We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The perfect boutique hotel”
Review of Riva Surya Bangkok

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Riva Surya Bangkok
Ranked #30 of 896 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 April 2014

Stayed over on an unexpected business trip for 4 days. Though I booked last minute, the staff was very accommodating and gave me a free upgrade.
The restaurant babble and rum in the hotel is amazing, some of the best thai food I've ever had. But if you want a quick 2 dollar bite, hop out and there are plenty of decent street carts just around the corner.
My riverside room has great light and it was a perfect temporary work station. Wifi worked well, spacious desk...
The bartenders also has an excellent selection of cocktails - make sure to try something new!
Decent gym- much more than if expect from a hotel gym, let along a boutique hotel. The pool isn't big but very well designed - just like a pool in a spa resort.
I'm usually a complainer but can't think of a single bad thing to say about this boutique hotel. I really had a wonderful experience and will definitely return. And oh, I hear the owner of this hotel is really beautiful girl!

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Willkost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,850)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,165 - 1,171 of 1,850 reviews

Reviewed 24 April 2014

While this hotel isn't exactly for the budget traveler, they did give me a special price when I asked, and I found it to be TOTALLY worth it. It is a beautiful hotel, has amazing amenities, is clean, comfortable (for me, this was much needed after staying a couple nights in cheap hostels) and the staff are sooooo nice and accommodating. The pool is lovely, and it is in a prime location in Bangkok to walk to markets, night life, parks, the river (with cheap water taxis to get you around the city), and great food. I would stay there again in a heartbeat. I only stayed for 1 night, but it was amazing. They even helped me book a Thai cooking class and got me directions on how to get there. Awesome. And their staff give great massages too.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Laurie321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2014

This was a really pleasant surprise. At it's affordable rate I didn't expect to have a butler like experience, but the staff were so on point and would always go out of their way to help.
The decor is Bangkok chic- modern sleek and with a touch of tropical feeling. Seemed to have a great energy in the place.
It's certainly on the hip scene, as you'd often find many stylish and beautiful people in the restaurant and around the lobby.
The only problem I had was that they booked the wrong type of room for me when I made the reservation. But they were very helpful to remedy it and gave me a credit for their mistake too. Seven stars, would definitely return.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ky2136
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

I stayed 3 weeks in Riva Surya in March for work. Staff were extremely attentive and polite (thanks especially to Layda and Patty at the front desk, and Sunny-security). Small gym has high quality equipment and not many use it which is great. Pool large enough for (short) lap swimming. Beds and pillows are very comfortable, and wifi worked well. Rooms facing river with balcony are quietest and allow you to have a sundowner on your own balcony watching the ferries and river-life go past. I ate most nights from one of the smaller street stalls on Phra Arthit road: rice, veges and squid lightly fried for about US$1.25. Breakfast at hotel is good value and they made me an extra strong double cappucino every morning which was perfect. Easy 5 minute walk to KhaoSan road (which I generally avoided). Ferry from 100 metres away takes you up or down river including to BTS and shops. I took number 15 bus from outside hotel to MBK shopping mall for t-shirts and computer equipment on a weekend morning for 7 Baht (25 cents) in less than 30 minutes.

Room Tip: River room with balcony a must. Street rooms can be noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ian-consultant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014 via mobile

Found Riva Surya Hotel on TripAdviser. Easy to book a room for a single traveller. Taxi from the airport cost around 300baht including tolls. Some confusion between "Riva" and "River" hotels on same street.
Staff warm and friendly. Could not do enough to help. Hotel well appointed and in good condition. Bonus is the Riverside view. Local area is lively but hotel peaceful. Room was spacious, clean and well equipped.
Breakfast was not included but available at reasonable cost. Good selection of food.
Location great for backpacker area and the River Taxis. Little further from the modern city centre.
Check out was smooth and efficient. Staff provided guidance on taxis and timings for return to the airport.
Overall, very enjoyable holiday!

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank WeeBrother
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2014 via mobile

stayed in this charming boutique hotel for two nights - lovely suite overlooking the river. very helpful staff, beautifully appointed room, nice food. will definitely stay again even though hotel was a bit quiet which was most likely due to it being the low season.
great location too, with the jazz happens venue literally just across the road. close to shopping!!
only suggestion to hotel management would be to put on better quality live music but that could possibly change in peak season.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank MelbourneMelody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2014

Stayed four nights enroute from France back to NZ. Luxury rooms. Big comfortable beds. Great pool. Friendly helpful staff. Hotel not too big. Right on the river. Close to boat ferries. River facing rooms best. Close to Khaosan Rd and markets but away from the real frantic bustle. Near to very cheap lane with markets and plenty of street stalls and restaurants to eat at. Hotel has restaurant but we didn't eat there as street food is so good and very cheap.

Room Tip: River facing best
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Silverfoxr6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Sukhumvit
Adelphi Forty-Nine
Adelphi Forty-Nine
#5 of 896 in Bangkok
756 reviews
Banglamphu
Chillax Resort
Chillax Resort
#143 of 896 in Bangkok
1,724 reviews
Banglamphu
Phranakorn-Nornlen Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sathorn
Eastin Grand Hotel Sathorn
Banglamphu
Casa Nithra
Casa Nithra
#73 of 896 in Bangkok
1,153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riva Surya Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riva Surya Bangkok

Address: 23 Phra Arthit Road | Pranakorn, Bangkok 10200, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Banglamphu
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 896 Hotels in Bangkok
Price Range: £86 - £154 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Riva Surya Bangkok 4*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Along the Chao Pharya River in the heart of Bangkok, Riva Surya is surrounded by some of the city’s most treasured historical sites. A Sixty eight-room boutique hotel, Riva Surya adds a touch of style and charm to this bustling locale. Surrounded by cultural treasures and within walking distance of the lively entertainment district of Khoa San Road, Riva Surya gives you direct access to many popular sites and connects you to the city center via a distinctive mode of transportation, the river boat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Riva Surya Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing