We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An oasis of calm in the madness that is Bangkok!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Mermaid Bangkok
Ranked #174 of 852 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Saint Julian's, Malta
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“An oasis of calm in the madness that is Bangkok!”
Reviewed 15 March 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the mermaid for 2 nights march 2013, I must admit after reading a couple of reviews regarding thai females accompanying western males to the hotel in the evening and being particularly noisy I was starting to think had a booked the right type of hotel for my family, however it turned out I had nothing to worry about whatsoever .
As we have 3 kids we booked a corner suite for ourselves and a standard room for the kids , we were given rooms next to each other with a connecting door. The rooms were beautifully decorated and modern in style , both rooms had mood lighting, cable tv , a mini bar with free water daily, and beautiful bathrooms with rain shower . The corner suite also had a huge bath tub which was just fantastic, especially after a busy day in the wonderful madness that is Bangkok!!! The balcony on the corner suite looked over the city and was particularly nice at night when the city is lit up.
The pool was lovely, it was green in colour while we were there however was still fine to swim and the kids enjoyed splashing around! The colour was due to the pool recently being treated , as its a saltwater pool this can happen I know myself as I used to have a saltwater pool in my garden and this is common after treatment.
We did not use the bar so I can't really comment.
The hotel itself is on a quiet soi just off sukhumvit , asok BTS and terminal 21 mall are about an 8 min walk away so its very easy to explore Bangkok, the infamous soi cowboy is in close proximity but to be honest its only one street and if you chose to stay away you wouldn't even know it was there !!!!
Theres a seven eleven and a family Mart within a couple of mins walk and a number of restaurants and bars all around , we didn't visit any restaurants as there were so many fantastic streetfood sellers around we didn't need to, the best one in particular is a noodle soup seller, you will find him by walking onto sukhumvit, cross the road and pass by the 7/11 he is the next stall after the stall outside the 7/11 and I can guarantee you will not get a better meal anywhere!!! he does pork or chicken noodle soup or pork and chicken with rice that's it, his food is fantastic only 40 bahts for a huge portion and you can even bring your own beer from the 7/11 !!!!
We plan to return to Thailand again later this year and will defiantly book this hotel again when staying in Bangkok.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kellykeeling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

402 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    171
    163
    50
    8
    10
See reviews for
43
149
90
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, null, Singapore
Level Contributor
28 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2013

Rare find, we had some problems with another hotel booking, and landed at this hotel. It was a really rare find, as this hotel is new! Opened in April 2012, and a pool is really an essential when you are in Bangkok! What's more they have this jacuzzi area in the pool as well. After all the shopping, you're so tired you just need a pool to soak away all the tiredness and recharge for the next day! The hotel's welcome drink includes half a pint of beer... The breakfast was pretty simple and it is the same everyday, but if you could be creative, you could eat it differently everyday. Definitely recommend Hotel Mermaid Bangkok for the price! Location is okay. It is in the middle of Asok and Phrom Phong. I usually walk to Asok to take a train to Siam as it is in the direction of Siam, approx 7mins walk. This hotel is good for friends and young couples. Receptionist speak good english and are very friendly. Room service food was pretty good too, quite an array of selection.

Room Tip: I guess if you are a light sleeper, its good to get a room at the end/corner, lesser noise in the mo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank charmony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Khon Kaen, Thailand
Level Contributor
330 reviews
143 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 280 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2013

We stayed for 1 night at an Corner Suite room. The room is not really big, but the bathroom is huge with an beautiful design bathtub and separate shower.

Staff was a bit unfriendly. The hotel is in an recently renovated condo building and has a bit small swimming pool. Buffet breakfast was a bit simple.

It is only 25m from Sukhumvit road and 5min walking to the Skytrain. But you can hear the Skytrain and traffic in your room (not load, but you can hear it).

Room Tip: Due to the fact that the Corner Rooms have windows all around, they are also very warm.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChangNoi1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new york city
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2013

Really nice people work here but really, it is not a place for families. The hallways and elevators are not air conditioned and are very small, the room was tiny and took a while to cool. Kind of a long walk to the BTS if one is not used to walking.

Kicker is this : EVERY night all around the room - up down sides - people were having loud "relations." Our young son in the morning said "I heard women." Sure, I know this is Sukumwit, but the reviews made if seem as if it was family friendly, comfortable even. Even if we weren't with a child, I would not want to stay at this place and be able to hear such things.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank birdievvv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ibiza, Spain
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2013

Booked through recommendation from a local acquaintance. The hotel ended up to be great besides its unappealing name (actually I believe it's owned or run by a Danish chap so the Mermaid thing sort of makes sense once you know that). The reception staff was helpful, although we had to wait for the room for about 30 minutes after having reserved with a not super cheap rate for a Superior room and commented in our reservation that we were coming from a very long journey around 1 pm, and actually we got there at 2:30pm. No biggie! From there, we liked pretty much everything: The room was very spacious, the bedding extremely comfortable, the high floor guaranteed a nice quite sleep, the a/c worked very well, the lightning was appropriate and being mostly LED's also ecological, HBO TV, Wi-Fi, modern bathroom with decent ammenities, etcetera. There is always room for improvement, and as it is a pretty new hotel I would recommend the following: firstly to make the hotel better known in the area as it wasn't easy to find from the Sky train stop and being sort of hidden not one on the street seem to know where it was, the shower screen needs to be better at isolating the water from coming out to the rest of the bathroom, a net curtain is badly needed having a high rise buiding right in front, the safe could be fixed to the wall or the furniture and the breakfast is far from great.
Still I think it deserves a five star rating because it exceeded our expectations for a 4 star accommodation in BKK.
Well done!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank spanishdude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Japan
Level Contributor
131 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2013

This is a good hotel located between Asok and Phrom Phong Stations on Sukhumvit Road with many restaurants and bars available in the area. If you wish to stay near BTS/Sukhumvit road, this place might be a good option (though a bit far from each station).

We booked a corner suites, which was upgraded to junior suites (which is basically the same, I assume - at least the same price on the hotel website).

Here's our review of the hotel:

Pros:
- there are many restaurants and shops around the hotel.
- staff are friendly (but service could be better).
- spacious room.
- a nice bathtub and spacious bathroom.
- good bed quality.
- swimming pool.

Cons:
- one night, we run out of hot water for shower and bathtub.
- no tooth brush in the room (maybe they forgot to place it).
- we saw several old men taking prostitutes into the hotel. this was very obvious in the evening. If you are with family, especially with kids, you may not want to show this to the children.
- staff service is not up to the standard although they are friendly. For instance, no one was waiting for us to carry our luggage and open the door at our arriva. They could have been a bit more attentive.
- a bit far from the BTS station (somewhere between Phrom Phong and Asok Stations - Phrom Phong is a bit nearer).

Room Tip: If you need a bathtub, select one of the suites.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kenyalang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luang Prabang, Laos
Level Contributor
27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2013

Found a good deal on Agoda and after reading previous reviews decided it was worth checking out the Mermaid. I have to say i was very impressed. Only a 5 minute walk from Asok BTS/Sukhimvit MRT so easy access around the city and plenty of restaurants and bars in the vicinity plus Terminal 21 with it's many shops, cinema and very cheap food court on the 5th floor.

The hotel is located in a quiet Soi, the building looks dated but the inside has been totally renovated and looks good. My room was a Studio which was comfortable, clean, well furnished with modern design and a good size for the money. The bed and pillows were super comfy and the wifi connection was always reliable. You get all the facilities of a 4 star hotel for 3 star prices.

I would most certainly stay at the Mermaid next time i'm in Bangkok even if it means paying a bit more than teh deal i got this time round. Definetley recommended!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matt B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Sukhumvit
Golden Tulip Mandison Suites
Golden Tulip Mandison Suites
#151 of 852 in Bangkok
770 reviews
Sukhumvit
Admiral Suites Bangkok by Compass Hospitality
Sukhumvit
Hotel Solo Sukhumvit 2
Hotel Solo Sukhumvit 2
#107 of 852 in Bangkok
1,169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sukhumvit
Salil Hotel Sukhumvit Soi 11
Sukhumvit
Legacy Suites Sukhumvit by Compass Hospitality
Sukhumvit
RetrOasis Hotel
RetrOasis Hotel
#384 of 852 in Bangkok
117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mermaid Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mermaid Bangkok

Property: Hotel Mermaid Bangkok
Address: 6 Soi Sukhumvit 29, Sukhumvit Road | Kwaeng Klongtoey Nua, Khet Wattana, Bangkok 10110, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Sukhumvit
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #174 of 852 Hotels in Bangkok
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Mermaid Bangkok 4*
Number of rooms: 69
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Mermaid Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing