We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“River view is great and the facility is an oasis in the chaos of Bangkok” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Riva Surya Bangkok

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Riva Surya Bangkok
Ranked #26 of 849 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Alameda, California, United States
2 reviews
“River view is great and the facility is an oasis in the chaos of Bangkok”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2014

We stayed here in early March, 2014. We had a fourth floor river view room. room itself was great. comfortable bed, great shower, wifi was dependable, plenty of plugs for our e-toys.

overall condition was new, attractive. (even elevators were quiet, quick and responsive)

pool/bar/restaurant were all great. staff was friendly and obviously motivated to find ways to helps us enjoy ourselves. They were enthusiastic about their jobs and loved to serve.

We did need a bit more help with restaurants or the best floating market nearby that the front desk struggled a bit with. However, from landing a taxi for us to giving us good advice about the water taxi, good metro map, how to best navigate the Sky Train, they were very helpful.

the included breakfast buffet was good and kept us interested for three breakfasts.

Room Tip: We had a river room which was beautiful and quiet. the street outside is noisy on Saturday night, b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,619 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,096
    438
    64
    15
    6
See reviews for
271
870
104
80
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (346)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Cheshire
Level Contributor
44 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2014

W stayed here for three nights in February following a stay at Krabi/Koh Lanta. We had asked for a quiet room as we had read on Tripadvisor that the streetside rooms could suffer from some noise, and were given a room on the 5th floor with a stunning view overlooking the swimming pool and river.

The room was really luxurious, with a fantastically comfy bed, beautiful bed linen, good air conditioning (it was 35 degrees C outside!) and a lovelyl bathroom with nice amenities.

The reception staff were always smiling and helpful, and helped us with maps and advice on how to get to the major sites, of which the major ones (Grand Palace, Reclining Buddha) were within easy walking distance. There was a boat pier two minutes away as well, which was really handy, also the Khao San Road was only a couple of minutes walk away which provided a fun place to spend the evenings.

The breakfasts choices were immense, the only minor criticism being that coffee comes in small cups and sometimes getting a refill took some time, as the machine only seemed to make one cup at a time. I would also mention that the one time we ate dinner ( the first night we arrived, when we were really tired from travelling) we were forced to eat outside as the small indoor restaurant was booked for a private party. Normally I would have enjoyed eating dinner sandwiched between a lovely swimming pool and a lively river, but in fact the evening meal was the worst that we had in Thailand (isn't this always the case with 'superior' hotels?) and we were plagued with mosquitoes, so we didn't repeat the experience.

However, despite this minor criticism, if you are going to visit Bangkok (and this was our first visit) I couldn't imagine a better location or hotel for your stay than this little gem.

Room Tip: Pay a little extra for a riverside view. Although the rooms are really luxurious, the walls are a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LancashireLass_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Witney, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2014

We stayed at the Riva Surya for 3 nights at the beginning of our holiday, and the warm welcome and service from staff set a very high standard from the beginning. The river view rooms are definitely the ones to go for, as the street noise might be a bit much at night. The rooms were very clean and the beds the most comfortable we experienced in our travels, but it would have been nice to have an armchair in the room!
The pool area overlooks the river, and there is much to observe while relaxing during happy hour. We had a meal in the restaurant which was also very pleasant. The Grand Palace and the sights and sounds of Khao San Road are only a short walk away. We would definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: River view rooms, for quiet and view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wendy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Anglia,England
Level Contributor
266 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2014

Started our three week holiday in Thailand by staying here for several days.
Room on fifth floor overlooking the river,greeted by the manageress Joy-and her staff,received superb service all the time.The hotel was very clean , comfortable,good food with excellent breakfast choices.Highly recommended,a good location to explore Bangkok.

Room Tip: Fifth floor,river view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wood57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2014

(from my hotels.com review) Greeted warmly on arrival and offered an iced drink. Nice poolside area and restaurant. Stayed in a deluxe river view room (180-deg view), which was super clean and comfortable, with nice amenities. Good service from hotel staff. A minute's walk from the Phra Arthit pier which will take you down the river to all the temples, 5-star hotels, Asiatique, and BTS connection. Also walkable to Khao San area. Check out Thonburi (other side of Chao Praya) if you have time!
If you're on a budget, I wouldn't add breakfast (standard American buffet)

Room Tip: River-view rooms are worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Drea_W780
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gunnison, Colorado
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2014

We finished our honeymoon in Bangkok and stayed at Riva. Room was very clean and balcony was nice facing river and pool. Stayed on the fourth floor and had the best view, and very quiet. Got a Thai massage poolside, VERY STRONG! Close to all sights and bars and restaurants. There is a water taxi pickup very close too. Nice hotel in a crazy area. Would stay there again if coming to Bangkok and suggest to friends. Pics on website are represent it well, very well kept.

Room Tip: Get a room facing the river, and book through bookings.com or something of the sort.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Homer34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Best, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
184 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2014

Although it took us some time because of the roadblocks during our stay in february, to get to the Riva Surya, it was worth it!
We spend two nights at the end of a marvelous holiday in Thailand and Cambodia there.
Location and view perfect! Of course in the river view rooms!
Perfect hotel, nice and spacious rooms, very professional staff. Especially these of the reception. Lovely pool and 'garden' next to the river to relax and enjoy.
Next to the hotel you can get in the boat to discover the river and klongs. Be sure to bargain about the price! Breakfast was good, but not included in the price.
The first good beds during our 4 week stay in Asia!!
Oposite the hotel you go left and in the next alley right again and you are in Bangkok! Bars and nice places to relax. Go any further and you reach the night market. Or take a tuk-tuk to go there and back during the night. Don't forget to visit the Thai night market close to that place too. Quit different and nice to stroll trough and seek bargains and eat a small Thai bite.
Sure we stay here again next time in Bangkok!!

Room Tip: If possible, take a room with the view on the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank zinkviool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Banglamphu
Casa Nithra
Casa Nithra
#64 of 849 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 936 reviews
Banglamphu
Chillax Resort
Chillax Resort
#140 of 849 in Bangkok
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,432 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sukhumvit
Adelphi Forty-Nine
Adelphi Forty-Nine
#4 of 849 in Bangkok
5.0 of 5 bubbles 477 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riva Surya Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riva Surya Bangkok

Property: Riva Surya Bangkok
Address: 23 Phra Arthit Road | Pranakorn, Bangkok 10200, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Banglamphu
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 849 Hotels in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Riva Surya Bangkok 4*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Along the Chao Pharya River in the heart of Bangkok, Riva Surya is surrounded by some of the city’s most treasured historical sites. A Sixty eight-room boutique hotel, Riva Surya adds a touch of style and charm to this bustling locale. Surrounded by cultural treasures and within walking distance of the lively entertainment district of Khoa San Road, Riva Surya gives you direct access to many popular sites and connects you to the city center via a distinctive mode of transportation, the river boat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Odigeo, Agoda, LoveHolidays and Priceline so you can book your Riva Surya Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing