We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Calm amongst the chaos!”
Review of Riva Surya Bangkok

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Riva Surya Bangkok
Ranked #25 of 894 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 March 2014 via mobile

This hotel is beautiful. It was the first stop on our honeymoon and we loved it. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful. It's close and easy to get to all the sites via tuk tuk or river taxi but make sure you spend some time by the pool.
Would not hesitate to return to this hotel on our next visit to bangkok :)

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank am4mb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,842)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,173 - 1,179 of 1,842 reviews

Reviewed 24 March 2014

We stayed for about a week with our 2 year old son. Everyone was very sweet with him which really made the difference. We had to take him to the hospital during our stay and everyone was very conscientious of that and helped us out every way they could.

The food was very good as well as the pool. I would highly recommend this hotel. In fact, our parents are going to stay here in a few weeks due to our stay.

Thank you to everyone at Riva Surya.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aminoplacid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2014

My husband and I loved this place. The price is reasonable, the service is excellent, and the location is very good.

The Riva Surya is an absolute oasis amid the colorful chaos that is Bangkok. The staff are very warm and professional, the rooms are modern, pristine, well decorated, well appointed, and quiet - even the street side 3rd floor room we occupied for our 4 day stay there. The fabulous pool and hotel restaurant area face the river, so we were treated to watching commuter ferries whiz by as we breakfasted on eggs, bacon, yogurt and fruits, cheeses and salads, baguettes, and cafe lattes.

After a morning of exploring the city, we would drag our tired, heat-stricken bodies back to the hotel and head immediately to the serenity of the pool for a dip, then lounge under an umbrella while enjoying a noontime cocktail. Or two.

The hotel is a few minutes by tuk tuk or car to Wat Pho and the Grand Palace, but the number 13 ferry stop is a two minute walk from the hotel, so boat is how we got around, mostly. It was a much nicer and cooler commute than by the road.

We had a bit of an issue finding a good restaurant in the area which was open on Sunday or Monday night, but the staff were very helpful and directed us to very good restaurants.

We had absolutely no issues at this hotel. The worst thing I can find to say is that on one day of our stay, the pool area was closed from 5 - 10 PM for a wedding. We didn’t mind at all, as we got to view the lavish goings-on.

We would stay here again in a heartbeat. In fact, I kind of miss it.

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper, you might request a river-facing room on the 4th floor or above.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BrooklynJRob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2014

Wow!! This hotel was just beautiful. Not too big and very lovely. Rooms had a wonderful view of the river and river boat activity. Lovely pool and restaurant/bar with some great music and singing at night.

The hotel location was perfect. Across the street is Salad on Demand - a great lunch spot and close to the Lying Golden Buddha. Good spas nearby for a Thai massage. We took taxis everywhere because they were incredibly cheap and always air conditioned. It's very hot here!

The staff at the Riva Surya was incredible. They see to your every need and are so very friendly and helpful.

We highly recommend this hotel!!!

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank BarefootBuddies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2014

What a find this hotel was....well actually my friend recommended it and he wasn't wrong!
We celebrated our 5th wedding anniversary here and they even made a cake for us on our arrival with swan towels and rose petals...superb staff who could not help you enough....hotel is perfectly placed as it ideal for the tourist boat on the river which you can use on a day pass for only 150 baht...
Highly recommend but understand it is quite noisy on an evening if you have a room facing the street....but hey it's bangkok baby....

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank banwoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2014 via mobile

A very good little boutique hotel right on the riverside in Bangkok. Have stayed in much more expensive hotels here but this is the best value for money. Great central location with all major attractions within walking distance. River buses on your doorstep if you don't want the short walk. Great service, great breakfasts.
Only downside is that bedroom doors don't close automatically and alarm goes off when they are left open. Becomes a pain when neighbours don't realise and alarms sound often.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Brynbelba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2014

this is a great hotel with a cool terrace on the river. service is perfect, both pleasant, efficient and pro. rooms are nice, bathrooms new. rather noisy on the street as this is a lively area. quieter facing the river.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ff77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Sukhumvit
Adelphi Forty-Nine
Adelphi Forty-Nine
#5 of 894 in Bangkok
751 reviews
Banglamphu
Chillax Resort
Chillax Resort
#142 of 894 in Bangkok
1,719 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sathorn
Eastin Grand Hotel Sathorn
Banglamphu
Casa Nithra
Casa Nithra
#70 of 894 in Bangkok
1,148 reviews
Banglamphu
Phranakorn-Nornlen Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riva Surya Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riva Surya Bangkok

Address: 23 Phra Arthit Road | Pranakorn, Bangkok 10200, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Banglamphu
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 894 Hotels in Bangkok
Price Range: £90 - £151 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Riva Surya Bangkok 4*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Along the Chao Pharya River in the heart of Bangkok, Riva Surya is surrounded by some of the city’s most treasured historical sites. A Sixty eight-room boutique hotel, Riva Surya adds a touch of style and charm to this bustling locale. Surrounded by cultural treasures and within walking distance of the lively entertainment district of Khoa San Road, Riva Surya gives you direct access to many popular sites and connects you to the city center via a distinctive mode of transportation, the river boat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Riva Surya Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing