room on the river side the next day, the view was excellent and the room was just as immaculate with great contemporary design and a super comfortable bed! Had dinner here one night and the food was very good and the atmosphere of the outside patio with the live acoustic music made for a great dining experience. My last day here included a very relaxing massage by the pool and when it was check out time, they were more than happy to hold our luggage while we toured the city for a few more hours before heading to the airport. I had such a great time in Thailand and this hotel definitely helped make it such an amazing experience! I would absolutely urge anyone headed to Bangkok to stay here!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Candace P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2014

It was our first trip to Bangkok and we had decided we wanted to stay in the Khao San area. For the first few days we stayed on the opposite side of the river and getting back and forth proved to be difficult at times. We had read the reviews of the Riva Surya and booked it for our return to Bangkok after a trip up to the Burmese border and asked if they would keep some of our luggage. They were wonderful. We were on a 3 month tour and they kept 2 of our bags while we traveled and welcomed us back so warmly I felt we had come home. This happened again when we took a trip to Cambodia and came back. Everything about this hotel is special, the staff, the rooms, the bathrooms, the balcony overlooking the river, the location. We did not try the rooms on the road side but would think the river view a must. We will come back.

Room Tip: If you want something very special, pay the extra for a balcony on the river side -- and one on a co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Zelda47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Sathorn
Eastin Grand Hotel Sathorn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Silom
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
#22 of 887 in Bangkok
8,546 reviews
Sathorn
Banyan Tree Bangkok
Banyan Tree Bangkok
#41 of 887 in Bangkok
6,582 reviews
Silom
SO Sofitel Bangkok
SO Sofitel Bangkok
#15 of 887 in Bangkok
4,370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riva Surya Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riva Surya Bangkok

Address: 23 Phra Arthit Road | Pranakorn, Bangkok 10200, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Banglamphu
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 887 Hotels in Bangkok
Price Range: £102 - £177 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Riva Surya Bangkok 4*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Along the Chao Pharya River in the heart of Bangkok, Riva Surya is surrounded by some of the city’s most treasured historical sites. A Sixty eight-room boutique hotel, Riva Surya adds a touch of style and charm to this bustling locale. Surrounded by cultural treasures and within walking distance of the lively entertainment district of Khoa San Road, Riva Surya gives you direct access to many popular sites and connects you to the city center via a distinctive mode of transportation, the river boat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Splitty, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Riva Surya Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing