We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oasis in Bangkok: Fun and Family Friendly”
Review of Riva Surya Bangkok

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Riva Surya Bangkok
Ranked #19 of 858 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Oasis in Bangkok: Fun and Family Friendly”
Reviewed 22 May 2014

My family and I had 24 hrs in Bangkok before heading out to other spots in Thailand. We were very comfortable at the Riva Surya -- rooms are beautiful, overlooking the river. The pool is very nice, and a lively atmosphere around it and the restaurant/bar. It's a friendly, restful place. You can take a boat down a few docks, hop out and go to the main Wats.

Room Tip: Go for a river view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Smackerly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,679 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,148
    446
    64
    15
    6
See reviews for
285
899
112
81
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (358)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2014

Comfortable, well managed, friendly staff. We had chosen riverside views and even had a balcony with a sofa. Rooms furnished to a high standard.
Nice pool, very clean, vith view and a bar.
Copious breakfast buffet, though the choice was the same every day. We had dinner one evening in their restaurant and were well pleased with the quality of the food.
There are fewer large hotels in this area, despite its nearness to the tourist destinations in old Bangkok, and there was a boutique feel about this one. Recommended

Room Tip: Riveside rooms are well worth the slightly higher price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Giuliana T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2014

This is a Really nice hotel in a lively neighborhood .We have been there last February for the second time.It is close distance to the royal palace ,Wat Arun museum etc.Its easy to go around using the river boats too.Now the hotel has comfortable and very nicely decorated rooms half of which have fantastic river views.All staff members are really nice and the best thing is for me the pool area ,a great spot to relax and watch the boats passing by

Room Tip: Corner rooms riverside
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 7_Thalasses
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Just got back from our honeymoon in Thailand 3 days ago and our first stop was Bangkok. We stayed in Riverside. My first recommendation is - stay in Riverside. It's relaxed, close to culture -a 5 minute boat ride to temples, golden palace, etc. good food, and Khao San road (without actually being on Khao San Road). Second recommendation - Stay at Riva Surya. A beautiful, boutique hotel that would be on par with those in San Francisco and New York right on the Chao Praya River. Easily 4 to 5 star. The rooms were gorgeous and luxurious. But it was the service that made our experience unforgettable. The friendly staff (especially Pai, a trainee who was awesome!), the attention to detail, the efficiency and always so willing to assist. Plus when we arrived one of the concierge ladies asked us when we would be heading into town. My husband thought it was a little weird but I had an inkling. We went to check out the city without telling them but they had their eyes open because when we got back there was a lovely and delicious piece of cake with a honeymoon message and a very sweet letter from the staff. I would highly HIGHLY recommend this place to everyone (well maybe not the party crowd) but everyone else :)

Room Tip: We stayed on the 5th floor with a balcony and had a view of the river day and night. very much worth...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nat Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckl
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

The Riva Surya was such a great choice of hotel to stay. The room was large, very clean and well appointed. The staff were always friendly and helpful. The location is so handy to restaurants and it's lovely being right on the river, a great view to enjoy a beer lounging by the pool on a hot Bangkok afternoon.
The in house breakfast is a great start to the day, excellent food.
We'll be staying again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adam W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Stylish Decor in room. Clean and tidy. 5 mins walking distance to the No. 13 Pier for you to get connected to the BTS and other locations along the River, however the ferry only operate till 7pm, you have to catch a taxi cap for return by night, remember to get a taxi card which show you the hotel address in Thai to the local driver. Hotel staffs are polite and helpful. avoid room facing Street level, the music is quite loud from the clubs nearby. Facing river high floor rooms are the choice.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bonnie l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary
Level Contributor
530 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 199 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2014

Right on the historic Chao Phraya river, a short walk to the National Museum, a slightly longer stroll to the Grand Palace complex, on Prah Ahtit road where there are several restaurants and coffee shops. Nicely appointed rooms. A high quality restaurant on site. Wonderful staff who were helpful arranging transportation to the airport. The laundry service was a bit expensive, but all items were delivered to the closet in our hotel, clean and nicely pressed. We took a room on the river side, for the views and or some quite from the noisy street side. This is a lovely hotel and a great base from which to explore the Old City of Bangkok.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the river are romantic and probably quieter than those facing the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard289
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Banglamphu
Phranakorn-Nornlen Hotel
Sathorn
Eastin Grand Hotel Sathorn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sukhumvit
Adelphi Forty-Nine
Adelphi Forty-Nine
#5 of 858 in Bangkok
547 reviews
Banglamphu
Casa Nithra
Casa Nithra
#67 of 858 in Bangkok
1,003 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riva Surya Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riva Surya Bangkok

Property: Riva Surya Bangkok
Address: 23 Phra Arthit Road | Pranakorn, Bangkok 10200, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Banglamphu
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 858 Hotels in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Riva Surya Bangkok 4*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Along the Chao Pharya River in the heart of Bangkok, Riva Surya is surrounded by some of the city’s most treasured historical sites. A Sixty eight-room boutique hotel, Riva Surya adds a touch of style and charm to this bustling locale. Surrounded by cultural treasures and within walking distance of the lively entertainment district of Khoa San Road, Riva Surya gives you direct access to many popular sites and connects you to the city center via a distinctive mode of transportation, the river boat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ctrip TA, Agoda, Priceline, Ebookers, Travelbag, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Riva Surya Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing